We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fumbling in the dark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lucerne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Lucerne to your Saves list
The Hotel Lucerne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fumbling in the dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice enough hotel with very friendly staff and excellent restaurant (Bam Bou). Unfortunately, the rooms are extremely poorly lit which makes it nearly impossible to do any sort of reading - or even to work at all - while in the room. Seems a bit odd for a hotel that primarily targets business travelers. Same for breakfast which offers a very limited selection and no buffet. And the mattresses are a bit hard for my taste.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear feelreel

thank you for your feddback and that you took time to share your impressions. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our friendly service and the restaurant BAM BOU.

We really apologize, that the could not meet your expectations wiht the breakfast and the room.

Nevertheless we really hope that you have enjoyed your trip in Switzerland and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Michael Platzek
Asst. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    52
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
148
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, exhausting the swiss standards for hostellery
Very well located, few meters from KkL (exhibition center), train station, shopping
All rooms are an invite to former blockbusters : ask for Dangerous Liaisons for example and find yourself in front of Malkowitch. Then enjoy the scenary over Luzern!

Famous restaurant downstair, Bam Bou, where the renewed team has put back on the list the excellent Dancing Beef.
Amazing Wine list.

Belongs to my favorite hotels in switzerland.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear MY_visitor

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we really appreciate your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to belong to your favourite hotels in switzerland. We would be more than happy to welcome you back at THE HOTEL.

Kind Regards

Michael Platzek
Asst. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at "The Hotel" in Lucerne. Close to the city center it is the perfect hotel in the town's upper segment. We enjoyed a seven course meal (I wanna call it Asian fusion) during the evening. Later on we attended the party at the hotel. The hotel is clean and in an inviting and sophisticated way modern. We met very friendly stuff with surprisingly broad knowledge about Lucerne. After all it was a good choice, but we would never have gone there, if we weren't offered a good deal for the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only orange room - 4th floor and a good choice for one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr Raphael B

We really appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are glad, that you enjoyed THE HOTEL experience.

We are very pleased to read that you had your culinary highlight in our BAM BOU Restaurant during your trip.

It would be great to welcome you again soon at THE HOTEL.

Best regards

Michael Platzek
Asst. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Jean Nouvel's creation in Lucerne. Perfect service, lots of small attentions and details, all is made to make your stay a true experience. I can only recommend for a stay in this beautiful city. While laying on the bed, don't forget to look up at the ceiling!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Kundelitsch

Thank you for you nice feedback and that you took the time to share your impressions. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our THE HOTEL Service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Claudia Stalder
Rooms Division Manager I Assistant to the Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I Went to Europe and UK trip in September 2012. Me and my wife stayed at “The Hotel”. This hotel is one of the best hotel we stayed during our trip. It is just walking distance from the Rail Station though is little expensive. The Hotel has well appointed designer rooms. I will recommend this hotel incase you plan to travel to Lucerne. All the Best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

We are very pleased about your ratings and thank you for sharing your opinion with our futur guests (hopefully). All the best and we would love to have you back soon in switzerland and Lucerne.
Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had to do a last minute booking in Lucerne, and found this hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have already been traveling for 10 days and was quite tired when I arrived there around 14h00 on the 5th of October.

Upon entering the foyer was quite dark and very stark, and I thought to myself... oh no!

BUT then I got a friendly greeting, and all my details I completed online was already printed in, I just had to add my passport number, give my credit card and signature.

Since I was staying for 6 nights, they let me have a choice of all the rooms that was open and I choose one of the smaller penthouse suite 5012(I think) this was done without NO extra cost to me. Although all the other rooms had a bath, this one didn't but it had a small terrace and balcony... great for someone who love to have fresh air.

I loved every minute at this hotel, the turn down with candles lit in the bathroom, the breakfast that you could grab on the go (without extra charge), free wifi, great guest amenities and products in the bathrooms.

The breakfast was a revolution, done with great care, muesli, drinking yogurt selection of fresh fruits, cold meats, salmon, fresh bread... you name it and then on top order fresh warm things.

I liked the location just 5 minutes walk from the station and conference center but still at a small park in front of the hotel, so all rooms have a great view.

The rooms have electric roll down shutters, great for sleeping in! Although the church bells start ringing at 9 and on Sunday it was quite a sound but over quickly and it stops also early evening.

At this hotel I felt like much more than a guest, every day I was asked how my day was, every small request (and big like posting a wooden giraffe) was done with friendliness and efficiency.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms have a small garden / terrace, but the normal rooms is a bit bigger again. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

We are very pleased about your comment. Thank you for taking your valuable time and for sharing your impressions with the whole world.

We look forward to have you back soon.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was great for one night but not a place I'd stay for an extended trip. Room was way to 'cold' with the tile floors and streamlined furniture. Bathroom was tiny and room was not very big as well. For the price, I'd stay elsewhere. Also, the restaurant is very pricey. Although good, you can find equal quality and better value at local restaurants.

Room Tip: Hotel sits across froma church and bells ring on the hour. Nice the first time but annoying thereaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter The Hotel Gast

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Eindrücke vom The Hotel. Es freut uns, dass Sie die eine Nacht genossen haben und wir würden uns frueen, Sie bald wieder bei uns zu begrüssen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Rolf Tinner
Gerneral Manager

PS: Wusste Sie schon, dass jedes Zimmer anders aussieht und von eher dunkel bis sehr hell alles verfügbar ist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cascada
Hotel Cascada
#8 of 70 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#6 of 70 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#32 of 70 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.