We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schiff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lucerne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schiff Hotel
Save
You added Schiff Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unter der Egg 8, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“visit 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

we are due to visit hotel schiff in March 2012 and look forward to a nice comfortable hotel with nice room and bed good food,clean bathroom and we will be very happy .

Room Tip: nice comfortable hotel ,with good food central location,able tom walk to all city areas,and attracti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We have just returned fom our holiday in Europe and spent 3 nights in Lucerne and yes agree with everyone else that it is the most picturesque place. We loved our experience at the Schiff and had the funniest experience in the infamous lift. We arrived after dark and couldn't believe our eyes when we opened the shutters and saw the view the next morning. We over looked the river and the Chapel bridge and all the swans. The staff were so friendly and yes the breakfast was great especially the range of breads. We also had dinner there one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. On thing that isn't highlighted and shouldn't be missed is the statue of the dying lion. We also took the cogwheel train up to the top of Mt. Pilatus and felt like we were on top of the world. A visit to Lucurne is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the River and Chapel Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was well located in the centre of Lucerne, close to station, shops and attractions. Continental breakfast was good. The room was clean but ventilation was poor. I would not stay at this hotel during the hot summer months. There was a smell in the hallway but not in our bedroom. This is an historic hotel and we appreciated it for this reason. The floors in the hallway were crooked and the very small elevator was something to experience. WiFi only worked in the restaurant but we still managed to access home when necessary. We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant. Everything in Switzerland is expensive, but we still enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel is well located in the centre of Lucerne, close to station, shops and attractions. Views from the restaurant across the river towards the mountains are good. Continental breakfast was good with reasonable choice. Room was clean and large but ventilation was poor. We arrived as the outside temperatures were cooling down in late August but the temperature inside the room remained hot (>30C we estimated) for five days. We were given a fan but it had to be used in front of the balcony door which opened on to a public area making it unsafe to try to cool to room down. Bed and pillows were hard and flat. Also WiFi only worked in the restaurant which was useless in evening as the restaurant served meals till late. Expensive for what we received, but so is Switzerland generally.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The location of the hotel is pretty good. Chapel bridge is only 1 minute walk from the front door. Although if you come in via the front entrance, there’s a long set of stairs that you have to climb. So if you have a lot of luggage, go through the back entrance.
The room was nice and spacious, but there were no air conditioning, and no windows that can be opened. If we need some fresh air, we need to open the balcony door, which we actually share with other rooms. So sleeping with your balcony door opened is not a very safe idea. Pillows was a bit flat, and the mattress could be thicker.
Breakfast was good though! Plenty of choices, and you can even sit at the restaurant’s balcony (recommended if it’s a sunny day). You’ll have a nice view of Lake Lucerne & Chapel Bridge. One last point… the lift is … “unique” to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a good size but bed was two singles put together (with single linen) and pillows were extremely flat. Breakfast and dinner were both very good food and service. Expensive for what we got, but that seems to be the norm in Lucerne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel has a perfect setting on the banks of the river and right in the heart of the old town. It is very old building and the lift is tiny as a result of the need to fit into the old structure. Service at both reception and in the restaurant was friendly and the breakfast, particularly the fresh bread, was tasty.

The room was brightly lit with a large bathroom, but the bed was a little uncomfortable and we were working at 7am both mornings by workmen renovating the adjacent building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schiff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiff Hotel

Address: Unter der Egg 8, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Hotel Class:3 star — Schiff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Schiff Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schiff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.