We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for fondue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fritschi

Fritschi
Sternenplatz 5, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 16 15
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 307 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place for fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to have fondue at least once in Lucerne and this was a good spot. Three of us shared a fondue with herbs de Provence, which was delicious and plenty large for sharing. We also had a rosti with bacon and onion, and shared a delicious apple streusel. This is not a fancy place, but the service was good and the price was right. We enjoyed it and would recommend. They also had a nice looking dinner special with fondue, bratwurst and rosti for 29. Good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    76
    35
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place sticks out for its nice paintings on the building. Unfortunately not for its food. It wasn't bad, but it certainly also wasn't antyhing special. Staff was friendly. We tried the salad, fondue and rotti. Neither of those surprised us by its quality nor its quanity. The rotti was especially dull in taste. We know prices in Switzerland are generally high, but this place is really overpriced. We left wondering if we really had eaten and still hungry. Wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed our dinner on terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am surprised this restaurant isn't ranked higher as we really enjoyed it. The location is great and in behind the top hotels just off the water. The terrace is great and it's really reasonably priced. My husband had the sausage with Rosti and onion gravy and I had the fondue for 1. I liked that they didn't have the " minimum two persons" policy on the fondue like most of the rest of Switzerland. Dinner for two was less than $75 with beer and wine. Server was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Firstly Switzerland is expensive, so any review that mentions prices needs to take this into account. We knew it would be pricey and were prepared, although at times even we were a little surprised by some of the costs!

We were looking for fondue in a restaurant that wasn't too touristy, wasn't too expensive and had a nice atmosphere. I always prefer wine with fondue, but it is pretty pricey so we had beer.

I can't comment on the whole menu as I had the traditiional fondue (and be aware vegetarians, if you are not find of cheese then Switzerland may not be for you. I ate cheese, with sometimes a little bread, sometimes potato, but mainly cheese!) and the significant other had rosti but what we had was tasty, service was quick and polite and compared to some of the other eateries reasonably priced (bearing in mind my comments at the beginning). You can't go to Switzerland and not have fondue, and I would definitely recommend here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Fritschi is not the greatest but I would eat here again. Service was good and the food was good as well. It was hot and flies were everywhere in the restaurant but the windows and doors were all open due to no a/c so I can't blame the staff for that.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritschi also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Fritschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fritschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.