We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Swiss House

Old Swiss House
Lowenplatz 4, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland
041 410 61 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 307 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Brasov, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We found this restaurant by luck, while going to see the Lion monument. We saw the good Trip Advisor reviews and the tempting Menu and decided to come for the evening for dinner. It was my birthday, and we wanted to celebrate in a special place. Although we did not made a reservation, we were lucky to find a free table. I had lobster with champaigne sauce and choosed spinach as a sidedish ; it was delicious. My husband tried the House Schnitzel, and we enjoyed the cooking near our table. Chocolate Mousse is one of the best I ever had. It is a must to taste. Restaurant is very special as design and we enjoyed the old atmosphere. i would definetly go there again, and recommand my friends to go there. It was a special evening for my birthday. Price is a bit high, but not much higher than other places in Switzerland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    110
    39
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner Outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a delicious dinner and wine while people watching outside. The service was excellent. It was interesting to learn about the history of the family owners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I ate here while we were staying in town. We liked it -charming. It has a quaint, nostalgic and homey feel -while still having top notch service and food. The decor is eclectic and eccentric. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We ate a phenomenal veal (special) and the schnitzel -classic favorite. The food was exceptional quality. It was a little pricey...but what isn't in Switzerland? Would definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbeatable since years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I am visiting this Restaurant on a regular basis since over 25 years and never was disappointed.What else can I say ? Atmosphere,service and Quality are unbeatable and on a very high Standard.Have visited many Restaurants in Lucerne,but none comes Close,so I Keep on going there and going there.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superrrrrr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ohhhhh what a place!! Lip smacking food and even better service. We ordered prawns and rice in mango sauce and it still gets me salivating. . Superb food.. must try in their signature chocolate mousse. Awesome awesome awesome! ! Must must must visit even if its a little deep in the pocket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Swiss House also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Old Swiss House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Swiss House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.