We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trinity Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very good hotel, close to station with great views over The Chapel Bridge and River Reuss, situated in the Old Town of Lucern. Room was very good, bathroom good. Breakfast was ok, would have been better if a variety of cooked eggs available, otherwise plenty of variety. Location for sightseeing couldn't be better.

Room Tip: ask for front room overlooking River Reuss
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Robert 253

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the superb location of the Hotel Des Alpes nearby the Chapelbridge.

Wishing you a saved trip!

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    250
    79
    35
    11
See reviews for
101
262
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the middle of Lucern Old Town tourist attraction (right by the river !). If you were taking a photo of Lucerne river and wooden bridge (from the train station side), Hotel Des Alpes is definitely in your photo ! A very nice, lovely view and very easy to get around for sightseeing - very suitable for travellers who do not spend a lot of time in Lucerne as it is merely 5 minute walk to train station. We came a bit prepared that this hotel is a 3-star hotel and might have some drawbacks on the room. It turned out that the room is very neat and clean. The bed is also very comfortable (especially when compared to other 3 or 4 star hotel in our trip). The staff are very helpful and also help us make the reservation for the restaurant. Breakfast is good. Considered the superb location, we'd recommend this hotel to anyone that come to Lucerne :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was an excellent experience. We opted for a room on the topmost floor facing the river and the chapel bridge. The views were breath-taking especially at dawn and dusk. Their complimentary breakfast is a nice spread and a perfect way to start the day. The staff is very warm and courteous and helpful in every way. :) Would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: For great views, opt for a room on the highest floor and river-facing although can get some bit of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here after landing in Zurich and it was a lovely beginning to our tour of Switzerland. The room was large by European standards, with a small balcony and view of the river, nice modern bathroom, comfortable beds, and an in-room coffee/tea service. We arrived on a busy Sunday and the staff was accomodating in storing our luggage and trying to get our room ready. The location is perfect for walking the town and bridge, or just relaxing in the hotel's sidewalk cafe. Breakfast was abundant and fresh. For convenience shops just walk over to the train station.

Room Tip: It is worth it to request (and pay) for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Three adults stayed in tripple room with river view. It is so beautiful view Kepel bridge right front on our noses through very small oprned balcony.
night view is fantastic. We could see mountain view over bridge and also lake view and city view as well. Our room had one window and one balcony.
breakfast was okay. Not great. However we enjoyed good taste, fresh bread every morning with some fruit, yogurts and hot boiled eggs. I hadn't try any hams and cheese though.
one thing I regret was the wood floor sound. They have very old carpet on floor for our room, it make noise every step.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to train station and the rooms facing the river have a great view of the Chapel Bridge. We had a covered patio and seating area, perfect place to start and end the day. The front desk staff was very friendly ad suggested several good places to eat. At checkout we left our credit card and one of the staff caught us on the bridge before we were leaving for the train station. What a relief she was able to track us down!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect city center location with fabulous views over the river and train station to the Alps. Arriving by car is challenging (pedestrian precinct, one-way alley) and parking is inconvenient.
Staff friendly in a reserved, Swiss manner. Comfortable room but no A/C: probably noisy with windows open, but we were on the fifth floor, well above the noise. In our case, expensive even for Switzerland, which generally tends to be expensive. Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: River and bridge views are essential; the higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bernard02

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review. We are happy that you enoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.