We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but really worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pilatus

Mount Pilatus
PILATUS-BAHNEN AG Schlossweg 1 | Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
(0)41 329 11 11
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Pilatus like an insider
Top Rated
$160*
and up
Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expensive, but really worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is absolutely beautiful place. I just wish we would have more time to explore and hike around.
We took cable car all the way to the top (68.00 CHF each ticket) and it took us 45 min to get to the top of the World!But it was beautiful ride all along. Plus views from the top of the mountain so amazing, you will never forget it!
If weather if permitted and you are in good shape you should try to walk back down (at least from mid station), I wish we would.
And you see all these beautiful mountain clear water lakes and Luzern down under your feet :-), which you should visit too, while you so close.
Do not miss mountain Pilatus. After all, Switzerland is one of the MOST beautiful countries and Pilatus is one of the best tourist destinations.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    297
    60
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
888 helpful votes 888 helpful votes
“stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It looks like the top of the world ( over 7000 ft ) . I could not believe the view I was watching . It is some thing to remember for a very long time .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giubiasco, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a very expensive place but it is worthy to visit. Such impressive views are not common. To access there you use the faster climbing train in the world (if i am not wrong)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Heaven at 7000 ft above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Mount Pilatus is about 7000 ft avove the sea level. One can visit Mt Pilatus via Kriens rly station which is hardly 10 minutes from Luzern. Pilatus base camp is at 5 minutes walk from Kriens. From base station Cable cars are available which will take on the top of the mountain. There are good rest place ( air conditioned) for old people or people who wish to get acclaimatize before getting exposed to cold climate. This is a part of Alps hills range. In october the temparature was around 3-5 degree celcious. At some place snow were visible. There is cave in which verious old pictures with description are displayed.
Number of adventures/ games are conducted for the interested people.
After spending about half day, we came down by cogwheel rail to Alpnachstad. The cogwheel experience is really great. It is the oldest cogwheel rail on the globe. It run almost at 45-48 degree slope. It took 40 minutes to reach Alpnashstad from there we took ferry to Luzern about 75 minutes journey. The total trip was wonderful and amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We did the golden round trip ticket..when people ask what was our favorite part of our 16 day trip in Europe this seems to always come up first! The boat ride was beautifull and relaxing..bring a hat..sunscreen and water.. Mke your way directly yo the cog wheel train..it runs every half hour so you don't want to miss the first one..and some off the boat will miss it and have to wait.

When you get to the top there are a few small hikes that you can take even up higher. Ther eis a cafeteria style restaurant..whcih is a little price but i guess part of hte experience - but I am sure you could bring your own picnic as well.

Then you take the cable car half way down and the gondola the rest of the way..walk a few blocks to the bus stop which is very clearly marked and quite a few people will be headed in the same direction.

We only spent one ngiht in Lucerne so this was pretty much our whole day and we were not disappointed at all..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Pilatus also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mount Pilatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pilatus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.