We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but good location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stern Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Stern Luzern to your Saves list
Hotel Stern Luzern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small room but good location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night for stop over from Zurich to zermatt. The hotel is centrally located which is about 10 min from the train station as well as the old town center.

The reception is actually at the restaurant but it is not difficult to find the hotel. It has a clear sign on the wall as well as street direction. The staff are generally friendly. The room is small but this is generally Europe standard so nothing much to complaint about it. It is still spacious enough for us to put in four luggage for a four sharing room. The room is clean as general Switzerland standard. I am not a light sleeper so the bell of the opposite church did not bother me much.

However, the wireless service was not working during our stay there. We told the staff but it still couldn't be connected the next day until we left. This created some problems for us as we needed the Internet to retrieve some information eg the train schedule and etc. I do hope that the hotel could improve the speed in getting things fix as this could be critical for some tourist like we do.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
51
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

You get what you pay for and this is a reasonably priced hotel (hard to find reasonably priced hotels in Lucerne) which fits the bill for a short stay, Our family of two adults and one teen found it a bit on the small size but the size of the bathroom was good. Everything was clean but room did smell a little bit musty. Plus we were on the top floor and lift doesn't go all the way up. Breakfast was good and hotel staff were EXCEPTIONALLY friendly. I loved the location across the road from a beautiful old church and right at the junction of the old and new towns.

Room Tip: If there are more than two in your party you might need more than one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very comfortable for three adults sharing a room for one night. This was a half way stop for us driving to Italy and we were pleasantly surprised by ease and beauty of Lucerne.

We had a triple room on the top floor with views of great roof tops. The sofa bed was comfortable. The breakfast simple, yet very satisfying in an inviting room.

Parking was close, less than a block away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night. Overall is a small hotel, even the lift is small as it can only fit in 1 person and 1 luggage. Room barely has enough space for our 2 luggages.
As we brought along luggages so the walk is ard 15 min.
Room is clean and staff at reception is friendly. Haha... Reception area is a surprise tho. Quite interesting to find the bar area doubled up as reception area. Very near the famous bridge and shopping area so quite convenient to go out walk around.
Bed is comfortable and I didnt hear any church bells during my sleep. Maybe due to the fact I requested for a room to be away from the church.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in April 2012. Only 10 min walk from the train station and famous bridge and old town attractions. The hotel is well-run and clean. My group had a delicious dinner in the restuarant on the ground floor and the bill is acceptable for the quality of the meal and services. Breakfast was OK with a fancy good coffee machine to allow you to enjoy a variety of coffee to start your day. Good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in June on business. Hotel is very clean and well-run. Well-located in the town, Had a good meal on my last night at the small dining room on the ground floor. Very good value; I would be glad to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms; both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stern Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern Luzern

Address: Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stern Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stern Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Stern Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stern Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.