We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Parkinson, QLD.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a disappointment this hotel was. This is one of the many that we stayed at wilst on a Trafalgar Tour. Small room with no air conditioning and the we had a fan that if you left it on you had trouble either hearing your partner or getting off to sleep. We had a set meal for dinner which to praise it, one would say it was average at best and the service was the same. Breakfast the following morning was jus as bad.
Perhaps we were there at a bad time as we were just one of a large number of tour buses, however everything was not up to scratch and needed to be mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    95
    46
    28
    15
See reviews for
59
95
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secunda, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a last minute change of plans, and booked at this hotel the night before our arrival. I see some of the reviews are not too great, but we really couldn't complain. We got a lovely lakeside room, with a beautiful view and a bath. We travelled with our 3 year old daughter and she had a very decent bed made up and we still had tons of space in the room. The hotel was really only a stopover for us, so I cannot comment on a long stay, but we were really pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was a HUGE spread with a beautiful view of the lake and check-out was only at 12pm. As we had a flight out of Zurich at 10pm, this was really convenient for us. A big negative for us personally was just the lack of coffee and tea in the room. A kettle and the necessities to make coffee is really not too much to ask. And if you want to order tea it's CHF5!!! We thought that was a bit extreme. But other than that, we won't hesitate to return. (Ask for a room higher up, we were on the first floor and the traffic can become quite noisy underneath your window. However, the doors to the patio are soundproof, so once you go to sleep at night, you don't hear the traffic).

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall, I had a great stay at this historic hotel in Lucerne. This was not my first visit to the hotel, and I was glad to be back. I had a newly remodeled room, flatscreen TV, and separate toilet and shower rooms. The mattresses seemed new, also, and the sleep was fine. The hotel has a great view of the lake, especially if you sit out front. Bar service was excellent and the prices were good, too.The hotel is old, but in great condition. Breakfast was great every morning, and there were many options to choose from. Patrick at the front desk was extremely helpful throughout the stay, providing great directions and wonderful restaurant suggestions. He made my stay much easier. While this isn't the newest hotel on the block, it does offer a lot of charm and character, and I look forward to returning next time I'm in Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was only here one night, but my stay was awesome. Clean rooms, helpful and informative staff, great food. The view of the river right across the street is beautiful and the hotel is in walking distance of the shops and restaurants. The elevators worked and were bigger than most I saw on my entire trip. Book your room! I'm glad I did!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel May 2013 and what a disappointment.
The Lobby is very Grand, but that was all.
There was a separate room for the shower and toilet, the toilet was in an oversized room, and the shower in a small room with no hanging hooks and limit bench space. But worse both rooms the lights were on sensors, every time I was on the toilet the light kept going out!!!
No Free WiFi in the room, so if you wanted to use this you had to pay a fee or go to the lobby to use one of the two free internet computers.

The breakfast was very disappointing and with limited choice. The service in the breakfast room was zero.

Should you want to walk to the main part of town, it takes about 20 minutes at least it is a nice walk weather permitting as you follow the lake. This is a walk you need to do or take a bus or taxi as there are no food outlets, restaurants, or shops nearby.

Room Tip: If staying here at least ask to have a room with a lake view, otherwise like me you will only have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and the inside lobby area - however the rooms are just average (on the small side with few amenities). This is a major tour group hotel (several busloads). The staff is not friendly and seem to be irritated to have to deal with guests and answer questions even though they have an "information desk." I had internal facing room, so no view. Breakfast was edible but by no means good. Two public use computers for guests for free internet use, which is nice. CHF 5 for 24 hours of WiFi use. Nice that it's just a block over from the lake and walkway, which makes a pleasant walk to town (~15 min - 20 min); this also makes it convenient to take some great pictures of the Swiss Alps.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

To start the stay we had to drag luggage up stairs to get to the lobby. Staying at the hotel as a group booking and bought Internet for 5 chf.

The speed was incrediblily slow to the point of being unusable. Went back to the reception for a refund, but was told there is nothing she could do. At least reset the damm router or something. Terrible service.

Rooms are also old with small toilets as usual in Switzerland and no air conditioning so it's really warm in the summer when we were staying. Can't wait to get out of Switzerland and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.