We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lucerne

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Lucerne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Lucerne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ultra modern.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was great for one night but not a place I'd stay for an extended trip. Room was way to 'cold' with the tile floors and streamlined furniture. Bathroom was tiny and room was not very big as well. For the price, I'd stay elsewhere. Also, the restaurant is very pricey. Although good, you can find equal quality and better value at local restaurants.

Room Tip: Hotel sits across froma church and bells ring on the hour. Nice the first time but annoying thereaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter The Hotel Gast

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Eindrücke vom The Hotel. Es freut uns, dass Sie die eine Nacht genossen haben und wir würden uns frueen, Sie bald wieder bei uns zu begrüssen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Rolf Tinner
Gerneral Manager

PS: Wusste Sie schon, dass jedes Zimmer anders aussieht und von eher dunkel bis sehr hell alles verfügbar ist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    41
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
115
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a good hotel to go to if you're interested in experiencing an atmosphere quite different from other hotels of this class. We stayed here for one night when we went for a jazz concert at the nearby KKL. In combination with seeing another one of Jean Nouvel's designs in Lucerne - the great Cultural and Congress Center (KKL), this hotel worked well for us. But I still find it much more interesting from the outside, especially at dusk, when all the windows come alight with colorful ceiling paintings. Once inside, one does have a feeling of being in a dark maze of spaces, with unwelcoming concrete staircase and metal-clad hallways. Although we didn't enjoy our ceiling picture (from an Asian erotic movie) all that much, the whole room was visually very impressive. More than one night, however, might have been too much.

Room Tip: Ask about what movie scene is depicted in the room you want to book. Also, make sure whether breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTH, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed the work of Jean Nouvel. We hope to welcome you back soon wish you all the best

Kind regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at this stylish hotel for a few days and was incredibly impressed with the room, ambiance, location, and amenities. The staff, namely Claudia, was exceptional and did everything to make you feel comfortable...(except one aloof young guy behind the front desk who never looked up when you entered). I was upgraded to a 5th floor room with a great view which was incredibly quiet and peaceful. I only ate breakfast there, but I can say it was superb, albeit a bit expensive.

I highly recommend this stylish concept hotel in the heart of Lucern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

Thank you very much for your great review. I will personally talk to the young guy from the Front Desk to ensure our high service standards. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Arrived via rail and Lucerne Bahnhof is very central; The Hotel is literally minutes by foot from the train station but far enough to be out of ear shot of the train noise.
Chic looking hotel, but is extraordinarily dim lighting in the foyer and around the lifts.
Quite austere in the lift and quite industrial looking in the landings outside the rooms, with grey flooring and walls.
The room doors are heavy and open outwards, which somewhat resemble the doors of a cell!
I think we had a deluxe studio room, which was rather a vibrant shade; was offered a change if it was 'too much' but thought we would give it a go.
>> asked for advice regarding the AC on 2 occasions, and then went down to the reception as the room temperature had risen from 23deg C to 25.5 after getting the AC to 'to work'. Was told that the temperature gauge was incorrect - but it was ever so hot! - and that I just needed to open the window and let the room cool down. The AC turns off when you open the window in any event.
>>too hot to sleep with window closed ans AC 'on', and too noisy (on a Friday and Saturday night) to sleep with the window open. Window is enormous - probably 5 foot square- and only opens on a vertical hinge so when completely open it overwhelms the room. The blinds are great, operated electrically from the bed side controls and completely blackout the room. Unfortunately they also pretty much seal the room from air circulation and so needed to be slightly open to allow cool air in, and thus outside noise. Really hadn't expected the amount of noise from people in Switzerland - friends had said the Swiss are well behaved and it's frowned upon to be making noise, even in your own home, after 10pm. No so Lucerne it seems, at least not at weekends.
Bed was large and comfortable, with great quality Frette linen and towels.
Enormous tv screen but not positionable so not able to get optimal viewing position for bed or chair viewing.
Horribly uncomfortable chairs both for desk and easy- really very much style over substance - they look hip and groovy but hateful to sit on for more than a few minutes.
Compact bathroom but very functional with great Corian like surfaces - very classy looking and very functional. Sadly the plunger mechanism for the sink drain didn't work and had to contrive a way to keep it closed and thus to be able to keep water in the sink.
Fantastic large and deep bath with a rinse shower head - you could use as a shower alone but not ideal as wall fixing mechanism doesn't really allow shower head to aim the right way, it works but it is not a great shower experience. The bath, however, was sublime.
Good quality bathroom products from English company - Molton Brown - only fly in the ointment there is that MB use parabens in their products - or at least for the hotel hospitality products, and that's something we prefer to avoid these days. More a MB issue that the Hotel's really.
Unable to fault the staff at The Hotel, they were very helpful, informative and somewhat apologetic about the AC issue- apparently too warm currently for it to work efficiently, not sure I understand why, and that we would appreciate the room temperature when the weather was colder, and of course by then we'd have left!
Very nice modern hotel overall marred by a few things.
Didn't use the restaurant, evidently well regarded, but Asian fusion food was not what we wanted in Switzerland; also very pricey, but all restaurants and services in Switzerland are. Breakfast would have worked out at GBP 20 per person.
Worth trying. You don't get a lake view here, and there is a degree of form over function with The Hotel.
Chose a room with more subdued colour scheme, bright colours grate heavily first thing in the morning, however well you have slept. Make sure the AC works, otherwise it is an overly warm night time experience, though may fine in the winter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

