We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel grows on you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Charming hotel grows on you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrival a bit confusing. Hotel front door located on walking area but you can ignore walking sign and drive up to drop off your bags. You will be directed to parking garage. Location of hotel is excellent. View from room over Chapel bridge is worth paying extra. What a pleasure to sleep with balcony door open.
Dinner overlooking the river was a treat. Delicious food and charming service. Thanks Hotel Des Alpes for contributing to a memorable stay in Luzern.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Keepongoing

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review.

We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    224
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
92
240
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We can't imagine a better hotel in a better location, on the river. Everything is a short walk to food, shopping and attractions. This is a cozy, relatively intimate hotel. The room is small, but very comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the city, the river, the lake and the Alps! Very romantic!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Pcorman

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our romantic place.

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is near the train station and river boats. Some rooms face the river and chapel bridge and have marvelous views. We enjoyed the included breakfasts. We also had lunch on their outside balcony and enjoyed the food very much. The staff was very helpful.

No a/c, but fan is provided and is adequate. There is some street noise.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Worryfree

Thank yo very much for your comments. We are very happy that you also enjoyed the fantastic view of the Balcony.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent one night in Lucerne at the Hotel des Alpes. They do not have parking so you have to park at the train station and haul your belongings to the hotel. Not too bad really, but sure wish there was a better loading / unloading plan.

We were on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the river and the Bridge. What a view! We sat there and shared some wine before looking for our dinner. You can see so many things from here and it just seems like you are still engaged - even from the top floor!

The restaurant had a decent breakfast including soft cooked eggs with no hard cooked option. On Saturdays there is a market along the river that ends at 1pm so get up early enough to experience that!

There are lots of restaurants and bars along the river - on both sides. It can be confusing about how to be seated so don't be shy to ask or you might miss your best table!

Lucerne is a beautiful city with wonderful history. It deserves a great room at a great hotel.

Granted, there is no air conditioning. But they do provide a fan and by strategically placing the fan in front of the open balcony door, you get a great conditioning. The only problem at night is that people are wild so they can be loud. We were not bothered.

Oh. If you need a hair dryer, ask how to use it before heading to your room because they have a 3 point system for making sure you don't electrocute yourself. Oh brother!!! I never did figure it out!!!

Room Tip: River Balcony. Higher the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the lowest category double room, "city view", since we knew we would not be spending much time in our room. The room was small but so are most European rooms. There was a small desk fan which was a lifesaver due to hot days during our stay and we used it to get air into the room from our rooftop patio. The breakfast buffet was standard .. cereals, breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, juices, coffee. You can eat breakfast outside along the river except on market days when stalls occupy that area. We ate dinner on the restaurant balcony one night which looks over the river. This is a must-do but you should reserve a table as soon as you check in since there are only six balcony tables. This was a wonderful meal and the table was sheltered from the rainstorm partway through. Another night we ate at the cafeteria at Manora department store ... good food at very reasonable prices. We love Lucerne and this was our third stay.

Room Tip: Rooms #459 and #460, double - city view category, each have a patio about 7x10 feet with a basic tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent three nights here in July. We got a front(river) facing room which is a must to request. We did not have a balcony, although some rooms did and I would ask for that if I was to go back there. The view from the room was spectacular. There was no air conditioning(the did have a small fan which we used at night) so we slept with the windows open. This could be a problem if the weather is really warm. The location is perfect with easy access to everything including the train station. The room was average and the bathroom had been updated. The hallways were a bit dark and drab and could use some updating. The breakfast buffet in the basement was typical. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful!
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PJKC

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Your Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed four nights this July in Lucerne at this lovely little hotel. We had an upper floor room with a small balcony overlooking the Chapel Bridge and river. Our sons were in a standard room on the same floor, and they were thrilled with the rooftop patio. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and we enjoyed the included breakfast buffet with seating outside by the river. The charming man who waited the tables each morning was a friendly start to our day. We also enjoyed one dinner in the restaurant, which was nice and made more enjoyable by the friendly service by our waitress.
We would definitely return to this hotel. The location is central to everything, and the view over the river is amazing. This was our first trip to Switzerland, and we were charmed by the helpful and friendly people we met in Lucerne. We'll certainly plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_12719, Manager at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Joiedevivre

Thank you so so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you here.

The Team of the Hotel Des Alpes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Furrengasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel
Des Alpes Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.