We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms with amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Luzern

Save Saved
You added Palace Luzern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Luzern
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms with amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Palace Luzern and we loved it! The room was beautifully decorated and the view is out of this world amazing!

However the service was a little disappointing especially with our arrival experience. No one came to greet us at the entrance. We had to drag our own luggage up the stairs and to the check in counter. Also at the bar, we sat for 10 minutes being ignored with no menu and no service. We had to go back to the check in counter to ask for staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear lhm8

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. We are very sorry about your experience at the entrance of the hotel, that nobody was there to greet you and to help you with your luggage. This is not our standard. It might be that our two porters were up in other guestrooms.
We also apologize that you had to ask for staff at the bar, please be sure that this is not our standard. We will certainly pay attention, that this won't happen again, our guests are our priority number one.

However we are very happy that you have enjoyed our beautiful rooms with the views of Lake Lucerne. In Autumn we have very clear days, so the air is crisp and you have a stunning view of the Alpine panorama, and you think the Alps are so near that you can almost touch them.

Dear lhm8, we hope to welcome you back again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    61
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
162
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three nights there and were very happy campers. Room was large and very comfortable. I can not say enough about how excellent the staff is. All are well trained and prepared to work in a fine hotel. I had several problems and the staff were right there with the solutions. I do wish they had a clock in the room so I could tell what time it was in the middle of the night. Turn down service was only done the first night.. what's with that?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear NCPilot253

Thank you very much for your positive rating on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here at the PALACE LUZERN and that our staff were helpful with presenting you solutions. It is very important for us that all our employees are well trained and can give our guests advice in whatever they ask for.

We are sorry that you only enjoyed turn down service on the first night. Our housekeeping fairies do the turn down service every day until 9.30 pm, exept the red card of the guests is hanging outside. We apologize for that and promise you, that we will pay attention the next time you stay with us, that you receive a full turn down service every night.

We hope to see you soon here at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been here several times...but I have to admit that the hotel is like a Bordeaux wine : is getting better and better every year. Service, attention to detail, quality, the spa (wow), the refurbished rooms (wow wow)...nothing is left to make your stay unforgettable! However one little negative note: use WiFi only (is free of charge everywhere in the hotel) as if you use the broadband cable in your room you will be charged of CHF 29.- per day...sight!

Room Tip: Ask for the new refurbished rooms...they are amazing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear REGR_10

We give you a "wow" too for your comment - Thank you very much. Our refurbished rooms were reopened at the end of March this year and our guests - as well as we - are delighted about them, too. The comparison of the PALACE LUZERN with a bordeaux wine is so inspiring, thank you for this statement, it is really creative.

We hope to welcome you back at the PALACE LUZERN soon, that you can taste the improvement of the Bordeaux wine again.

Best regards from Switzerland

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic! And the views to the lake makes you feel that you are staying in heaven! Rooms are comfortable, spacious! Piano evenings in the luxurious bar is a fantastic addition to an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Spa Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jurgita_777

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback on TripAdvisor. Did you know that we work with products from Niance in our Spa, a Swiss brand with only the purest and natural ingredients? We are glad, that you could relax in our oasis at the PALACE SPA and hope to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Fernando Molleda
Spa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed regularly and often at The Palace Hotel Luzern for more than sixteen years. Each time we fear that the standards cannot be as consistently high as on previous visits - yet we are never disappointed.
The service is flawless; the staff superbly trained; cleanliness of rooms and public areas beyond reproach; the views from rooms lake-facing unbeatable; breakfasts hugely enjoyable experiences in themselves, and we unfailingly are made to feel among friends for whom nothing is too challenging and who genuinely wish us to be completely at home and comfortable.
The inevitable changes in managers over the years has not undermined the quality of the hotel and the current young and dynamic husband and wife team promise much.
Being so familiar with The Palace it should be relatively simple to recall even some small instance worthy of significant complaint, but we struggle to bring any to mind. Minor, trivial concerns over the years have swiftly and completely been resolved.
Such is our enduring delight at all that the hotel offers that we are gradually introducing our children and grandchildren to its magic - successfully.
We travel and have travelled widely, being fortunate in staying at many top-class hotels, but there is nothing which compares to the overall enjoyment of being a guest at Hotel Palace Luzern.
We are already booked to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, General Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DalesUncompromising

What an inspiring comment of you on TripAdvisor - we thank you very much. For us it is a pleasure to hear that we make you feel at home in our "PALACE-family" far away from home, every time you visit us an have visited over the last years. It is indeed a challenge to maintain the high quality with a changing management and a changing team, but that's what we find is always an opportunity and therefore we do have a lot of trainings, for our management team as well as for the whole team of our lovely hotel.

We thank you for being our guests for such a long time and we are more than happy to welcome family member of yours here at the PALACE LUZERN.

We are already looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards

Catherine & Raymond Hunziker
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This review is a follow up about a stay at the Palace Luzern in late May 2013. We had a issue that made our stay not up to the 5 stars this hotel was ranked at. The Sales manager emailed us telling us that he would look into this and try to correct the problem.

Well, this is a great follow up story. After two months back home in Key West, we have someone at the front door with some chocolates from the Hotel and a warm thank you for us for staying at his hotel.The visitor was Mr. Stein-Kalesky, Sales Manager, who was visiting Key West and he remembered that we lived here.

To take the time to say hello while on your vacation, to offer some nice choclate from the hotel that you had to plan well in advance to bring, and to follow up about our visit is something that travelers like to hear about and experience.

As promised, I wanted to write a follow up review. ( I had to wait three months to write another review per the Trip Advisor guide lines).

Thank you for the nice surprise..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear bostonjames

We thank you very much for your follow up comment. We are glad that we could surprise you with our visit and the chocolates from the hotel. All the different feedback of our guests are very important to us as we can improve with your help and maintain our high standards every day.

We hope to welcome you again at the PALACE LUZERN any time.

Warm regards and autumn greetings from central Switzerland.

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Famous time. Climbed Mt Pilites, Sang in the bar, shopped, walked, was stunned by the bridge, fed the swans. Staff went out of their way to answer all of our questions and help us make the most of our time there. Loved the lake. The air was crisp and clean. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great with cross breezes coming through and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear gardenernumer1

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel and that you had a great time in Lucerne. Everyone who climbs our house mountain is rewarded with stunning views of the alpine panorama.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best regards from Lucerne

Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, LHW, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.