We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening location and very well maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mr. Pickwick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Rathausquai 6, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Happening location and very well maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were at the hotel Mr.Pickwick for 2 nights in late Feb/early march and we were very happy to have made this choice over some of the other less expensive hotels. Even though the room size is not proportionate to the amount you shell out.. it makes up for it through excellent cleanliness and cozy rooms! We stayed only for a couple of nights and it was perfect. The location is amazing .. just 5 mins from the station (you can infact see the hotel once you are out of the station) and the views from the room are awesome (the old chapel). Just ensure you get a room facing the chapel.. but if i am not wrong i remember the staff telling me all the rooms are now facing the water body. The pub downstairs is happening and ideal for a drink.. especially on big matchdays (football). The staff were courteous and the checkin and checkout were hassel free (as you pay upfront and just drop in the keys when you leave). There are lovely places to walk around.. and almost the entire heart of lucerne can be explored from here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the chapel bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    80
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
70
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. I loved the view of the room. Especially the sunrise view from the room is splendid. Easy to find and near the train station. We stayed at 3rd level, able to use the wifi without any problem throughout the 2 nights. And also convenient to settle the dinner if do not want to walk to far. We settled our first night dinner at the Pub. Nice view and ambience along the riverside. Room is clean and cozy. The bed is really very comfortable. Really have a great stay. The staffs are friendly. I will stay again if I visit Luzern again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. We arrived early and we're able to leave our bags at the bar/checkin desk which was very convenient. We requested a top floor room, which has a smaller balcony but is farther away from the noise of the public below. The room is crisp, clean and modern and the view of the River and Chapel Bridge is spectacular. It took my breath away. Breakfast is not included in the price of the room, but there are many options nearby. We spent every morning at the riverfront Hub Bakery a short walk away. The location of the hotel is an easy, scenic walk from the train station and after a long day of traveling, this convenience is a huge plus. Standing on our balcony with a glass of wine, looking out at the sparkling river, and flower encrusted Chapel Bridge was completely delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights so it was a bit pricey but most hotels in Lucerne are expensive. Pickwick is located close to the station, just walk across the bridge and you'll find it on the other side of the river. I arrived there at around 12:30pm and checked in at the bar. The reception area (at the back) isn't manned so when you checkout, just drop your key in the box on your way out. To get in and out of the hotel, you can use the back exit with your key to avoid going through the bar.

The elevator is incredibly small so dont expect to be able to fit your whole family in there. I basically just fit with my luggage when I was checking in and out.

The room was quite comfortable for a single room. I was on the 3rd floor so I couldn't hear the noise from the pub downstairs, other than the occasional shout from people outside the pub. My room overlooked the river and I had a nice view of Mt Pilatus and the wooden bridge. There's a safe in the room, a table with 2 chairs and enough space to spread out your luggage. Bed was comfortable to sleep in. Walls are a little thin as I could seem to hear the murmur of conversations from ajoining rooms at night. Had an unfortunate incident on my last night when someone managed to unlock my room door with their key. Not sure how I felt about the security of the rooms after that point so it was a good thing I was checking out the next morning.

The pub downstairs in Pickwick is pricey for its pub meals but most resturants in Lucerne price their meals 20CHF and upwards. Note that that's not including your drink. I bought packaged meals, like pasta salad and 2 minute noodles from COOP to save money for a few nights.

Breakfast is not included but they offer a 15CHF buffet breakfast at another hotel/restaurant if you show your key. Never used it though. There is free WiFi available but its not hosted by the hotel. You need to register your number on the website that appears when you detect the wifi hotspot to get the code but it wouldn't work on my UK sim so I ended up buying a 15CHF Orange SIM card for my stay in Lucerne. I managed to access the free WiFi in the hotel after that (not the SIM internet data).

Old Town is located just behind the hotel so you have access to all the shopping you will ever need. However, dont expect shops to be open after 4pm on Saturdays.. everything closes by then! Resturants are still open though. Friday is late night shopping so it's a better opportunity if you want to shop.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up (3rd floor or higher) to avoid getting noise from the pub at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Interesting hotel on top of a very popular pub. You check in at the bar which is typically very crowded. The rooms are basic, but you can sleep multi's if need be (we were in a group of 3 and just shared a room - which could have slept 4). As others have mentioned to get the free wifi you do need a phone that can get sms. We had international phones, but never got the code.

No one is around in the am so you check yourselves out. Short walk to the train station (where there is parking).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stopped here on a multi stay trip through Europe. It was easily my favorite. We could open a door and step out to be right over the walk way to the river/lake. Below was a bar so if you want to do something or have a drink, all you have to do is go downstairs. If you want peace and quiet it is great for that too with multiple layers of separation and security from the bussling pub below. We came by train so it was easy to find and walk to. The people were extremely friendly. The only reason I could imagine why someone would not completely fall in love with this place is if they brought kids. But form walking around I cant say that Lucern is really a place to vacation with kids. It is also a perfect central location to get to the nearby shopping and sights. A perfect place to stay for a few days!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stay in Hotel Pickwick this past beginning of November 2012. I must admit, it was a bit confusing on how to check in as we arrived by train from Zurich. We went to the pub with our bags (back packs) and waited quite a bit til we go a hold of one of the employees. As soon as we spoke with them, the check in process went fairly quickly and smooth.

I had pre-booked a room on the top floor. The views were amazing. Although this is a Hotel and Pub, on the top floor, we barely heard any pub noise.

IF I had a complaint, the only thing I can think of is the bed situation. I asked for a double bed and when we arrived to the room, we found out that the bed was two singles pushed together, which was rather "interesting" how myself and my girlfriend managed to sleep together but nonetheless, it wasn't a big issue.

Great place to stay and is walking distance from train station and just about everything else. I would definitely stay here again upon our next visit to Lucerne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mr. Pickwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.