We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Cucina

Restaurant La Cucina
Pilatusstrasse 29 | Hotel Astoria, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
+41 41 226 88 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 277 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $9 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pizza & PastaLa Cucina is the city’s premier Italian restaurant, delivering delicious Italian cuisine including home-made pasta e pizza and great wines in a welcoming Mediterranean environment.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We were booked here by the hotel renaissance. A little skeptical when we learned it was the same restaurant owners that owned the restaurant in the hotel. However, the concierge convinced us it was good...and it was. Great pasta. Great pizza. And really good wine. We thought it was an evening well spent. Recommend it to anyone wanting some Italian when in Lucerne. Close to the hotel renaissance. Nice atmosphere. No complaints.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Phil G,

Thank you for your great prise here on tripadvisor. We are happy that we could convince you with our food quality and wine selection. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Switzerland.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Above Average...So was the Bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Three pasta dishes - one Good, and two Very Good
One meat (lamb chops) - Excellent
Nice setting, downstairs in the Astoria
Slow night, with Switzerland playing a World Cup match that evening, so can't really comment on the service.
Tough to look back at the tab, and feel we really got THAT much value, but a Big Mac is like $12 here, so....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear DrGeis,

Thank you for your sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. We are happy that we could impress your with our food quality especially with our lamb chops. We would love to welcome you back at our restaurant.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but service...eh.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I recently ate here with my two children on a week long trip to Lucerne. I will say that the food is great, and we loved the ambiance. Trying to find it is a bit of a nightmare. And once we got there, we got less than average service, despite having to ask twice for a refill on beverages and wait for water - only to pay 12euros a bottle for flat water.
The food is good, but the dessert left a little to be desired.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Michela M,

Thank your for your visit. We are happy that you and your children enjoyed our ambiance and food quality. Even more we regret that the service could not completely convince you. However, your feedback will help us to improve and question our services constantly. So we thank you for your valuable feedback. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good service standard.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Qualitymanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tiramisu - Per Eccellenza!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We happen to dine here after seeing the advertisement in the local city guide and we weren't disappointed! Its one of the best Italian fine dining places that I have been to (and I have been to quite a few). The attention to detail, the friendly staff, above all, the quality of food - par excellence.

A special mention about the Tiramisu - it was just DELICIOUS!! wow would love to go back for it or wish I can get some delivered to my home in Antwerp ;)!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Jyova,

We are delighted that we could impress you with our service and food quality (especially with the tiramisu) and thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor. It is our goal to provide a unique Italian experience to our guests. We are satisfied that we achieved this in your case. We looking forward to welcome you again at the La Cucina by your next visit to Lucerne.

All the best,
Martin Brügger
Quality Managmenent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Luzern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this place as we were staying at Hotel Astoria. Had our doubts while going in but completely bowled over as we made our way into the restaurant. Very nice ambience and friendly staff. Choices were given and food was terrific, service was really nice and at the pace you want. Manager was really fun to interact with.

If you want to it Italian in Luzern, look no further.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Neerajbans,

We are delighted that we could impress you with our food and service quality and thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor. It is our goal to provide a unique experience to our guests. We are satisfied that we achieved this in your case.

The La Cucina team would love to welcome you soon back at our restaurant.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Cucina also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.