We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prime location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Falken - Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Falken - Luzern to your Saves list
Hotel Falken - Luzern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkengasse 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“prime location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

the location of the hotel is v.good,v close to the rly stn, bus stn,and shopping area. Did not like the hotel much,rooms are v. small,bathrooms are v.tiny.it does not have a hotel lobby,but we found the reception staff Alex and Roy v.friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Only if you are a light traveller,without much luggage,and if you are going to remain out most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
21
39
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

a very belated review of the place... stayed here for 2 nights in the corner room in May 2010 which is hence, a little bigger with a window on the roof, the toilet is very small. hotel is located in the center of Luzern and is within walking distance of many places of interest. price is considered cheap for the location. I think the walls are quite thin as I can hear people walking along the corridors. The corner room has poorer WIFI reception, so you'll have to choose if you want to have a bigger room, or a better WIFI reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Rooms are basic but comfortable and well designed for the space, it was nice to be in a budget hotel that had nice bright rooms with a lot of light from the windows.

The Staff are friendly and very helpful, they helped us find everything we needed in the town and beyond, we arrived early and they made sure we could get into our room early to freshen up, they also have lots of discounts available which is very handy as Switzerland is pricy!

The main thing we were pleased with was the location, cheap and bang in the centre of the action in the town as well as a stroll across a bridge to the bus, train and boat links, couldnt really ask for more!

The Wifi worked fine for us, I guess maybe if you want to go to Luzern and spend all your time online it might be a problem but that wasnt what we were there for.

The one thing I would say is a little electric heater wasnt quite enough, maybe 2 or a modernised heating system would have been better.

All in all a nice place to stay in comfort while on a short trip in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

its a very nice place to stay...it is economical as well as very near to places of interests in lucerne..
the rooms were quite ok as well...walkable from the lake and other shopping centers...the lake, the ole bridge, train station and dying lion are all within walkable distance of the falken...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

That is the only positive thing that can be said. The room and bathroom were TINY. We were left outside (on very cold winter) with our luggage because we were one hour too early for check in, the cleaning lady was really rude, she just showed us to the door. The reception girl excused for that and was really kind, even returning later at night to give us back something we had left in the lobby. For Luzern, the price was really low, so there are some things that have to be price efficient, I guess!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Falken has a compact, efficient 4 person room which really fits 4! We put our 4 children in this room and we stayed in a room next door and all were very happy. Their rates are very reasonable and staff accommodating.

Room Tip: They only have the one room for 4 with the bunk beds, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The beds were clean and comfortable, which I guess is the most important thing. The hotel is in a good location, easy to walk to shops, restaurants, and to sight-see. However, the noise from the street was a bit intrusive and you could hear people in neighboring bathrooms. Luckily, I was anticipating this and brought along some ear buds and a Sleepy Time app and blocked the noise out and was able to get a good nights' sleep.

The wifi was free but HORRIBLE. I was only able to connect about 25% of the time, and that was spotty.

Our shower was missing part of the door, so water got all over the bathroom when it was in use.

I think they were also doing some renovations of some sort, so the hallways smelled a little like paint, but this was not noticeable in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Falken - Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falken - Luzern

Address: Falkengasse 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Falken - Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Falken - Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falken Luzern
Falken Luzern Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Falken - Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.