We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpina Luzern to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina Luzern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankenstrasse 6 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne CH-6003 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Alpina is brilliantly located, close to the beautiful river and lake, and railway station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but my single room was small and outdated. It was located on the fourth floor, and lacked air conditioning. It was also very noisy at night from nearby diners, so having the window open wasn't an option. The breakfast at the nearby Monopole was terrific. The Alpina would benefit from a wider Wifi service, as the small cramped foyer/lobby is the only location which currently receives reception. For a budget-friendly, well positioned hotel it was fine for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sue H

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much for your nice praise for our hotel staff and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast at our sister hotel Monopol Lucerne. We're extremely sorry that it was a little loud at night.
As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
30
58
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is rubbish. 3 stars? obviously a self rating. The Monopol next door has an official 4 star rating the Alpina has a no star rating and it's reflected in what you get. Breakfast is included, but it's next door. Laundry no but you can get it done, next door. This place is no more than an annexe of the Monopol. The front desk staff were very helpful so that gets this place a star. The location gets another star. But a hotel that charges 200CHF + for a room with no airconditioing and no in room wifi? We stayed at Lugano which is not cheap either at a hotel that was also close to the station and included breakfast, for about the same price if you want to see what true 3 star value for money is have a look at the Continental Parkhotel Lugano. I accept that Lucerne is expensive but I have no idea why this place has got so many good ratings.
Other reviewers have mentoned the noise from the bar/club downstairs. It will depend on which night yu are in the hotle and where you room is located bu were were on the street front and could hear it but haven't had to sleep the night yet so we'll see.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Tricksy Hobbitses

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

The hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne is the sister hotel of hotel ***ALPINA Lucerne and both hotel are directly next to each other and as well next to the train station of Lucerne; KKL culture and congress center Lucerne, old town, lake Lucerne and chapel bridge.

At the moment we have only WIFI in the hotel lobby but we are happy to tell you that approx. in four weeks we can offer in all hotel rooms free WIFI. Every day we try to improve something in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Best regards from Lucerne

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

In front of luzern central station. Twin hotel monopole hotel, where we have breakfast. No room with air conditioning. I came with family, and the room are so spacey. Easy access to downtown luzern just by walk as so as luzern city are small. Unfortunately wifi connection are poor just like internet access in Luzern. Not many menus on breakfast but is enought for us. Last, the price are high, but it is understandable coz switzerland are the most expensive country in the world!

Room Tip: Many bars around hotel, could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Luken M

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
The hotel ALPINA Lucerne as no A/C, but we offer for all clients one fan. As you have seen, we have at the moment only in the hotel lobby free WiFi but we are very happy, that in the coming weeks, we get Wifi for the whole hotel ALPINA Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a nice one night stay at the Hotel Alpina in Luzern. The hotel is very close to the main train station, the lake and the city centre. The service during ckeck in and check out was very pleasant, as well as the service during breakfast at the nearby Hotel Monopol. Our room was nice, with a terrace onto the street. Since our room did not have air conditioning, and since we could not leave the windows open during the night because of the noise in the street, we had to use the fan all night which was ok.

Very good value, very central location, highly recommendable.

Room Tip: During summer time, ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear TightLoops

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback.
Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the main train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest.
Thank you very much for your nice feedback for our hotel staff and for the nice room with terrace onto the street.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this Hotel through a Hotel Reservation Webpage (not tripadvisor) and added in the appropriate text-field the Annotation "Please a quiet room". Unfortunately this was not forwarded to the Hotel and we were given the loudest room they have - 1st floor, right above a Pub/Restaurant that was having lots of - loud and laughing on the street - People. So no sleep until 5am. The good news: the Hotel handled our complaint the next morning super-professionally. The bad news: As I said the Hotel was never forwarded our wish to have a quiet room by that Hotel Reservation Webpage. So please make sure to book this Hotel in whatever way you want - but make sure contact the hotel also directly to ensure to have a room facing the Yard. All the rest is fine - very conveniently and very centrally located (right next to the Train Station).

