We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hostel in a town with few” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhotel Loewengraben

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jailhotel Loewengraben to your Saves list
Jailhotel Loewengraben
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cool hostel in a town with few”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here in late November of 2014 and really liked it. Definitely quiet and the off season, but I got the "most wanted single room" and it was quite nice. It also had two beds so maybe can also be a double? I booked whatever was cheapest which turned out to be a single. Nice style, cool feel in the building but the room itself was very modern. Only downside is that wifi does not work in the rooms and there is very little of a lobby to hang out in if you want to use it. Basically just a couch by the desk. Also, the windows were a bit drafty and you have no control fo the heat in the winter, but overall still comfortable. They even leave the interesting suites (library room, etc) open if no one is staying in them so you can take a peek. Lucerne is very small and this was in a very good location - well lit streets, 5 min walk to the water, close to everything (that's New York City walking speed).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    82
    56
    91
See reviews for
35
87
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights as part of a Contiki tour. Another Contiki group were there as well. Issues with the booking, rooms had been booked and double checked, twin share rooms became a double so people were forced to share a bed. Free dinner was given on the second night to make up for it, which was appreciated since dinner out in town could have been expensive.

No lift!! Had to drag heavy cases up to the 3rd floor, get plenty of unwanted exercise going up and down.

Rooms were tiny as expected being an old jail, room In general including small bathroom was clean enough. However, pillows were yellowing, when asked for a different pillow we were told that was the normal colour of pillows. No top sheet just a thin see through fitted sheet, doona cover had a few holes. Towels were thin and had holes. Bunk/bed were sturdy, no rail on the top bunk. Mattress is simple foam, only comfy compared to lumpy spring mattress, needs to be thicker.

Not sound proof!!! Bar downstairs, loud guests and construction on the road outside can be heard all night and early in the morning, not good for light sleepers.

Very few positives. Great location. Constant heating. Shower took a while to warm up the first time but no issues there after.

Overall you get what you pay for, it's just a places to store your stuff and sleep in between exploring the surrounding areas which is where the real holiday is.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not find a redeeming quality about my room.
I can deal with a bit of bathroom mould in the grout (which there was plenty of), but I shouldn't have to clean black mould off the shower head to prevent being showered in mould.
The bed was terrible (I had a saw back when I got up in the morning) and the sheets were so thin you could see the mattress.
Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night hotel is right in middle of one of the most stunning cities in the world clearly advertises that the hotel is an old jail so nothing to complain about there really is just a glorified backpackers bed was ok reception good the only real complaint was noisy people in corridors in the early hours of the morning

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the room was so small it made us laugh, it really was a cell. It worked just fine but one really big annoyance is the late night noise from the party goers downstairs. I had to get out of bed and go down in the street to tell them to knock it off...3 in the morning and they are talking loud and laughing louder!
breakfast was very generous and quite good. I guess we got what we paid for. If not for the noise it would have gone in the books as a great adventure instead of a PIA.

Make sure you visit the Lion Monument when you are in Lucerne. It commemorates the slaughter of the Swiss Guards in 1792.

Room Tip: do your research and be prepared for something quite different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I booked here for one night of a weekend trip (2 nights booked in a different hotel) The reason for booking was the jail factor which I thought would be interesting. I knew it meant a small room and was fairly basic.

However I should have done my research. I did not know it had a nightclub underneath which apparently plays loud music to 4am. I did not know it would be full of school trips - excitable loud teenagers everywhere. The bed looked / felt pretty uncomfortable.

Seeing my wifes face I went straight to the other hotel and booked in a night early and then checked out of here. I get the impression this happens a lot.

Cleanliness was awful too - No way would I have a shower here and the toilet seat was not screwed on.

If you want wifi it is available in reception only :-)

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor is the quietest as when I checked out they did offer to move me to this flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

So I stayed here with top deck- and I really did not like it
Wasn't so much the novelty of it - more the bathroom
water everywhere, did not get a good shower that night
Beds are average- guess they are really replicating the jail theme
All and all unless you need really cheap accomodation and don't mind the creepy factor stay... otherwise avoid

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhotel Loewengraben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.