We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location , ***star property but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zurichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Jaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location , ***star property but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we are an indain family and stayed at this hotel in september 2 nd week. the USP of this hotel is its location is just 5 mts to the lucerne railway station by bus which stops just in front of the hotel. it is situated in the busy shopping area of lucerne and all the supermarkets , shopping areas are located within 100mts. Even an Indian restaurant is located just opposite the street.
However all these advantages come at a price which i think is overpriced for thius category of hotel. The rooms are clean, average sized , bathroom is good. the breakfast is very ordinary and nothing to write home about, however they have acomplimentary 24 hrs cofee, tea service and free wifi.overall a good place to stay if u want centrally located hotel with everything nearby.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the street and bargain if u can regarding the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you have had a good time in Lucerne and our Hotel. We are sorry about the generally high prices in Switzerland and Lucerne. The cost of living is much higher than in other countries. Hopefully we have a chance to welcome you on another visit in our City.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
32
43
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

a very clean hotel in a prime location , no views but very good for shopping and eatries all within walking distance , Free wifi , and breakfast however the price was very steep for the type of property .

Room Tip: take a room facing the front of teh hotel they have nice windows that open up for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Grüezi from Lucerne

Thank you for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you on an other occasion despite our generally high prices in Switzerland.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder & Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in early September. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet is very good. There is a good selection of meats, cheeses, and cereals. The building from the outside looks like an office building so I wasn't sure what to expect but the rooms are quiet nice. My oly complaint is that rooms were hot even though it was cool outside and the beds only had big blankets. Having a sheet in addition to the blanket would have been nice.
Some advice for travelers is be careful about parking in public garages as it can be very expensive. We thought the price was 18 Swiss francs for 24 hours, and ended up paying 95 francs for 36 hours. Either the sign was wrong or we misread it. Either way, parking is not cheap and there is no street parking in Lucerne at all. All street meters have to be fed 24 hours a day. Switzerland is really expensive no matter what you do so staying at this hotel lowered the trip expense. Other hotels were much more and I doubt they would have been much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Grüezi
thank you for taking the time and for your nice review. We are pleased to hear that you liked our Hotel and the breakfast. Concerning the parking we have now a new contract with a fixed rate of CHF 25.-- per Day so the maximum for your 3 days would have been 75 instead of 95. We have also changed a few things in our ambassador and would be pleased to show you around.

with best regards

Ferdinand Zehnder an the ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I love this lovely hotel! I revisited it a couple of months ago and had a joyous time.The room I had,504,is spacious with ensuite bathroom,safe,mini-bar and plenty of storage space for clothing.It is 5/8 minutes walk to the train if you prefer to take a bus they stop outside the hotel every few minutes! The breakfast is copious and the coffee machine is excellent.It couldnt be more central,the fabulous Lake of Lucerne is minutes away by foot.I compliment the owner on continuing to maintain very high standards.
I will be returning in late August with my son and two grandchildren for another fabulous break.
Stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get room 504 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello Barrie
Thank you for your good comment. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the Ambassador and are looking forward to welcoming you soon here again. With best Regard Ferdinand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in the Ambassador hotel during my trip to Switzerland and it is real value for money. From the Lucerne train terminal, take the escalator to the basement, so that there is no need to cross road and go to bus terminus. From the extreme left side take the bus number 1 to the hote. get down at the stop Lion monument. From the stop, the hotel is just opposite. Good point about this hotel is its proximity to the Indian restaurant kanchi which is bang opposite to the hote Ambassador. Hotel service is good, staff is friendly and gives quick tips on how about to go around the city. Breakfast is as good and the room comfort is cozy. If a person is old types, one can listen to the radios in the room. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Grüezi
Thank you for your good comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and especially in out Hotel Ambassador. Hopefully we can welcome you another time here in Switzerland. With best Regards Ferdinand A. Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in the first week of July 2012, and the experience was definitely among the better ones in a 2 week trip in that part of the world. Although a little difficult to find to begin with, the hotel is very well located, about a 1 km walk from the Lucerne railway station (Hauptbahnhof). The walk itself is largely along the scenic Lake Lucerne, and therefore very enjoyable. For those not inclined to walk too much, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel, from where one can get a bus to the station every 3-4 minutes. To access the hotel, use the entrance next to a Starbucks on the ground floor, and use the elevator to go upto the reception on the 1st floor. The famous Lion Monument of Lucerne is a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel.

As we were a family of 3 (2 adults & a 6 year old), the hotel allotted us a corner room (301), which was among the largest in the premises. The room was rather quaint, and the furniture, while appearing old, was not uncomfortable in any manner. The hotel also offers free Wifi for guests.

Breakfast (included in the room rate) was adequate without being elaborate. The pantry also has a coffee machine that one can use at any time of the day. In terms of eating options, there are several restaurants in the vicinity, although some of these (such as the Indian restaurant across the hotel) aren't exactly cheap.

The staff were also quite warm & friendly.

All in all, an extremely pleasant stay, and the only reason I do not give this place 5 stars is the price, which was on the higher side.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room (301, 401 etc.), since these seem to be bigger than the rest of the rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Grüezi Arun
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you had a lovely experience in our Hotel. We are also spoiled that you would give us 5 Stars (sorry for the generally high rates in Switzerland). Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in our City of Lucerne. With best Regards Ferdinand A. Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Plus points:
1. Nice Location, 5 mins walk from the Lion Monument
2. A bus stop right in front of the hotel. 2 bus stop away from the terminal and the lake Lucerne
3. Surrounded by shops and restaurants
4. Staff is very friendly and helpful
5. Complimentary ice tea drink and all you can drink coffee machine the comes with different kind of chocolate drinks and tea bags
6. The price inclusive of a very nice breakfast

Minus points:
1. The elevator is slow
2. The staff is not there 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Grüezi
Thank you for your review and the points your mentioning. We are pleased you liked our hotel. Hope to see you here again.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zurichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.