We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Taubenhausstrasse 34, Lucerne CH-6005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Texarkana, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was full of information and cheer. The breakfasts were a nice departure from what we normally have. The B&B is located near a bus stop, making it very convenient when wanting transportation. At first the lack of a private bathroom was a bit of a concern. It ended up not being a problem at all. We would be happy to stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    45
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for one night as we passed through Lucerne. It was a nice Bnb, with shared bathrooms and the floor. The neighborhood was quiet, and within walking distance of the old town or the town center. Breakfast was very good and the hosts are very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutte, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed one night, you have to share the bathroom with two more rooms. The floor is so nosy we could not sleep it was the worst hotel ever, I do not understand why they call it hotel if it is more an Hostal... for students with low budget... terrible! Horrible! They should charge 5 bucks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was our first trip to Lucerne and we had no idea of what to expect. Our first impression was positive. The B&B is a well-kept old house with spacious rooms. Simone was very helpful and gave us quite useful information. We travelled with our little daughter and she was very interesting on climbing up the stairs...so good excersise for us too :) Breakfast is simple but well balanced. There is a TV monitor in the dining room for those who cannot miss what is happening around the world. Actually the day we came, we heared the bells of the church nearby ringing loudly and for a long time...we knew that the new Pope had been elected and then confirmed on TV. The place is very quiet because it is located in a residential area but no far from the main districts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

2 Star , 4/10
B&B but in a lot of ways like a hostell.
Seemed very popular with Families, who book out a whole floor to avoid the bathroom sharing.
In a quiet neighbourhood, but street parking only.
Most rooms have common facilities , toilets , dinning room etc
The land lady was nice and the service good but she was over worked.
Nice simple breakfast.
Our loft had Air conditioning and upstairs our own little lounge and a king sized bed with pretty good pillows plus seperate shower and toilet down stairs connected by an attick ladder / steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you want some private facilities go for the loft and get your own bathroom just mind your had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I dropped in and was greeted by Madeleine who was very warm and friendly. The B&B is very close to zentrum, only 20 minute walk and is charming, cozy and a lovely place to stay. Unfortunately, I did not have a reservation and the B&B was full, but Madeleine phoned other hotels and secured a room for me across town. Then Madeleine drove me across town (and I followed in my car) to ensure I arrived there safely. Now that is what I call 5 star service, just amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B... next time I'll make the reservation in advance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The bnb is set in a residential area, which was a plus for us to be away from the bustle of hotels in cities for a few days and it was a very easy 15 minute walk to the centre of Luzern. From booking to leaving, the staff were absolutely amazing - what a credit to any business to have people like this employed! Thank you Simone, Andrea and Evelyn plus a thank you to Isabelle for making booking easy.
We had the attic room, which had private facilities and a bit of space with a lounge. The gardens were lovely, we sat outside on each night that we stayed and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks after our busy days (plus a game or two of cards and soem great chats with the girls there). Great spot to unwind. A bonus is that there are several restaurants / cafes within easy walking distance.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast

Address: Taubenhausstrasse 34, Lucerne CH-6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bed and Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b&b
The Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.