We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fritschi

Fritschi
Sternenplatz 5, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 16 15
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 292 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quaint & Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Had occasion to have lunch and dinner there. Lunch was good, and service was good. Goulash soup was excellent, fried escarot were tender, and large. Salads were good size, and the spring rolls were excellent. The wine and beer were priced right. Dinner menu was decent, we chose not to have the cheese fondue. Once you do the fondue, that is enough. The fish served with a sauce and rice was the best. The weinerschnitzel served with fries was good, but a small portion. Wine was good, but a bourbon @ 13.50 is a little pricey. But all in all, you can't go very wrong in this quaint little fancy restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    76
    35
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zeist
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“How to rip a tourist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Obviously this restaurant is mentioned in an American tourist guide. The majority of visitors is American. Probably because of their tipping behaviour they are served well. You will not find locals here. The food, Fritschi claims is typical Swiss. Well, the way it is served is not. A traditional cheese fondue is served with molten cheese (not bad!) and bread. But none of the traditional side dishes. The staff is surprised when you ask for it ! So, very poor. Try to avoid this place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Staff was better than the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We weren't in any hurry to dine as we walked the streets of Luzern--a totally delightful thing to do. We stopped to look at this menu and hadn't had fondu since our college days. We got to talking with the server and, finding out we were from Pennsylvania, he proceeded to talk to us about the Battle of Gettysburg!

We decided to dine and had fondu, wine and salad. The bill was very high, the fondu was mostly tasteless. On top of that, more diners came to sit outside and I got shoved so tightly into the table (I am small) that it was totally uncomfortable for finishing our meal.

So although we started out happy to be there, we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lousy Service At Best Average Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived with friends from 3 countries. Server showed no interest in describing the menu. Should have walked out but decided to stick it out - mistake. We ordered wine with the meal.They never brought the wine and the food was at best average.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent prepared meals, fresh and good, very nice service, went there 2 days in a row, the liver and onions is to die for, if you like this German, Swiss meal. Go for it all, check it out maybe your in the mood for a Swiss Fondu, best in this town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritschi also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Fritschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fritschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.