We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Ecluse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Ecluse to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Ecluse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de l'Ecluse 24, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
“Very good Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent a very good night in this Hotel and I hope to go there whenever I'll be in Neuchatel. The Kitchen made the room like a small suite! Rooms are very pretty and the Hotel is not far away. It is possible to go to the Railway station on Foot.

Room Tip: Please, take any kind of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
11
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've spent recently three nights in this hôtel and it was a very nice experience. My room (located on the 4th floor) was quite big, with a small kitchen (which I didn't use anyway ;-))
Service is very good and very friendly.
The hotel is well located downtown, near Seyon street. There is a car park 50 meters away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is in a convenient but not the nicest of locations in my opinion. Parking was not included in the price so we paid 25chf for 24 hours in a car park which is very near to the hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The room was functional but everything in the hotel needs updating (again in my opinion).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early November, but my guess is that it must be quite different in summer, with no A/C and windows opening onto the street. My room was small, but perfectly functional, with a small kitchenette - which I didn´t use (there was no kitchen equipment in any case). It reminded me of some of the smaller 1-2 star hotels I had stayed in as a student in Paris, though this one was cleaner.

The staff are friendly and like to chat. Breakfast is served downstairs at the bar.

Not my favourite hotel in Neuchatel, but if you have to book late ... then maybe this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for a 1 day business trip in Neuchâtel. 10-15 minutes walk from the main train station, 5 minutes from the pedestrian zone of Neuchâtel. Hotel was in overall ok as I only stayed there for 1 night. Room was big, with a little kitchen. small breakfast buffet but nice. Staff of the hotel was nice & helpful.

Room Tip: My room was on the back so no noise, but I think that the rooms on the other side must be more noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had the top floor apartment and it was a horrific experience.
30 degrees at midnight, no AC but a plastic fan from the 80s instead. Sleeping with open windows is impossible before 5 am because of the incredible noise from the street.
What makes this a real Rip-Off is the fact that we had asked for a quiet room.

NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed as a family, two adults and two young children for three nights in one of the large rooms of Hotel L'Ecluse. The room was spacious, plenty of room for both small children. It was also neat and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke English with no difficulty. It is located close to the center of town, not far from the lake, very close to the train going up the hill, and also across the street from this amazing Thai Restaurant. They don't have parking on premises but with a deposit you can have a parking card for a much cheaper price than staying in the garage (20 Francs for 3 days for us). The one and only down side was that the elevator doesn't go all the way up to the fifth floor where our room was (only goes to the fourth floor), but not really a big deal for us. It is pretty pricey for the American dollar, but I think that is secondary to the current economy and the tanking of the Euro and dollar. Switzerland seemed a lot cheaper a couple years ago. Everything there was expensive, certainly not just the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Ecluse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ecluse

Address: Rue de l'Ecluse 24, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Ecluse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de l'Ecluse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Ecluse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.