We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across road from station - noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Across road from station - noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel looks classy and is in a great spot if you are travelling by train. It is also about 10 minute walk to the old part of town. It is on a busy street and windows are not double glazed so noise is a problem. The rooms are surprisingly not air-conditioned but do possess fans. We were upgraded to a superior room (an extra 100 switz francs a night if you paying ) due to all night road works which was great, The room was huge at the back of the hotel, The staff were helpful. You have to pay for Internet/Wi Fi which is not surprising in Lucerne - you pay through the nose for everything in that city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    298
    85
    28
    11
See reviews for
176
258
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Waldstatterhof 2 nights while visiting Lucerne. The hotel is right across the street from the train station, buses and boats that tour Lake Lucerne. Rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a headboard that looked like it was made out of papermache that lit up. Very unique! The first night we were in a room in the front of the hotel. There is a street bar across the road and we heard loud noise all night until about 3 a.m. The front staff were good enough to switch us to a back room of the hotel. The following night was a much more plesant nights sleep. The breakfast was good with lots of choices. The hotel was within walking distance of old town, shopping and restaurants. The staff was always willing to help and they held our luggage after check out while we did a tour of Mt. Rigi. I would stay again, but ask for a back room away from the street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel, not on the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I had a “business room” and made sure to ask for a quiet room that faced the inner courtyard because I knew in an old building like that the street facing rooms would be loud and I wouldn’t be able to sleep.

My room was recently updated and was just fine – it is contemporary design and EVERYTHING is white (except for the brown wood floors) without a single painting or artwork in the room. For me it was fine and was interestingly refreshing for a change.

The front desk employees can seem indifferent at first but once you ask something of them they jump right on it!

The “Hof” restaurant is next to lobby and the people working there were friendly. Also, the breakfast included with my business room had good options and a couple of hot items as well.

Room Tip: street facing rooms could be loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, food was good, close to train station, immaculately clean, but noisy and the beds were not very comfortable. Not very good night's sleep. May just have been where my particular room was located or some construction nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at Waldstaetterof. We caught the train from paris to lucerne, so it was fantastic that the hotel was right accross the road from the train station. We were walking distance from the piers and old city which was very convenient. We had a triple room, which was very roomy and comfortable, as was the selection of teas etc! The staff were so friendly and the breakfast was fantastic with the best eggs and bacon ever!!
We loved our stay at Waldstaetterhof and would definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were in Lucerne in September and when we came out of the train station after a long airflight,long layovers and the train trip from Zurich,what a joy to see the Hotel Waldstaetterhof right across the street! The staff was helpful and it is close to most of the tourist sights and where you catch the boat for scenic trips.
However,there is no air conditioner. There is a fan and the windows open but the traffic is noisy. However we slept well at night. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for ten nights travelling through Inghams. The hotel location is first class, within a few minutes walk to train station, bus station and boat stations. Friendly and helpful staff. Half board option through Inghams is excellent value, and the food is very good, with a wide choice of menu. On the plus side they provide a kettle, cups, tea etc in the room. Drawbacks: there were no drawers in the room to put clothes, so the hotel provided us with a shelf unit, they said they are used to people only staying for one night, so no need to unpack! Second problem was noise. We overlooked the street and it was noisy all the time, so couldn't keep a window open at night - but there was a portable air conditioning unit in the room which helped. But we would consider staying there again if and when we return to Lucerne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel

Address: Zentralstrasse 4, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities and comforts is set in late-19th century Victorian in the downtown area; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne
Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldstaetterhof Swiss Quality Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.