We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, quai Leopold-Robert, Neuchatel, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Neuchatel
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here recently as the meeting I was attending was held at the hotel. I was given a room on the 3rd floor facing the lake. The room was very spacious with a sitting area at the end of the room. The bathroom however was very disappointing. The decor really needs a makeover. There was hardly any place to put my makeup and toiletries bag. The water pressure of the shower was quite low and washing my hair was a pain. But I would guess that men would not have a problem with the bathroom. The main plus point was the location of the hotel, next to the lake and a lovely park. I could open my windows wide and enjoy the view of the yachts and pleasure boats moored right outside. Since there was no aircon, the ability to leave the windows open and still have privacy was a bonus.
The hotel was very close to the old quarter and it was very easy to just walk around the city centre. The downside is that there are not many restaurants or cafes nearby so one would have to go to the old quarter for a nice dinner.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake for the lovely view. However, I'm told that in the summer there are m...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    73
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
20
51
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel. It is in a convenient location on the water, and is within easy walking distance of the main city centre. The staff were very attentive, courteous and helpful. We ate breakfast in the hotel and it was very good. We chose to sample other restaurants in the city. We had a room on the third floor that overlooked the lake, and it was modern and well appointed. There are plenty of sightseeing options in Neuchatel. The tourist information centre is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Neuchatel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Overlooking a yacht basin on the lake, this is my second-favorite hotel in this city behind Beau-Rivage. It is aimed more at the business traveller, with breakfast starting at 0630, excellent WiFi signal, and good working space in the room even including a universal outlet over the desk for US/EU plugs as well as Swiss. All room appointments and furnishings were in perfect condition. Bathroom was spacious and well-designed.
The only annoyance was that the hotel deems October to be past A/C season and the room was beastly hot when I checked in. Even with the heat turned off, it was necessary to open the outside door overnight (rather suspect that there are radiant heat elements under the tiles, as the entire bathroom was very warm underfoot).

Room Tip: Lake side is much more desirable than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just spent a weekend getaway at Beaulac. We didn't opt for a lakeview room (a question of our budget) but it still was just incredible to see the lakeside views from the lobby and breakfast area. Added a lot of charm to the stay. Also, the hotel has a modern, trendy vibe while being cozy (candles in the lobby, etc) that we rather liked. Checkin-out was pleasant and breakfast better than most. Wifi worked just fine and was one of the easier accesses I've experienced. Very close to the city center as well. Made for a great weekend away. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A great boutique hotel with fantastic views. Directly located on the shores of the lake of Neuchatel.
The check in and check out was so smooth and exceptionally friendly.
The room allocated was ideal - spacious with a cosy seating area.
We had cocktails on the terrace directly on the lakeside followed by dinner - a fantastic sushi restaurant. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and nothing was too much trouble.
My next stay in Neuchatel for sure will be here as it is also so centrally located.
Thank you for everything - I will certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The manager at Hotel Beaulac says he wants only business event guests and no private travelers.
We booked their most expensive suite offered, for a romantic weekend with lake view.
Upon check-in they put us in a suite WITH NO LAKE VIEW and insisted this was what we had intentionally reserved -- as if...
Took an hour of assertive communication -- with hospitality "professionals" who just not listen -- until we were "allowed" to downgrade to a "Deluxe Room". The lake-view was great. The room... you can see for yourself in the pictures. So much for Swiss quality...
Seems that maintenance and management at Hotel Beaulac are as bad as their service.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel by the magnificent Lac Neauchatel, where guests are wanted..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Recently me and my wife stayed at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience!. Rooms are quite spacious and comfortable. Breakfast and fod in general very good! The view to the lake is really beautiful, and service a delight. a totally recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac

Address: 2, quai Leopold-Robert, Neuchatel, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaulac Hotel Neuchâtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Beaulac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.