Room Tip: Make sure to contact Hotel to get a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Euro-Leo

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about the location then the Hotel ALPINA is very central and next to the train station, the famous Chapel Bridge and the tourist sites.

We would be happy to welcome you on another occasion in our city.

With best Regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good and for me, the most important things were room & bathroom cleanliness. The room was great, newly remodeled and the bathroom was spacious and clean. What is funny is that the rooms look like they fit in a different hotel because once you step outside your bedroom the halls and building are old and stuffy.

I have 0 complaints about the room; having said that, I think there are a few things that could be improved for the hotel itself.

1. When we arrived the hotel was closed and they put a sign on the door telling you to go to another hotel (the mothership) to go register. Unfortunately the map guiding you to the other hotel is so tiny that I didn't see it so I had to ask around. It's right next door so not a big deal but they could definitely improve that.

2. As some other people mentioned, Wifi is only available inside the tiny lobby and the signal belongs to the bar next door. Unfortunately that means that the lobby will get a bit crowded with hotel guests, especially at night, all trying to email, FaceTime, Facebook etc. You will watch people having very personal conversations with their families and learn intimate details of their lives (uncomfortable). I don't know why the hotel doesn't just provide WiFi signal to the whole place instead of having people piled up in the lobby...

3. The hotel "encourages" you to give them a good review in Tripadvisor by saying that if you give them a good review by X date they will enter you to win a stay at the top suite in the master hotel for 2 people. I think that's dishonest and ticked me off because if people are giving a hotel good reviews to get entered into a raffle then I must question what they actually said.

Our experience here was good; as I said before, all I cared about was having a good and clean room and bathroom. Would I stay here again? Hmm... maybe...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear PaRaJiTo

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very happy that you tell us what we can improve in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne. All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the cleanliness. And as well the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne is very close to the centre of Lucerne and directly next to the train station.

WIFI is at the moment only in the lobby available but we are very happy that we will have very soon in our whole building FREE WIFI and for all guests. Nobody have to sit anymore in the crowded hotel lobby.

Thank you for the feedback that the map guiding to our sister hotel****MONOPOL Lucerne is not so big. We will improve that definitely.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A really well placed hotel very close to the railway station, the bus station, lake steamers and the main attractions of Lucerne, and not too highly priced for Switzerland. If you book early you can get a discount as we did. Although central, as the hotel is on a side street there is less traffic and crowd noise than you'd expect as the double galzing seemed to be effective. However, our room seemed to suffer from internal noise or perhaps we just hit a time with noisy guests! Whatever partitioning of rooms has taken place over the years, our room did not have good wall or ceiling insulation. Breakfast at the sister Hotel Monopol down the street was very good, but we were surprised to find that a hotel of such size had no restaurant serving other meals except for some of its coach parties. Presumably they expect people to use the on-site Macdonalds and Starbucks. Shame. Our shower room was a little too small for comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear carolebur…

We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Thank you for your kind feedback about the good location of the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. Very close to the train station, the bus station, Lake Lucerne and the main attractions of Lucerne. We have many lovely restaurants around the hotel ALPINA Lucerne with Italian food, Greece food or Thai food. Our reception staff can recommend to everyone a nice restaurant.

Our breakfast is served in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne, directly next to the hotel ALPINA Lucerne. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cold and warm buffet breakfast.

We are very sorry to hear that you had noise neighbours during your stay. We just like to inform you for your next stay, please call our reception staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restaurantrice HF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Luzern

Address: Frankenstrasse 6 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne CH-6003 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Only 3 minutes by S-Train away from the Fair / Messe Lucerne. The well-tended, cosy and reasonably priced 3-Star Hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne is situated at the most central TOP-location (train station, city center, lake Lucerne, fair, center hotels lucerne). A CORDIAL WELCOME in Lucerne Hotels ALPINA Luzern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpina Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.