We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Grand disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here recently and was so disappointed. It's a grand old beautiful nostalgic hotel whose decor looks like its out of the 30's. the staff was very friendly and accommodating to the extent of their seemingly limited ability. The rooms are old and hot. The beds were hard and the sheets had about a 30 thread count. The breakfast was awful The outside is beautiful with flowers everywhere.. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    42
    27
    15
See reviews for
52
90
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have read the Reviews on here and on booking wasn't sure if i had made a mistake due to the Content. But we were pleasantly surprised as we could Not Complain at all about the Hotel. I Asked for a lake view and that is Exactly what we got and we got an added Bonus of a Balcony. The room was clean and Big; it was a Little Basic but the view made up for that. The Bar was excellent and the staff very Friendly. The breakfast was Not the best but we did manage to find Something we Liked. A Nice Touch was the waitress Service for Drink. A Good Hotel in a Good Location. We Would consider Staying there again.

All in all very Good with nothing to Complain About.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the last week of July. The hotel is beautiful, no doubt about that, but it leaves a lot to be desired. I booked the hotel about 6 months ahead of time and splurged for a room with a balcony and lake view. I did get that, but the view was very interrupted with telephone lines. It was also on the lower floor, which inhabited the view and made the room very noisy. There was no A/C in the room, which we expected, but opening the windows and outside doors didn't help. And again the noise from the street was very loud. We had to pay for wi-fi and only one phone could be using it at a time.
The staff was very accommodating with helping us book a trip to Mount Pilatus....you must do this, and answering questions.
When you arrive you definitely need to take the bus. It's a long walk to the hotel!
The hotel was very clean and met our basic needs.
I would not stay here again, though. There has to be better options for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed one night at his hotel in Luzern on the end of july.
The hotel consists of a nice well run building on the main road of the town.
It is located just in front of the lake promenade and provides the clients with a nice free parking which is a real plus for all visitors who travel by car.
Although the hotel works mainly with organized tours and groups, it offers good services to the individual clientele as well.
A separate breakfast room is available and the buffet breakfast is excellent.Some rooms have no minibar, but asking the reception desk, you will be served with all the refreshments you need.
Wi fi is available free of charge .
In few minute walking you may reach the city center, in the meantime you may enjoy from the rooms balcony the gorgeous view of Lucerne lakeside.

Rates are set a reasonable level (you are in one of the most expensive cities in Switzerland) and in any case the hotel provides an excellent value for money : probably the best one in the area.

Room Tip: Upon the booking or upon the arrival ask for rooms facing the lake ( they are normally reserved for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've never been to other hotel in Lucerne to compare, while its not a hell, I believe there are better hotels around the same price.
You can really tell its not a new hotel, or not newly renovated. Every rooms are different, ours wasn't really good. B'fast was nothing special, even a little below expectation.
Location not so bad, in front of the lake, and about 15 mins walk to the city center.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on an anniversary trip to Switzerland. I was a little worried because of the mixed reviews. It's all about the room you get though and ours had to be the best in the hotel (308 I think). We had a huge balcony room overlooking Lake Lucerne with a Parisian balcony with bistro tables and chairs, another large window with french doors, and side windows in bedroom/sitting area and bathroom. There was a writing desk, several upolstered chairs, and settee by the bed. The bathroom was also huge for an old European hotel complete with chandelier. We had none of the problems that I've read about Swiss hotels - in fact we had 3 washcloths, several types of soap, shampoo, and other toiletries. The hairdryer was ancient, maybe from the 1960's, so bring you own if you've got one that works with European outlets. There is a small 110 Volt outlet in the bathroom for shavers. We used it to charge an iPad.

The hotel is across the street from the Lake, but there is a crosswalk right in front of hotel and cars actually stop when they see you waiting to cross. It is a nice 10-15 min walk to old town Lucerne, and was a pleasant stroll for dinner and back. It would get pretty long if you were here for several days and went into town for lunch and then again for dinner. There's a bus stop in front of the hotel so that may be an option too.

Front desk staff was very friendly. I went to get a fan for our room and the nice man at the front desk wouldn't dream of letting me carry it upstairs myself.

The cons: this is a tour group hotel. I lost count of how many tour buses came and went in the 24 hours we were there. I've got some tips to avoid large groups: check in the hotel in early afternoon before the tour buses arrive. Groups have to check out by 9:00AM and have a set breakfast time, so plan on eating breakfast later, around 9:30 AM and you'll have the dining room to yourself. sit on the porch bar or in the gardens while the tours are at dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the lake, even though they don't have air conditioning. We peeked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We only had one night to stay in Lucerne in mid-April and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the lake and its price. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake (as we had requested when we booked) and found it to be a good size room and very clean. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. While this hotel was OK for one night, if we returned to Lucerne in the future we would pay extra to stay closer to the Old Town where all the action is.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.