We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outstanding breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Luzern to your Saves list
Palace Luzern
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, outstanding breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a riverboat cruise. We had a large lakeview room on the sixth floor. Although we overlooked the lake, the window was not large enough to really enjoy the view. Beds and bedding were great and bathroom was very large with double sinks, soaking tub, and separate shower. I think it was the best location for a hotel, right on the lake and away from traffic noise. We could easily walk to everything on the lovely walkway that runs along the lake. Breakfast was outstanding and the best coffee we had on our whole European trip!

Room Tip: Might have a better view and larger accessible window on other than sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, F&B Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Carol K

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you rated our coffee the best on your whole European trip! We have the brand "Blaser coffee" from Berne and the bean is called Lussuria. We are getting a lot of positive feedback for its "body" and taste.

We hope to serve you this coffee again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes

Christina Bruhin
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    81
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
85
200
10
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Palace, on Lake Luzern (Vier Walstattermeer - Lake of 4 towns) offers spectacular views on Pilatus and the northern Alpine mountains. all suites face the lake and being 5 star it offers superb service and dinners. Fully equipped gyms help to sweat off the kilo's gained in the Dining Room!
The old town has a Middle age ambiance and the Chapel Bridge is world famous

Room Tip: Any Lake facing suite or; if a family, inter leading suites sleeping 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Bosvelder2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Hotel PALACE LUZERN. Our lake view room offer a spectacular view even on the alpine panorama in the background. Did you know that the world famous Chapel bridge was built in the 14th century?

Dear Bosvelder2013, we hope to welcome you at the PALACE LUZERN again.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning and the service is fantastic too. We spent the first 3 nights of our 3 week trip here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved being on the lake and being a swimmer, it was especially nice to receive a swim bag and get in to the Seebad across from the hotel for free with our room key. I was there twice a day. We had rooms on the lake side and it was well worth it - such a spectacular view. We loved the breakfast too - so much choice and everything nice and fresh. The other 5 star hotels were on busy roads and while the Palace has a busy road out back, the front sits on a chestnut tree lined walkway. Absolutely gorgeous. They had 2 bikes we used (for free) and also rented one of their e-bikes which was great for getting around to sites up bigger hills. The rooms were beautiful, beds comfortable. We loved the other hotels we stayed in on our trip but nothing quite matched up to the Palace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear dimples

We thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our room with the lake view. On a clear day, you can observe the steam boats and the sailboats on the lake, in the background you see the alpine panorama with our "house" mountain, Pilatus, on the right hand side.

Our location in Lucerne is unique, out of the busy area, directly at the lakeside, but only a 10 minute stroll along the lake into the centre of town.

Dear dimples, we feel honoured that we are the favourite hotel you stayed in on your whole trip. Thank you very much!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The standard room we stayed on the sixth floor is the worst set up we have ever stayed. Since the roof is slanted, the height on the window side is very low. One cannot stand up straight near the window side of the room (which is almost one third of the room). This made the room looked smaller then their actual size of 28 sq. meter.
Since it was Lucern festival, the hotel was fully booked, hence no rooms available for changing. Very unfortunate!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Nancy C

We thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor and we are very sorry for your experience. The LUCERNE FESTIVAL is indeed a very busy time for us as we are the partner hotel of the festival. We were in this case unfortunately not able to change your room, what we would have done of course if we have had the possibility.

We would appreciate if you gave us a second chance, that you could see our other beautiful rooms of the hotel. Did you know that we recently refurbished 42 which opened in March this year?

We have tried to contact you via personal message, to get to know more about your stay with us, but until now, we have not received an answer. We would be very happy to hear from you.

Dear Nancy C, we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very beautiful grand hotel overlooking Lake Lucerne. Without question the best in town. In my opinion far superior to the other two 5 star grand hotels, the Grand Hotel National and Schweizerhof, both of which we looked at while in town. The Palace is located on the water about 10 min walk from the center of town so quiet yet convenient. Overall very attentive and personal service. Probably the best overall we experienced while in Switzerland. The common areas are beautiful. Our suite was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. That being said the spa and room furnishings were not as luxurious as I have experienced in other high end European hotels. This is the only reason I did not give a 5 star review. Overall fantastic hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the lake. Definitely recommend a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Eric P

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are proud to be the best hotel in town in your opinion. Every day we strive to provide our guests the best service.

Our location is very attractive. The PALACE LUZERN is located directly at the shores of Lake Lucerne, but within 10 Minutes of walking distance to the town centre. When the weather is nice, you can stroll along the lake, in case of rain, you have the option to take the public bus in front of the house.

Dear Eric P, we hope to welcome you again soon at our beautiful hotel, maybe in one of the 42 rooms we have recently refurbished.

Best regards from Lucerne
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great overall experience at this hotel
The best in Lucerne..

Nice touch regarding LHW welcome amenities , the suite is overlooking the beautiful lake Luzern , excellent breakfast quality and variety ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear DrAlqassimi

Thank you very much for your excellent rating on TripAdvisor. Yesterday we celebrated the Swiss National Day and our guests could observe all the fireworks from their balconies with the lake view.

We hope to welcome you back again at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I usually sleep well wherever I travel so this was unusual that I even noticed a good night sleep but I did notice cause my sleep at the Palace was just such an outstanding sleep for me (2 nights). The mattress, the pillows, the sheets, the AC, no noise...all were perfect I had just read about the Hiltons spending $1 billion to upgrade their beds.....The Palace is already way-ahead.

Other than that, the location is superb. Very close walking distance to the shops and city center while being far enough away not to be disturbed by noise (there was a market festival with outdoor music just down past the hotel on the lake front). That being said, this hotel is still right on the lake with elegant outside drinking/eating under great shade trees with a decent view of the lake.

Next time I am back in Lucerne, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Scott052

We thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad, that you have had a good night's rest here at the PALACE LUZERN. We set a high value on the quality of our matresses and pillows, and everytime we get a positive feedback we are happy again to have invested in a good product.

The location of our hotel ist unique. Even when there is a Music Festival all over Lucerne, our guests can enjoy the advantage of not being right in the middle of the Festival, but still close by within a 2 minute walk.

Dear Scott052, we hope to welcome you again soon at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.