We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Lucerne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpina Luzern to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina Luzern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankenstrasse 6 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne CH-6003 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Weekend in Lucerne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked hotel Alpina *3 stars ( and got an upgrade for free to Monopol *4 stars). Very good value for money, close to the railway station, port, the KKL and old historical center of Lucerne. Good breakfast. I asked for a quiet room and got exactly that. I will go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    69
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
57
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had a brief, 2 night stay at the Alpina Hotel. I booked a single room and because of my experience with a similar hotel in Geneva, my expectations were not high. Again, I chose this hotel because of its short distance to the station and, for Switzerland, at a reasonable price. As it turned out the hotel exceeded my expectations, Check-in check-out was quick and efficient, nice and helpful young ladies at the reception. It had the smallest lift I've ever seen in a hotel, it just about held me and my suitcase but families might have to make multiple trips. The room, at the back of the hotel, was clean and quiet. There was a safe, mini bar, desk, comfortable bed and quite a good bathroom.. The breakfast at the sister hotel Monopol, 50 meters up the road, was excellent and so was the service. About a 5 minute walk to the lake / Rhone. Perhaps 10 minutes across the bridge to the old part of town. I was quite happy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear ddoubledd...

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Thank you very much your feedback about our hotelstaff and for the quick and efficient Check-in and Check-out.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a small tourist hotel with very small rooms that were clean. It was quiet enabling a good sleep. A super excellent breakfast is served in an affiliated, and much nicer, hotel 100 metres away. Off street parking available. Located very close to the rail station and thus well placed to walk about the lake and central parts of the city. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Ray R

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice and small hotel ALPINA located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location was excellent as it was only a three minute walk to the train station. The Alpina was within close walking distance of the Lucerne attractions. The room was very quiet and comfortable and the breakfast (at the affiliated Monopol Hotel) was absolutely delicious. Diana, the receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. She was so likeable that we ended up naming her "Princess". Diana is a real asset to the Hotel Alpina. Other staff were very helpful and attended very promptly to our query about the heating. The very small lift was an experience in itself. Only scary because we didn't realise that it had two exits and had to manually push one of them open! This hotel was great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear VickiB122

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station and the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

Diana will be very happy about your nice and friendly feedback. She is really a little “Princess” because her work is absolutely great.

Our small lift is really very small and only for 3- 4 persons. But we do always a safety check with the elevators company and we can assure that the small lift is normal Swiss standard.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Alpina Luzern is a very functional hotel in the centre of Lucerne very close to the main train station. You wont get many luxuries. But if you are OK with staying at a decent, no-frills hotel, this hotel is perfect. All the floors and walls are nicely carpeted and overall the cleanliness levels are good. The central location means you can walk to all the main Lucerne attractions. There are several eateries and cafes just outside the hotel. The main reason i would recommend this hotel is the price. For the location, it is very high value for money and significantly more economical than the other hotels in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Akhilesh0…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and many restaurants and cafes thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights. Even though we arrived there before the check-in time, the room was made available to us. The hotel and the room was very clean, the hotel was well maintained, the bed was comfortable. We had to walk to the adjoining hotel owned by the same coy for our breakfast which was very good. WiFi was only available in the lobby accessed using a password obtained from Reception, the bandwidth was very good. The Lucerne Railway Station, reasonable priced restaurants and tourist attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Shanthie…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our nice hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, the city Lucerne and thank you as well for your feedback about the cleanliness in our hotel and for the confortable beds.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests.

It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I liked the breakfast at the Monopol Hotel. The location was very good for train travellers.

The room, while quiet, was exceedingly small. The bed was very hard. The wifi was hit and miss and not available in the rooms only in the overcrowded lobby. The staff were not at all helpful. The lift was dangerous in that the exit was very close to stairs and it would have been easy to have fallen if not watching closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear flica3
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you very much for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne and as well that you enjoyed the very good location, in the middle of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

We are very surprised that our hotel staff was not at all helpful. We hear this to our first time. Normally we have only good feedbacks. We excuse us for this.
WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guest.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Address: Frankenstrasse 6 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne CH-6003 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre, in the middle of the city center, at lake Lucerne, the famous chapel bridge and the points of interest. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced Hotel ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central top-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, hotels) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.