We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to train station and the rooms facing the river have a great view of the Chapel Bridge. We had a covered patio and seating area, perfect place to start and end the day. The front desk staff was very friendly ad suggested several good places to eat. At checkout we left our credit card and one of the staff caught us on the bridge before we were leaving for the train station. What a relief she was able to track us down!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    205
    66
    31
    11
See reviews for
84
217
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Perfect city center location with fabulous views over the river and train station to the Alps. Arriving by car is challenging (pedestrian precinct, one-way alley) and parking is inconvenient.
Staff friendly in a reserved, Swiss manner. Comfortable room but no A/C: probably noisy with windows open, but we were on the fifth floor, well above the noise. In our case, expensive even for Switzerland, which generally tends to be expensive. Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: River and bridge views are essential; the higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bernard02

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review. We are happy that you enoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Calif
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here only one night but the hotel was easy to find (just across the river from the train station) with nice views of the Kapelbruck (wooden bridge). Rooms are nicely furnished, cosy, simple. No air conditioning, but slept with the window open, despite a little noise from the diners below enjoying a meal on the lakeside. Ate in the restaurant for dinner, dessert and breakfast. Adequate choices. All in all, a good place to stay at for a short visit to Luzern.

Room Tip: Get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AbeLincoln

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes Lucerne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrival a bit confusing. Hotel front door located on walking area but you can ignore walking sign and drive up to drop off your bags. You will be directed to parking garage. Location of hotel is excellent. View from room over Chapel bridge is worth paying extra. What a pleasure to sleep with balcony door open.
Dinner overlooking the river was a treat. Delicious food and charming service. Thanks Hotel Des Alpes for contributing to a memorable stay in Luzern.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Keepongoing

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review.

We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We can't imagine a better hotel in a better location, on the river. Everything is a short walk to food, shopping and attractions. This is a cozy, relatively intimate hotel. The room is small, but very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the city, the river, the lake and the Alps! Very romantic!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Pcorman

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our romantic place.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is near the train station and river boats. Some rooms face the river and chapel bridge and have marvelous views. We enjoyed the included breakfasts. We also had lunch on their outside balcony and enjoyed the food very much. The staff was very helpful.

No a/c, but fan is provided and is adequate. There is some street noise.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Worryfree

Thank yo very much for your comments. We are very happy that you also enjoyed the fantastic view of the Balcony.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent one night in Lucerne at the Hotel des Alpes. They do not have parking so you have to park at the train station and haul your belongings to the hotel. Not too bad really, but sure wish there was a better loading / unloading plan.

We were on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the river and the Bridge. What a view! We sat there and shared some wine before looking for our dinner. You can see so many things from here and it just seems like you are still engaged - even from the top floor!

The restaurant had a decent breakfast including soft cooked eggs with no hard cooked option. On Saturdays there is a market along the river that ends at 1pm so get up early enough to experience that!

There are lots of restaurants and bars along the river - on both sides. It can be confusing about how to be seated so don't be shy to ask or you might miss your best table!

Lucerne is a beautiful city with wonderful history. It deserves a great room at a great hotel.

Granted, there is no air conditioning. But they do provide a fan and by strategically placing the fan in front of the open balcony door, you get a great conditioning. The only problem at night is that people are wild so they can be loud. We were not bothered.

Oh. If you need a hair dryer, ask how to use it before heading to your room because they have a 3 point system for making sure you don't electrocute yourself. Oh brother!!! I never did figure it out!!!

Room Tip: River Balcony. Higher the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.