We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Tourist Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Karliquai 12, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We found the Tourist Hotel to be good value (for Lucerne), very clean and in a good location. The staff were excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable with a large shower and comfortable beds. Our room faced the rear of the hotel so we did not have a view of the river but it was very quiet and pleasant. The Hotel is located in the old town and walking distance to good shopping, restaurants, and sights. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome everytime we passed through the reception area (it is amazing how this helps to make your stay enjoyable). The tea, coffee and cake available complimentary in the downstairs communal room was also lovely. Overall the Tourist Hotel was clean, comfortable, convenient and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    118
    71
    19
    15
See reviews for
84
100
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was great. The staff was beyond helpful. Fulfilling our wish of a balcony view, helping us with buying tickets, and suggesting places to eat. They had an onsite washer and dryer where we washed some clothes and had personal help. Accidentally, we left some t shirts in the dryer, and the night time front desk lady had them waiting for us, folded and everything. The room itself was small, but clean with nice decor. We enjoyed our balcony on the 2nd floor both nights, with a view of the river and mountains. Breakfast was good, and always busy with other guests. The coffee and water was great to come back to even in the late afternoon. Sometimes it's the little things that count and this hotel did not disappoint. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! They even sent us off on our way with a bottle of water at checkout!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view! It's small but worth it to wake up to in the morning and enjoy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

VERY small room with very small shower; linens were OK. Hallways in hotel were a little stuffy/musty smelling. Breakfast was good and was a great way to start the day; much appreciated. We were able to use one of the parking spaces in front of the hotel - YEAH! Considering the average room price in Luzerne, and the "walkable" location, I guess it was a value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Good check in. Room 203 with afternoon Sun, balcony over the river exceptional
Breakfast reasonable, coffee and tea all day was a bonus!
Parking a nightmare! Booked space but, was full so had to park infant of two cars hemming them in. Very narrow road and big car not good! 10.50PM knock on our door to move car so guests could leave 7.30am, we were in bed! Had a drink but struggled to repack! Not happy!!!! Bikes pushing past!

Room Tip: Careful with parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Service is great, not too far from the center, and affordable. I would definitely stay here again because it's the best deal you can find in Luzern. Christian von Allmen, the receptionist, helped us with anything and everything such as places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

As the outside part doesn't looks really modern, we didn't knew what to expect, even we saw photos of the room and they were great. But after going through the automatic door you get into the reception with one of the most wonderful staff I found out on an hotel, they did help a lot, tried to save money for the customers on trips and so on (which is helpful as transport and rides on Swiss are pretty expensive), even we spoke a bit about football ;)

Each morning and during the whole day you had free coffee and water, and offers great buffet at each morning. The rooms are locked with keys not cards or fancy stuff, and overall breaths familiar environment.

Rooms were amazing, ours was the 3 beds and it was quite big! had a nice flat HD tv, new furniture and a quite big bathroom (with shower), and the best of it, a huge balcony with views directly to one of the old bridges. Wonderful, and you can spot the Pilatus (if weather allows too) while you're getting a shower. What a great way to start a day!

I would recommend 100% this hotel to anyone, it's price is really a deal within the rest of the hotels were you may feel more as an executive than a family enjoying their time.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet enough, but if you book the 3 ones, you will get access to the balcony ;) worths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location was very convenient, quiet at night and staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. I would say that the staff made us feel as welcome guests. The staff focused on details that made feel like a guest and not just another customer. We were offered pastry and tea in the late afternoon and the breakfast was very satisfying and the morning coffee was ready when you desired a cup.
We were discussing plans to go to the lake and the staff offered valuable suggestions for taking a boat excursion. Later, we were discussing a trip to Pilatus and the staff offered suggestions on transportation that made the trip fulfilling.
The rooms were sufficiently large, comfortable and kept up well. Housekeeping was superb.
We will definitely stay here on our next trip from New Mexico USA to Lucerne. Thanks to the staff for answering questions sent by email prior to our trip to Lucerne and during our stay. WARMEST REGARDS.

Room Tip: I don't think that you will have any wrong choices. The staff will put you in a room to your lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Address: St. Karliquai 12, Lucerne CH-6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.