We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent four nights at Hotel Des Alpes in Lucerne. We had two rooms, our two teenaged boys had a city view room, while we had a river view room.

The City View room was much more modern and had obviously been renovated, whilst our river view room was much older and smaller. However, we had a balcony and a spectacular view! The biggest problem with our River View room was the size of the shower cubicle. It was literally too small to shower in comfortably, each time you moved an arm you hit the tap and turned it hot or cold or off.

There is only one very old elevator, however it works. You have to physically open the door yourself, which was quite funny as we constantly forgot, which meant we spent a lot of time waiting for the lift door to open.

The front desk staff were great, very pleasant and helpful in answering questions. Could not fault them in any way.

We ate dinner on our first evening in the hotel’s restaurant. The food was good without being special. Price was typical of all the restaurants along the riverside.

We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning – it was included in the price, along with very good free wifi. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant, with beautiful views of the river and the Kapel Brucke. It was a typical Swiss continental breakfast, with very good coffee. There were a few cereals, a variety of rolls, breads, cheeses and cold meats and boiled eggs. The eggs were great, somehow they managed to keep the yolks fairly soft while keeping the eggs warmed. There was also a toaster and a variety of spreads. My only complaint about the breakfast was that they didn’t do a great job of topping up things that were gone.

All in all, for the price we paid and the location and view, it was a good hotel. I would certainly stay there again as the location was exceptional, but I would probably ask for a modernised room, without losing the view.

Room Tip: Views from rooms with a balcony are amazing. Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    251
    79
    35
    11
See reviews for
101
264
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilauea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Right next to the water in Lucerne you look over the river and bridge with the alpes in the background. Amazing view room was actually pretty big only thing was they didn't have any balcony rooms available. The room we were in wasnt in the original hotel and was an extension which made the walk from the elevator a little longer and construction was happening right next to us. Didn't stay in the room during the day so we weren't bothered by it. Breakfast was average, lots of breads and juices. Staff wasn't very helpful and ignored you most of the time but the view made up for there coldness.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Brilliant position, right on the lake with room overlooking the Kappelbrucke, very easy walking distance from train station and right in the town centre for restaurants on an evening.
All staff friendly and helpful. Room clean, comfortable and a decent size and as I said an amazing view. Only issue was even in February the room was very warm, fine for me as I could just open a window for 10 minutes and let some February air in but one to be aware of. Breakfast good quality and choice
I will be back to Lucerne as it is gorgeous and will very happily stay here again.
Also get 10% off in restaurant downstairs which is also very good, with excellent service.

Room Tip: Need to overlook the Lake if you can, I got it without asking but not sure if they all do
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really enjoyed are stay here. Location is great, walking distance from the train station and from where the ferry takes you to Mt Pilatus. Rooms are nice and cozy and the restaurant downstairs is pretty good.
The staff were very friendly. As others have mentioned the lift is a little small. But thats not a big issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location of the hotel was very convenient, we were easily able to reach all the places we wanted (we were exploring the city on foot). There were also quite nice and cozy restaurants close by to the hotel. The best part was the view we had from our room's balcony. Kapellbrücke (Chapel Bridge) was right in front of us, along with the magnificent view of the Alps! Also, the staff were polite and helpful. Had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear bgoknil

Thank you very much for your kind review. You are right, the view from our rooms with balcony facing the lake/river is unique. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay.

The team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautiful old hotel, perfect view of the Chapel Bridge. We got a very large room that had a balcony and it was amazing! The hotel is old and feels a bit dated but it feels very authentic. The location was walking distance from the train station, an awesome brewery and great places to eat and walk around in the old town. We would definitely stay here again if you don't mind the rooms being a bit sleepy. The restaurant and front desk staff were very helpful, great time overall.

Room Tip: get a balcony room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear beachlove

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view over lucerne and the chapel bridge. Wishing you all the best for the future!

Your team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very conviently located. Breakfast was free and very good. The rooms are small and we didn't get a room with balcony. The staff is courteous and nothing like the reviews posted here.

The elevator is very dingy and can get claustrophobic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear nomadz_4ever

Thank you very much for your kind review, especially the comment about our kind staff. We are pleased to hear that. Greetings to SF!

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.