We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Restaurant & Bar

Mekong Restaurant & Bar
Pilatusstrasse 29 | Hotel Astoria, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
+41 41 266 88 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 265 restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $17 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant MekongAsian Bistro & BarMekong offers a diverse selection of Asian cuisine and Sushi for lunch and dinner. The relaxed, Asian inspired design features a bar in the heart of the restaurant, providing a special dining experience.
Luzern
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not as good as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

beautiful restaurant but food is flavorless.. if there were at least spices on the table like in every other asian restaurant, but there weren't

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Rosmarie H,

We would like to thank you for your visit at the restaurant Mekong in Lucerne and your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant design. Even more we regret that the food did not completely meet your expectations. However, for a future stay, please do not hesitate to contact our service team, as they are always happy to serve you the desired spices.
Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in one of our hotels or restaurants.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    76
    21
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Ate dinner at the Mekong last night. It was a nice restaurant atmosphere but I was not too impressed with the food. It was not terrible but ok. Not sure why the restaurant is rated so high here on the tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sun lover S

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant atmosphere. Even more we regret that we could not completely convince you with our food quality.
Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in one of our hotels or restaurants.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not my favourite restaurant in Lucerne... Enjoyed the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Service in Mekong is great. Efficient, and friendly. The decor is very cool and comfortable.
Although I very much enjoyed my evening at Mekong, the food was not the best I have had in Lucerne. I had the Mekong Stir-fry. Prawns and chicken with noodles. On the menu it sounded much better. I had 3 prawns, and mainly chicken. It was swimming in sauce, so if you like lots of sauce then you may enjoy this. The portions were very large. My colleague had another stir-fry with a coconut cream sauce which looked very good. The place settings included chop sticks - it is great to not have to ask for these. For Lucerne prices, this was good value. I had the Singapore Sling, and just made happy hour - so 10 CHF. Great cocktail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear smithlette

We would like to thank you for your visit at our restaurant Mekong and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our service quality. Even more we regret that we could not completely convince you with our food. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of service and to scrutinize our standard procedures. Your advice regarding our dishes we will share with our executive chef.
Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in the restaurant mekong.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed yet upscale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Mekong Restaurant in Lucerne is not one of those ridiculously overpriced Asian restaurants nor is it a take away with a couple of tables, but a nicely decorated place for a relaxing evening with friends.
The staff is very attentive. One of our group came on crutches that night and they spontaneously changed our reserved table to a more accommodating one for the injured person.
The food is good - adapted to European tastes. Could be more spicy...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear LadyGoldilocks

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Mekong and for your positive feedback. We are pleased that we were able to convince you especially with our services quality. We would be pleased if we soon could welcome you back in one of our restaurants in Lucerne.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Asian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

authentic Asian food, the price to quality should be among the top in Lucerne. Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere and fast service. Best of all, most guests are NOT tourists rather than local business people. The only downside is that the restaurant operates only until 2pm in the lunch time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Mekong Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Xie F

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant mekong and for your positive feedback. Praise like yours shows us that we are on the right track and motivates us to get better and better. We would be pleased if we soon could welcome you back in one of our restaurants in Lucerne.

yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Lucerne, Switzerland
Lucerne, Switzerland
 

Been to Mekong Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.