We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but don't forget your earplugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luzernerhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Luzernerhof Hotel to your Saves list
Luzernerhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpenstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Central but don't forget your earplugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms in this hotel are very noisy as the hotel entrance is on a very busy street and one building from the street next to the lakefront which is very busy as well. The rooms on the quiet side are single beds meant for drivers - so their logic seems to be that tour passengers don't need sleep only drivers do!
The first room we got on first floor was decently updated, the bathroom was a bit tiny though. After much pursuasion we were able to shift to a room on the fifth floor which was a bit quieter as it was the farthest away from the entrance and busy street. The bathroom in this room wasn't updated but was bigger and functional. None of the rooms have AC or fan.
The hotel has seven floors and just one lift and during tour arrival/departure the lift is locked for moving luggage, so count on climbing stairs. Wifi is an additional 5F.
Dinner was ok, pasta with sauce on the side and a veg patty instead of chicken for vegetarians. Service was fast. Breakfast was ok, vegetarian options were milk and cereal, fruit salad and bread.
The redeeming thing about this place is that its central and a very short walk to the lake, a string of restaurants and Migros a relatively inexpensively priced supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    42
    22
    32
See reviews for
23
42
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Small rooms, no air conditioning, no way to use elevator (it's the only one in the hotel and looks like always used for luggage), tiny and full of smoke from almost inside bar lobby, tobacco smoke reaches the staircase as well, down pillows (I am allergic - so it was terrible for me). The staff was OK, but slow. The breakfast is very average.
The location is great (2 minutes from the lake), but our tour buddies that stayed on lower floors complained about street noise in night time.
I do not recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed June 5, 2013. The motel was centrally located at the edge of the old city. Great Location!!! The room was small and clean. To use the exercise facility cost 25 franc extra. A bag of ice cost 2 francs. I asked if they had an extra pillow as our two were like deflated balloons. They said all pillows were in use as the motel was fully rented and they had no extra. The elevator is typically European- very small. The blinds did not cover the window. There is no air conditioning. The open window gives lots of street noise. The best place to exchange dollars for francs or euros is in the airport in the USA as you fly out. The exchange rate at the hotels is so low that they even tell you, you should not exchange money with them. But again, if you want to see the usual tourist sites in Lucerne this hotel can't be beat for location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Cosmos Tour.
PROS:
- Location - the hotel is centrally located close to the Lake, Shops and the Lion Monument. It is walking distance to the train station.
- Internet was not free but cheap - 5 Swiss Francs for 24 hours from memory
- The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

CONS:-
We were desperate to do laundry once we got to this hotel. They charged 20 Swiss Francs for a shopping bag of clothes - which I thought was quite expensive. Initially we had four bags of clothes we wanted washed - which is basically one load in a standard washing machine, but the hotel was charging us 60 Swiss francs because they were insisting it's going to take 3 loads of washing to do it. In the end we agreed to paying 20 swiss francs to wash one small load of our jeans and pants. I read in a recent review that it cost them 16 swiss francs for one load... Prices must have inflated in the last two months?!? Hmmmm..

- Rooms were okay - however they did not have air conditioning (I'd hate to stay in the hotel during the summer time). When we opened the window for fresh air, it was quite noisy because of the traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

stayed here in late may.
in summary,
pros:
-very convenient location (near to migros, coop, lion monument, city, lake lucerne)
- if you are looking for convenience stay here
- friendly reception
- decent room
- paid wifi (5chf/24hr)
cons:
- the rooms had only partial blinds (sunsets later during summer so could be a problem)
- hot water supply runs out when many people are bathing
-no air conditioning (imagine summer!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during a Cosmos tour. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and adequate. Internet was not free but not expensive and with adequate speed. Laundry was cheap (16 Euro for one bag) and quite efficient. I would recommend staying here if you're not really looking for 5 star amenities, but who really needs that when you're out most of the day for your tour?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel was close to lake and shopping rooms were on the small side but ok . There is no air conditioning opening window cools it off if you can sleep with the street noise . We were here May 2012 so it was not too hot yet , would not want to stay here July or August .

Room Tip: lower floors will have more street noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luzernerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luzernerhof Hotel

Address: Alpenstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luzernerhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luzernerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luzernerhof Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luzernerhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.