We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience silent easy night climb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Rigi

Mt. Rigi
Lucerne, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mt. Rigi like an insider
Special Offer
$120*
and up
Mount Rigi and Lucerne Summer Day Trip from Zurich
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience silent easy night climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mt Rigi dominates from a distance Zug. take your car or a taxi ( not inexpensive!) to Goldau 25 min., and ask the walking way up the Rigi. Start around 3 am in the dark and you arrive on time for the beautiful sunrise and panorama view till Germany. You climb from about 600 m to 1800 m. to go down there is a train - also up if you do not want to have this wonderful experience, also ok for school aged children

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    160
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Having never been up a mountain before I only had others reviews to go by of what it would be like. It was a cold but sunny day, not a cloud in the sky. There was snow all over so didn't feel brave enough to wander too far around especially as my boots sank deep in the snow the minute I tried to. Other braver souls were up to the task though. Still for a first-timer I was very impressed with the view. Definitely an experience worth having!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was so gorgeous. Snow covered mountain top with unbelievable mountains views of the countryside. When you dream of Switzerland this is the spot. Took the train up and walked along the many different pathways. A beautiful chapel to visit as well. Stayed at the new Rigi Kalt Bade. Thermal Pool overlooking the mountains. Had a 5 course meal that was very unique.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Day Trip from Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We took a day trip from Zurich. Our journey took us Zurich - Lucerne - Vitznau - Mt Rigi - Arth Godlau - Zurich.
We purchased tickets for the entire journey from Zurich HB on the day for 121 CHF each which also included a voucher for 10 CHF to be used at any of the restaurants on Rigi.
We took the 7:35am train from Zurich arriving in Lucerne at 8:30am. We walked around beautiful Lucerne before taking the ferry to Vitznau at 11:12am arriving at 12:10am. The cogwheel train conveniently departed at 12:15pm. The scenery was breathtaking on this journey. We arrived at the to of Rigi about an hour later. We used our vouchers and bought a delicious lunch in the cafeteria style restaurant and took in the scenery. An east day trip from zurich and Definitely worth a trip if you have time. We arrived back in Zurich at about 4:30pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Great Rigi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

To the hikers this is a paradise. the hiking path is very attractive in summer time. from the Luzern you can take ship to rich the base of the mountain. or you can go by train to arth-Goldau. from there you can take cog-wheel train to go top of the mountain.
you can enjoy a good view of lake luzern and the city from top of the mountain. many sports activity like paragliding on the mountain top.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rigi also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mt. Rigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Rigi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.