We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lucerne Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Alpenquai 42, Lucerne, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wainwright, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My group of 7 Girl Guides stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights in July 2012. The location is beautiful, right across the street from a park on the lake and yet only a 10 min walk from the train station.
The rooms were clean, had lockers, table & chairs and a small deck with chairs. Common areas seemed homey and welcoming. Kitchen had everything we needed for our picnic style meal. Showers were adequate and clean. Bathrooms the same. There is a long row of sinks facing the rooms which alleviates any congestion getting ready in the morning. A couple of my group would have appreciated a blow dryer being available.
Staff were professional and gave good recommendations for restaurants. The lobby had tips and traveller information for guests.
We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    70
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
51
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
iowa city, Iowa, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

For a budget stay, it was more than adequate. It was clean, safe, friendly staff, our room had a view of Mt. Pilatus, the common area in kitchen had all that you'd need for your own picnic or food preparation. We did not opt for the breakfast, instead got cheap yogurt and fruit juice and kept in in a labeled bag in the common fridge. There was laundry service available which we used but clothes were really wrinkled. We are a family of 4 and had a private room with shared bath. We never had to wait for the shower or toilets. Also, across street from a park, beach access. There was enough for all. The only drawback was that it is a bit of a long walk from train station and ATM (cash machine).

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with view of Mt. Pilatus, you'll enjoy the view as you sit on deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Every thing was wonderful.
All the staff were so helpful & pleasing
We would return again.
Room 22. 3/6-9/6

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hostel was clean and had a good location (15 minute walk from train station). It is very much what you would imagine a hostel to be- no frills, no extras. I stayed in the 4-person dorm room, which was fine. It had lockers, two desks, and two sets of bunkbeds. I think that for the price, breakfast should have been included. The other guests were pleasant and quiet- everyone in my dorm went to bed before 11.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early April. Plenty of parking right outside the hostel. From here we easily walked to all the major sights there was to see in lovely Lucerne. Our room was on the second floor with its own balcony. The room was large with toilets/showers and basins just across the hall. Very clean and warm with friendly staff. great value for money.

Only one downside for us and most likely for some others is that the noise from other guests easily pierce the walls and enter the room. Aside from this we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 27 and 28 are right across the hall from the toilets and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice and clean hostel in Lucerne, though a bit far from the train station. The hostel website says its 10-12 minutes but its actually about 20 minutes walk. best is to take bus 6,7 or 8 to the back side of the hostel and then walk about 5 minutes. The caretakers were very friendly and helpful, kitchen area well kept and clean. The price was a little more than for a usual hostel but then that's because it was Switzerland. We booked a room with lake view and had a nice stroll in the morning along the lake which was really refreshing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view if you are booking a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We checked in early to the hostel which wasn't an issue.bathrooms and showers were clean. Communal ideas were kept tidy. Room itself was spacious for a 4 bed private with a balcony! An added bonus. Staff were really friendly and they did everything possible to accommodate us. Location was fantastic . Across the road from the lake and supermarkets + train station are close by.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucerne Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.