We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food, of course coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starbucks

Starbucks
Pilatusstr. 1, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
41 210 29 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Lucerne
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view and food, of course coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Compared to the US, Starbucks pastries and food in general are far better in Switzerland. This Starbucks is crowded as there only a few in lucern. This one has outdoor seating overlooking river Ruess.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Coffee and great sceneary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Starbucks is situated ideally where it overlooks Unteregg (the lake). Watch the Chapel Bridge, swans, architecture , mountains from outside or the second level. Best in Spring to Fall. The coffee is around 8 CFH for a venti. The atmosphere priceless. Get

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Super expensive and not very clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I opted for Starbucks because I needed WiFi. I didn't realize how expensive Starbucks is in Switzerland. I also found out from my friends, it is not a very popular spot among locals. There are so many nicer and cleaner places to enjoy! Dirty dishes were all over second floor lounge.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Consistency Worldwide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Starbucks is a staple for our family when home in the US but in order to maximize our local experiences, when we travel, we avoid all the American chains. However, while waiting for a boat i couldn't resist and i ran in for a mocha…just as good as at home. The staff was super friendly, spoke English and like the other reviewer, i found the decor to be unbelievably beautiful. Most people there apparently take their coffee in a ceramic mug to drink there…just about flip flopped for how it is in the states. So my 'barista' was surprised when i said mine was to go. He'd already started writing on a mug. All total, a delightful experience (albeit expensive, but it IS switzerland…my tall mocha was 6.7 CHF…what? about $8USD? Twice the price of at home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,744 reviews 1,744 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
782 helpful votes 782 helpful votes
“Very nice place, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

In my personal opinion this is one of the most beautiful Starbucks I've ever visited, I'm talking about internal design, it is in all respects a true living room, sofas, wooden coffee tables, lamps, all very nice. A relaxed and comfortable environment.
Staff very helpful and friendly, and super location make this one of the best Starbucks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starbucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.