We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Takrai

Takrai
Haldenstrasse 9, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
041 412 04 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 307 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Bristol
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We expected great things, considering the high ranking on TA, but we were disappointed. The vegetables were nicely cooked, but all the food we tried was very bland. It was not even particularly cheap, despite it being basically a take-away with a few tables. I could not recommend this place to anyone wanting Asian food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After being in Europe for a few weeks we were craving an Asian fix. After reading reviews we decided on Takrai. We were lucky enough to get a small table and the food was yummy and very reasonably priced for Lucerne!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go-to Thai restaurant in Lucerne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fresh Thai food cooked in front of you by friendly crew. 2 options and 2 restaurants: Noodle (Pathai) and Rice (Takrai). I recommend both. The take away is a good option to enjoy both the food and the lake within walking distance (50 meters or so). The ratio value / price / customer service is unbeatable in Lucerne and certainly in Switzerland. I am a returning user and always enjoyed an excellent experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The food is delicious, served super fast and the restaurant has a great ambiance.

I will return, when I am next in Lucerne to try another dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai food and fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Come here for yummy Thai food and fast service. The food was tasty, not too spicy and quite mild for what we are used to but there is a big range of condiments which you can use to add heat, spice and extra punch to your curry.
The service was a bit awkward, but very helpful and friendly. We were impressed at how quickly our curries arrived after ordering (in under 10 minutes). Ideal for a quick tasty dinner, and not too pricey either. Fresh flavours, and good quality ingredients. Well worth a visit in expensive Lucerne.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takrai also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Takrai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takrai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.