We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodations, Budget Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Villa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Villa Maria to your Saves list
Pension Villa Maria
Haldenstrasse 36, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic Accomodations, Budget Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

Stayed for two nights at the end of August in room #10. Located next to shower and bathroom, so it was a little noisy when people would use them at night. The rooms are plain, but I'm not in Luzern to stay in my room. Maria was hospitable and the buffet breakfast was great to fuel up for a day of sightseeing. For the price (140 CHF/night), can't be beat.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — No private shower/bath in some rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

We couldn't reserve a room on the website - had to do this by phone. A little unnerving when you like to have a paper confirmation. When we arrived, Maria had our booking, but no private bathroom. As we had no way to prove we had booked one, we had to share facilities. Not a problem in Switzerland because bathrooms are so clean and Maria's is a small establishment, so we weren't exactly sharing with hoardes of people. But wouldn't have been our first choice. Unfortunately, the annual music festival takes place in August - right next to the hotel. So we were kept awake one night by extremely loud music until midnight. The room was extremely basic; but it was clean and adequate. I thought it quite expensive at CHF 59 pp per day for what we got, but Lucerne is an expensive, touristy city (I found the quality of accommodation differs across Switzerland) and we couldn't find anything cheaper. Any problems with the room/bathroom were, however, mitigated by Maria's wonderful service and big heart. She runs the place almost single-handedly. Warm breakfast rolls, muesli and delicious hot chocolate sweeten the deal. She even made something special for my husband when she found out it was his birthday. The hotel is quite a walk from the station - about 20 mins along the lake - but there are buses (#6?). Recommend a trip to the Stadtskeller for a special occasion - a true Swiss experience; as well as the boat trip to Fluelen (be advised - nothing to do there, but come straight back - know the train schedules so that you can get home); and our day on Mt. Pilatus was amazing. Maria was most helpful when it came to planning all our trips and ultimately, her personality is what makes people enjoy their stay.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

Initially, we booked a room with en-suite bathroom. Upon arriving, Maria offered the choice of another nicer and bigger room with a small balcony w/o shower. I was quite uncomfortable with that at first but took it anyway as we loved the room and there is a sink anyway. As it turned out, everything worked out very well with the common shower. Spick and span.

Location was great and accessible. The stroll along Lake Lucerne (which is just behind the B&B) was very relaxing and it is a wonderful place for people-watching.

Breakfast, even though not a feast, had a fair selection of cold cuts, cheese, bread and spreads.

It would have been an icing on the cake if she had remembered to give us the discount she promised earlier...oh..well, we forgot about it as well. ;)

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

This was such a special B & B. Great location with beautiful 1 mile walk by the lake into town or close to bus stop. Lots of hot water and a deep tub to relax at the end of a busy day. Maria was sooo helpful in every way...maps, tix, discounts, etc. We would stay there again for sure. Great value, clean and unassuming ambience

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

Luzern is an expensive town. A dinner at a bar with a few drinks will cost you $100! That's at a bar! Staying in a hotel will also cost you a good deal of money. While Maria's place has been described as 'sparse,' it is definitely not a bad deal if you are looking for a nice quiet place to sleep and have breakfast. Whatever you are lacking is made up in hospitality. Since there weren't many people around in the first of May, Maria gave us a bigger room with two beds, a double and a single. The room had a shower and sink, but the WC was next door. This was not really a problem, as it was kept super clean, as is every WC I've ever experienced in Switzerland and Germany. So, think of it as a family place, think of Maria as your Luzern mom or grandmother, get yourself a $10 travel alarm clock, and enjoy the town.

To get to Villa Maria, take the Bus #6, #24, or #8, from the Bahnhof to the Dietschiberg stop. This will cost you CHF 2,00. It is fairly easy to take luggage on the bus, as they are quite large and have a lot of open space. It is about a half a block walk from the stop to the house. A taxi from the Bahnhof will cost you CHF 20,00.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

Me and wife went to Maria's for 3 nights after I read the rave reviews on tripadvisor. We had great expectations about her. And guess what, it was all true. When you travel away from home you always long for friendly gestures, and we got them all , right from the start. The rate was a little high for a B&B , but I guess you got to spend when you're going to one of most popular. We arrived early, but were shown to our room earlier than the check-in time. The room was spic and span. We were on the 2nd floor , corner room with private facilities. Room no 5. It was large enough. The only concern was we had luggage and there was no lift. But, its manageable. There was cold breakfast. I guess thats normal there.muesly and stuff. She was very nice, almost like a family member, always smiling. Whats great about her is that she is a very hard working woman and doesn't show. The location is nice. right by the lake. a short walk to the lido, IMAX, rail museum. The directions from station is perfect, bus 6 or 8 to dichiburg(thats how its pronounced,excuse my german). We walked down to the ferry and it took us about 15 mins. We had bought swiss rail pass, and had free rides on almost everything and half price on the funiculars, cable cars etc. Its a good deal , provided you plan to do a lot of sight seeing. Lucerne is beautiful town. We went to an indian restaurant , as being away from home for almost 2 weeks already , i was missing my food. The Indian Palace is decent , and right near the macdonalds in the area on the left of the Station. We once went to a chinese buffet to a restaurant called tou-tou at the gnd floor of hotel falcon. Stay away as they are a con. This is first buffet in my life, where I was told that for every extra helping that I take I will have to pay extra. From the moment we walked in , she was making us hurry. If it were late ,she could have refused custom. Even if you take sauce, you pay extra. I asked them if this is a special rule of that restaurant , they said its normal. Absurd. They changed the definition of buffet. Lucerne is very central to all sights, and if you stay at marias you are most likely to have the best holiday. It has already become one of my favorites and I will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

We stayed at the Villa Maria for 6 days last April (planned for just two, but couldn't bear to leave). Arrived at 10 in the morning, and Maria, serving breakfast, still greeted us, brought coffee and tea, and answered various questions as we waited for our room to be readied, which it was in minutes. Had a room in the back, with bath. Recommended. Excellent breakfast, easy connections via bus to town (although only 10-15 minute walk along the lake), clean, quiet. Best asset of all, though is Maria, who was like a warm sister to us.
Great value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Villa Maria

Address: Haldenstrasse 36, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Villa Maria Hotel Lucerne
Maria Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Villa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.