I thank you very much for your review and that you took your valuable time to write about your experience with us. We need your constructive critism to achieve our goals and work on our product.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you back soon at THe Hotel.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We've been there for one night in October. We had a very nice "corner room", with huge windows. Every room in the hotel is painted according to one movie... and have a surprisingly small TV set and a DVD player, including of course the DVD of the room's theme (when was released the first Blu-Ray?). The room was fantastically quiet, despite the facing bell tower and the lounge of the hotel. We went to the Bam Bou restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. The dinner was excellent, the breakfast was a little below (I'm a big fan of buffet breakfasts).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our restaurant and loved the rooms with our style. Just to inform you, we are working on a solution with bigger TV and Blue Ray players and maybe hopefully time we are able to fulfill all your expectations.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked one night at The Hotel. The morning we arrived we wanted to hurry up and get over to Mt. Pilatus since we only had 1 day. The staff was so nice and helped us get to boat (we booked the Golden Ticket) as fast as possible. We were able to buy the tickets at the reception desk. They even went online to the Mt. Pilatus webcam to check the weather up there so we knew how to dress. The staff was really helpful and nice. The room, although small, was very comfortable. I loved the decor and the movie scene on the ceiling. I read a lot of reviews that the room is too dark once night time comes. I guess I can see why people think that but we were only back in the room to shower and go to sleep so it worked for us. The Hotel has a great location. It is close to the lake and restaurants. There is parking outside the hotel, but there spots are very limited and you have to pay. We were lucky to get a spot because we got there early. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest

We hope you arrived save back home and you are still having good memories about luceren, mont pilatus and of course The Hotel. Your review is vey nice and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the whole world.

All the best an we hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just came back from a business stay at this wonderful hotel in Lucerne.

The GM has changed but THE HOTEL still provides the best service you could expect (the Director was also very kind to introduce himself personally). Early arrival at 11.00, the room was ready. A personalized note from the Manager was waiting in the room. Quick fresh-up and off to Zürich (3mins walk from the Lucerne Train Station - 45mins trip to Zürich). After several meetings in the financial capital, I took the train back ang got to the hotel very quickly. As I got there, a hand-written note was hanging outside my door saying: "The DO NOT DISTURB sign was on (damn I forgot to swith it off!) therefore we we'ren't able to do the turn down. Have a lovely stay and do not bother to call for any further needs". Great stuff. Took a nap in the HUGE and incredibly comfortable bed, had a shower and then off to dinner at "La Cucina", a parent restaurant. Before leaving I made sure I filled the Breakfast card for the following morning. Got back from a memorable night, fell asleep right away. 7.15 AM the alarm was on, 7.30 sharp (as requested on the card on the previous day) my breakfast was ready: fresh squeezed OJ, large choice of bread, jams, butter, eggs & bacon, jogurt, meet, cheese, fruits, cereals. Perfect start of the day. Checking out at 8.00 AM, they never forget a small bottle of water for your trip home.

Very careful, Claudia is brilliant, tiny little details make the difference here. Plus, the design is great, the room is warm and you really couldn't find a better place in Lucerne. Bam Bou (the restaurant) is wonderful, shame I was invited somewhere else for dinner. Next time in Lucerne? Too easy: The Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Tinner, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear The Hotel Guest
We are so pleased about your lines! Thank you very much, that you took the time to write abeout us. We hope to see you back soon and wish you in the mean time all the best.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.