We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room - Jet privilege 143718481” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhotel Loewengraben

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jailhotel Loewengraben to your Saves list
Jailhotel Loewengraben
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny room - Jet privilege 143718481”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jailhotel certainly lives up to its name with respect to the accommodations! We were a group of 4 and opted for a quadruple sharing. We got a 2 bunk beds and an attached bath with basic amenities (Towels, and some toiletries, No hair dryer), leaving barely enough standing space for 4 of us and our luggage at the same time. Pros - was one of the most economical options available when we traveled (Rs. 3327 per person per night in August'13), had a great shower (no locks on the door of the washroom though!) and reasonably clean towels, great location - was walking distance from train station and decent breakfast (rates were breakfast inclusive). Cons - very tiny room, limited ventilation (no AC or fan, just a small hole at the top of the room, so gets stuffy for 4 people) and no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    82
    56
    91
See reviews for
35
87
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place was disgusting and the staff had no idea what they were doing. A few people we were traveling with also noticed bed bugs in their rooms. When the staff were notified some people were sat on a couch for hours while the staff played on their phones
We were excited to stay here but left very disappointed. We then had to spend the next day day of our holiday washing our clothes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

stayed at this hostel from 07-09 Sep'2013. great location, walking distance to everything you may need in lucerne. for amenities in room, its less than average. wi-fi operates only in lobby so its always crowded. if u r vegetarian, then breakfast has only bread and jam for you plus juice & tea/coffee. no elevator so walk three floors with all your baggage if u get a room there. price of euro 100 for a night was a rip off but reception staff was nice and helpful. in a way one thing compensates for others.

Room Tip: book in advance and block on lower floor if u dont want to walk up to second & third with your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room I stayed in was beyond small. When I walked in, there were 2 cots set up and absolutely nothing else in the room. The bed was as comfortable as possible, but when you sat down on it, you could feel the wood under the mattress. The sheets weren't as clean as I would like. The window did not have a screen on it, so when I was hot and needed some fresh air, bugs and moths were flying in. The wifi only works in the lobby, and there is no elevator, so DO NOT stay here if you would like wifi in your room or if you are unable to carry your suitcases up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After staying here and reading some of the less favorable reviews I'd suggest that you stay here if you want a budget hotel. Don't book a stay in a ex prison and then be surprised by small rooms and loud backpackers! For Lucerne this hotel is a budget hotel with a nightclub next door. That's said for our one night passing through this was perfect. The kids loved the idea of 'sleeping in jail'. Yes it was loud at times - we expected that. The room - as expected was basic - clean with a small bathroom. Breakfast was in a common room and was fine. Check in was a painfully slow process due to there being a line of people and one staff member doing his best to check everyone in. The location was great with a lot of restaurants within a few minutes walk and you are 2 mins away from the river and bout 10 mins walk from the Lion of Lucerne carving. Remember don't expect space and luxury in a budget prison and you'll enjoy the experience. It was a pretty cool experience walking past all of the cells. Parking wasn't the easist. By a permit from the hotel and then go and find parking somewhere in the area. Like any city success will depend on what time of day you are parking!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed there with my family for two nights and unless it has changed significantly I wouldn't go back. There were some extremely loud foreign groups there who came in after midnight shouting and carrying on and, as to be expected in a jail, noise carries throughout the place. It was unpleasant in many ways. The room was way too hot. I was so happy to leave. The staff were reasonably accommodating and gave us a nice travel cot for my toddler. But the place seemed better suited for pub crawlers than families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Jailhotel was a unique experience in a beautiful city. It was converted in 1998 from a real prison. The bars were still on the windows, along with original heavy doors. The room was quite small, but adequate. Breakfast was served. We had a fun three night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jailhotel Loewengraben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhotel Loewengraben

Address: Loewengraben 18, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhotel Loewengraben 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jailhotel Loewengraben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhotel Loewengraben Lucerne
Jailhotel Loewengraben Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhotel Loewengraben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.