We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lucerne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Lucerne to your Saves list
The Hotel Lucerne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, exhausting the swiss standards for hostellery
Very well located, few meters from KkL (exhibition center), train station, shopping
All rooms are an invite to former blockbusters : ask for Dangerous Liaisons for example and find yourself in front of Malkowitch. Then enjoy the scenary over Luzern!

Famous restaurant downstair, Bam Bou, where the renewed team has put back on the list the excellent Dancing Beef.
Amazing Wine list.

Belongs to my favorite hotels in switzerland.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear MY_visitor

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we really appreciate your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to belong to your favourite hotels in switzerland. We would be more than happy to welcome you back at THE HOTEL.

Kind Regards

Michael Platzek
Asst. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    43
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
131
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at "The Hotel" in Lucerne. Close to the city center it is the perfect hotel in the town's upper segment. We enjoyed a seven course meal (I wanna call it Asian fusion) during the evening. Later on we attended the party at the hotel. The hotel is clean and in an inviting and sophisticated way modern. We met very friendly stuff with surprisingly broad knowledge about Lucerne. After all it was a good choice, but we would never have gone there, if we weren't offered a good deal for the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the only orange room - 4th floor and a good choice for one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr Raphael B

We really appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are glad, that you enjoyed THE HOTEL experience.

We are very pleased to read that you had your culinary highlight in our BAM BOU Restaurant during your trip.

It would be great to welcome you again soon at THE HOTEL.

Best regards

Michael Platzek
Asst. Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Jean Nouvel's creation in Lucerne. Perfect service, lots of small attentions and details, all is made to make your stay a true experience. I can only recommend for a stay in this beautiful city. While laying on the bed, don't forget to look up at the ceiling!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Kundelitsch

Thank you for you nice feedback and that you took the time to share your impressions. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our THE HOTEL Service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Claudia Stalder
Rooms Division Manager I Assistant to the Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I Went to Europe and UK trip in September 2012. Me and my wife stayed at “The Hotel”. This hotel is one of the best hotel we stayed during our trip. It is just walking distance from the Rail Station though is little expensive. The Hotel has well appointed designer rooms. I will recommend this hotel incase you plan to travel to Lucerne. All the Best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

We are very pleased about your ratings and thank you for sharing your opinion with our futur guests (hopefully). All the best and we would love to have you back soon in switzerland and Lucerne.
Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had to do a last minute booking in Lucerne, and found this hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have already been traveling for 10 days and was quite tired when I arrived there around 14h00 on the 5th of October.

Upon entering the foyer was quite dark and very stark, and I thought to myself... oh no!

BUT then I got a friendly greeting, and all my details I completed online was already printed in, I just had to add my passport number, give my credit card and signature.

Since I was staying for 6 nights, they let me have a choice of all the rooms that was open and I choose one of the smaller penthouse suite 5012(I think) this was done without NO extra cost to me. Although all the other rooms had a bath, this one didn't but it had a small terrace and balcony... great for someone who love to have fresh air.

I loved every minute at this hotel, the turn down with candles lit in the bathroom, the breakfast that you could grab on the go (without extra charge), free wifi, great guest amenities and products in the bathrooms.

The breakfast was a revolution, done with great care, muesli, drinking yogurt selection of fresh fruits, cold meats, salmon, fresh bread... you name it and then on top order fresh warm things.

I liked the location just 5 minutes walk from the station and conference center but still at a small park in front of the hotel, so all rooms have a great view.

The rooms have electric roll down shutters, great for sleeping in! Although the church bells start ringing at 9 and on Sunday it was quite a sound but over quickly and it stops also early evening.

At this hotel I felt like much more than a guest, every day I was asked how my day was, every small request (and big like posting a wooden giraffe) was done with friendliness and efficiency.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms have a small garden / terrace, but the normal rooms is a bit bigger again. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

We are very pleased about your comment. Thank you for taking your valuable time and for sharing your impressions with the whole world.

We look forward to have you back soon.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was great for one night but not a place I'd stay for an extended trip. Room was way to 'cold' with the tile floors and streamlined furniture. Bathroom was tiny and room was not very big as well. For the price, I'd stay elsewhere. Also, the restaurant is very pricey. Although good, you can find equal quality and better value at local restaurants.

Room Tip: Hotel sits across froma church and bells ring on the hour. Nice the first time but annoying thereaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter The Hotel Gast

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Eindrücke vom The Hotel. Es freut uns, dass Sie die eine Nacht genossen haben und wir würden uns frueen, Sie bald wieder bei uns zu begrüssen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Rolf Tinner
Gerneral Manager

PS: Wusste Sie schon, dass jedes Zimmer anders aussieht und von eher dunkel bis sehr hell alles verfügbar ist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a good hotel to go to if you're interested in experiencing an atmosphere quite different from other hotels of this class. We stayed here for one night when we went for a jazz concert at the nearby KKL. In combination with seeing another one of Jean Nouvel's designs in Lucerne - the great Cultural and Congress Center (KKL), this hotel worked well for us. But I still find it much more interesting from the outside, especially at dusk, when all the windows come alight with colorful ceiling paintings. Once inside, one does have a feeling of being in a dark maze of spaces, with unwelcoming concrete staircase and metal-clad hallways. Although we didn't enjoy our ceiling picture (from an Asian erotic movie) all that much, the whole room was visually very impressive. More than one night, however, might have been too much.

Room Tip: Ask about what movie scene is depicted in the room you want to book. Also, make sure whether breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed the work of Jean Nouvel. We hope to welcome you back soon wish you all the best

Kind regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.