We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience in Lucerne” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Cucina

Restaurant La Cucina
Pilatusstrasse 29 | Hotel Astoria, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
+41 41 226 88 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 277 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $9 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pizza & PastaLa Cucina is the city’s premier Italian restaurant, delivering delicious Italian cuisine including home-made pasta e pizza and great wines in a welcoming Mediterranean environment.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in Lucerne”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Something was terribly wrong at this restaurant when six of us went for dinner there on Sunday night. The atmosphere was very cozy and welcoming, but the staff was anything but! The head waiter actually was rolling his eyes and sighing when we were asking questions about the menu. At that point we should have walked out! Waiters were literally running around but totally ignoring us! When the food came they threw it in front of us and ran away! I was given the wrong entree I tried to tell him, but he was already out if sight! The food was good but the experience was the only negative one we had on our 10 day vacation in Europe! We sat with dirty dishes for 5 minutes and was never even asked if we wanted coffee or dessert! We are still scratching our heads wondering why a restaurant would treat customers in such a way! Perhaps, Americans are not welcome here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear trumom99,

We would like to thank you for visit and your online feedback. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures. However, this insufficient service does not correspond whit our operating philosophy. In order to prevent this in the future, your feedback has been discussed in the La Cucina service team. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good service standard.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Divine!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had simple bread, penne all'arrabiata and tiramisu... good portion sizes, utterly delicious... best meal I've had in years.... attentive, prompt and polite service. I'll be back again later.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Jules W,

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Thai Garden and for your positive feedback. It is our goal to provide a unique experience to our guests. We are satisfied that we achieved this in your case. We hope to welcoming you soon back at our restaurant La Cucina.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The resturant was very nice and the food was good. The service was the worst I have ever experienced!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Kevin T,

We would like to thank you for your visit at our restaurant La Cucina. We are glad that you enjoyed our Italian cuisine. Even more we regret that the service quality has not permitted you. In order to prevent this in the future it is very important for us to know what went wrong during your meal. We would be deeply grateful if you could contact us directly to give us some more information. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good service standard.
Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent authenic Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Delicious food, friendly waiters and quality interior made this a great dining experience. I would go back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear DelHall,
Thank you so much for your visit and your wonderful feedback. I am very pleased that you took the time to write us. I will talk to my staff; thank all of them for doing a great job. We would love to welcome you soon back at our restaurant La Cucina.
Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food but a few negatives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a Tuesday night, we had dinner at La Cucina after reading about it on tripadvisor. We were friendly welcomed after entering the restaurant, the entry of which is low-profile and easily overlooked by the way.
After ordering, we immediately got the feeling like our waiter was in a hurry. Always walking hasty through the restaurant, even though the place was almost vacant when we arrived. The speed with which the meals arrived and the number of times our waiter was walking by to see how empty the plates were, really gave us a feeling like we were rushed through dinner. Also, at a certain point in time my wife spotted how the manager was clearly pointing at us and talking to the waiter about us, which was quite rude and not polite at all. Lastly, there was some Italian opera music on which was disturbingly loud and a little more present than dining background music should be.

The pizzas tasted great though, and the caprese salad too despite its lack of portion..

All in all, really great Italian food is to be found here, but improvements can be made in the service department. 5 points out of 5 for the kitchen!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Amsterdam-duo,
We would like to thank you for your visit at our restaurant La Cucina and your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our Italian cuisine. Even more we regret that the service quality has not permitted you. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures. Of course this insufficient service does not correspond whit our operating philosophy. In order to prevent this in the future, your feedback has been discussed in the La Cucina service team. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good and friendly service standards.
Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Cucina also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.