We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Tourist Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Karliquai 12, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Dover
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A little taken aback by finding the hotel shared premises with a hotel school but found extremely friendly and helpful receptionist and large, clean airy room with private balcony overlooking river. Substantial breakfast replenished regularly. As evening fell we realised that our balcony and windows are next to a local road but there were shutters on windows to give privacy at night and nets for privacy during the day. Only downside to balcony and nearby trees was a small invasion by ants in bathroom but they stayed near window and pushed off when light went out. Good wifi access. Offer of tea and coffee in lounge up to 2300 but it was instant coffee out of breakfast hours so didn't use it. Comfortable beds and great location - near city centre, by river but in quiet area. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    118
    71
    19
    15
See reviews for
84
100
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently in May 2014. Price was cheap compared to other places yet not too far away. The hotel is very close to the old town of Lucerne and about 15 minutes walk from the lion monument and the train station.

The room we (me & my girlfriend) booked had a double bunked bed and the bathroom wasn't ensuite. In terms of furniture, it was a bare minimum but still cosy and clean. The bathroom was well kept and just next to our room which added to our convenience. I believe the other rooms have ensuite bathrooms.

The hotel is situated just next to the river and pretty easy to find. For travellers coming from the train station, it may appear difficult due to the fact that the hotel is 15 minutes walk away and you'll be crossing from the new side of Lucerne to the old town but a good landmark is the church bridge.

Overall a decent hotel for budget travellers. Do note that accommodation is expensive in Switzerland and for its price, I think it's an ok deal.

Definitely recommend for budget travellers.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ensuite bathrooms although more expensive should be your 1st choice in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here with my 3 kids in May. It's right on the river. You can walk from train station if you don't have too much luggage. We took a room on the 1st (2nd) floor on the back side. It was clean and quiet. Not a lot of extra room but it suited our needs. There is a Coop near by for shopping. The dining/ cafeteria is on the ground floor facing the river. The offerings were adequate and standard. We found the staff friendly and helpful when asked. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We found the Tourist Hotel to be good value (for Lucerne), very clean and in a good location. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable with a large shower and comfortable beds. Our room faced the rear of the hotel so we did not have a view of the river but it was very quiet and pleasant. The Hotel is located in the old town and walking distance to good shopping, restaurants, and sights. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome everytime we passed through the reception area (it is amazing how this helps to make your stay enjoyable). The tea, coffee and cake available complimentary in the downstairs communal room was also lovely. Overall the Tourist Hotel was clean, comfortable, convenient and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was great. The staff was beyond helpful. Fulfilling our wish of a balcony view, helping us with buying tickets, and suggesting places to eat. They had an onsite washer and dryer where we washed some clothes and had personal help. Accidentally, we left some t shirts in the dryer, and the night time front desk lady had them waiting for us, folded and everything. The room itself was small, but clean with nice decor. We enjoyed our balcony on the 2nd floor both nights, with a view of the river and mountains. Breakfast was good, and always busy with other guests. The coffee and water was great to come back to even in the late afternoon. Sometimes it's the little things that count and this hotel did not disappoint. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! They even sent us off on our way with a bottle of water at checkout!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view! It's small but worth it to wake up to in the morning and enjoy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

VERY small room with very small shower; linens were OK. Hallways in hotel were a little stuffy/musty smelling. Breakfast was good and was a great way to start the day; much appreciated. We were able to use one of the parking spaces in front of the hotel - YEAH! Considering the average room price in Luzerne, and the "walkable" location, I guess it was a value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Good check in. Room 203 with afternoon Sun, balcony over the river exceptional
Breakfast reasonable, coffee and tea all day was a bonus!
Parking a nightmare! Booked space but, was full so had to park infant of two cars hemming them in. Very narrow road and big car not good! 10.50PM knock on our door to move car so guests could leave 7.30am, we were in bed! Had a drink but struggled to repack! Not happy!!!! Bikes pushing past!

Room Tip: Careful with parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Address: St. Karliquai 12, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.