We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fancy hotel worth staying again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lucerne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Lucerne to your Saves list
The Hotel Lucerne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fancy hotel worth staying again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Friendly staff and fluent in English. Definitely worth staying again when in Lucerne.

LOCATION (4 stars)
We parked our car and did not use it until we left. The location is near the many attractions in Lucerne. It is also within the vicinity of multiple food and drink places (e.g., restaurants, cafes, etc.). There is also a medium-sized park right next to the building, so it serves as a good spot to relax after a day of walking. However, there is a church also located next to the park that has the tendency to ring its bells loudly at certain times. You can hear these bells in the hotel room especially if you have a view of the park, but to me, it is not annoying. Also, there didn't seem to be any grocery stores or shops with basic necessities within the immediate vicinity. I'm sure there are some within walking distance, but we didn't encounter any at the time we were there.

INTERNET (5 stars)
Free WIFI service with no pass codes required. The connection was fast enough to watch movies on Netflix as well as conduct Skype video calls.

SERVICE (5 stars)
Friendly staff and very accommodating. It also helped that they were fluent in English as our grasp of the local language were non-existent. The staff also helped us with our luggage upstairs. I'm not sure if this is standard procedures, but it certainly help especially with me carrying a baby. Also, seeing that we had a baby with us, the staff also requested a crib for us.

PARKING (3 stars)
Hotel parking was extra, but it gets you a spot right in front of the building. Other parking options are available such as free street parking or paid parking at the parking garage, but this may not be always available or you will have a few minutes walk. A possible parking garage is near the Lucerne Main Train / Rail station, which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

ROOM SPACE (5 stars)
Lots of space in our room. Even with a king bed, a chaise, closet, and the other amenities there was enough space to not bump into each other. The room size reminded me of a typical American chain (e.g., Hilton, Holiday Inn, etc.).

COMFORT (5 stars)
The bed was excellently comfortable. It was not too firm nor too soft. It was just right. The leather chaise with an ottoman was also very comfortable to relax after walking outside. The refrigerator is also stocked with some delicacies to include drinks (including alcoholic and juices) and also some chocolates, but I assume these are extra charges. But it is a nice to have just in case. The hotel also has a built-in air conditioning system. No standing fans required.

DECOR (4 stars)
This hotel is very modern looking. It even features buttons on the side of the bed that can activate the lights, the night stand lights, the window shades, and so on. It's definitely a cool feature. I especially like that the night stands had some internal lighting that makes it emit a subtle light. It definitely helps if you want to get out of bed at night and not necessarily get blinded by the lights. Also, the position of the lights and the paint used on the room also adds a nice touch.

There's also huge poster print on the ceiling that matches the movie theme of the room. (Side note: Although, when I found out that the movie was a "homoerotic" film, it certainly gave a new meaning to the two guys on the ceiling. Nothing against it, but I thought it was amusing.)

PRIVACY (3 stars)
The bathroom features a solid, sliding door, but does not have any locking mechanism. Not an issue for me, but this may be an issue for others. Also, it seems that the walls are indeed thick enough to block the sounds because one of the staff did not hear me when I replied that everything was good in the room. She opened the door, but luckily I just had enough time to put my shirt on. Not a big deal for me, but this may be for others.

AMENITIES (4 stars)
We did not see any ironing board and iron in the room, but I suspect that you can request one from the staff. The room comes with a small refrigerator that is pre-populated with some drinks and eats (for an extra charge possibly). The television that we got was a bit smaller in size, so for those with spectacles / glasses, you may have a hard time reading the text on the screen. There's also a safe, a shoe shine kit, and an umbrella. A small drawer and closet are also available. You also get bathroom slippers as well as shampoo, body wash, etc. The automated window shutters are also a nice feature. It completely kept the room dark, which allowed us to get some straight sleeping.

NOISE LEVEL (4 stars)
No problem with the noise. Although there's a church within a stone throw away, the bells ringing are muted in the room. You can still hear it occasionally, but it was not annoying to me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    46
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
140
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Booked The Hotel for 3 nights (extended to 5 nights upon arrival) at the last minute after cancelling Hotel Royal St. Georges (Interlaken) owing to some terrible reviews and after our reservations at Victoria Jungfrau (Interlaken) were messed up. But it all worked out in our favour as we had a fantastic stay at The Hotel.

Superb service (Thanks Claudia), round the clock housekeeping (I think they cleaned our room every time we stepped out!), excellent table service breakfast (the servers remembered our every choice), and helpful guidance to plan our day trips - this hotel is highly recommended. And yes, they really do have the coolest window blinds :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We actually stayed here Dec 2010, sorry I have not reviewed it earlier. We really enjoyed our stay here in a garden room. There was no garden though, just a view of some bamboo on a balcony, but the room was large with an extremely nice bathroom. I loved the decor of the room I found it very relaxing and romantic. Would have liked coffee facilities in the room, but reception kindly provided us with coffee to our room free of charge a couple of days and we only had to pay a fee for it one day.The hotel is convenient for the train station, short walk.

We visited other restaurants in the chain around lucerne and they were all of a very high standard.

This hotel even sends me a christmas card now all the way from Switzerland and I hope I have the opportunity to stay with them again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I've been staying at the The Hotel Lucerne for a well deserved weekend break.

We were welcomed very warmly and were shown the room and explained all the technical details. The room was a decent size, with a small balcony and a huge king sized bed. The bathroom was very nice too, with a bathtub and a separate shower. The room was very clean and stylish!

This is not your traditional hotel room, so be prepared to experience something different. But it's totally worthwhile ;-)

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was one of the best we've ever had. There was selection of fresh bread, croissants, cheese, cold cuts and fruit/müsli, In addition to that, one could order additional items like scrambled eggs - which were freshly made to our liking and delicious.

I can highly recommend The Hotel Lucerne for a weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked this hotel the night before so got a reasonable deal on the room. The toiletries were Millar Harris and lovely. It was Saturday night and at 9 a DJ started to pay a heavy beat house music. This totally spoilt the last 20 minutes of meal downstairs and didn't stop until after 1 in the morning. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the church and you could clearly hear the beat. When we mentioned it to the staff we got a lot of sympathy but that was all. If you like it quiet do not stay here on Saturday night as there is also a club next door whose clients are quite noisy when they leave. The beds are firm but there are plenty of pillows. There were a number of lovely touches such as a candle in the bathroom when we came to bed, the bed was turned down and there was a card with the following days weather forecast. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R T, Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Alex N
Thank you very much for your honest feedback, it helps us to improve our services and other travellers to find the perfect place to stay. We are really sorry about the noise from the outside and the beat from our lounge. We are working on a more quiet program and are checking the volume of our music. However we are also very happy about your positive comments and would be pleased having you again as our guests in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can arrange a complimentary upgrade to our very quiet penthouse.

Best regards

Rolf Tinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is one of the very few hotels in Europe where there really was nothing to fault. There are many reasons why it is a five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is our kind of hotel. There is no concierge desk or uniformed door staff, rather the hotel is classic boutique with an amazing modern design. We stayed in the Matador room with a nice view overlooking the nearby park and streets and it was fantastic. The room was quite large and the bathroom was very good also. My wife is an interior architect and quite 'particular; and she was very impressed with the layout, design and features. The service is very very good. All the staff are genuinely interested in what activities you have planned and are very good at making suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Lucerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.