We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superb Location with Excellent View"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Luzern to your Saves list
Palace Luzern
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“"Superb Location with Excellent View"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good Property which is adjacent to Lake Lucerne. The views from the room were superb. I could watch the beauty of the lake & see all activities happening in the lake. At the same time I could also enjoy beautiful view of the mountain. There was a small balcony with the room which had small sitting space & you could keep watching outside view of lake & mountain.
The service was good, staff were courteous.
The room size were big with big washroom and small balcony to get view of lake & mountain. The location of the hotel is lovely & has SPA, restaurants, bars etc.
What I liked the best was location of the hotel(adjacent to Lake Lucerne) & the the hotel staff who were always ready to help you with a smile.

Room Tip: "Rooms on higher floor(2nd & above) facing Lake gives lovely view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Bhushan-Singh

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed the beautiful view across the lake Lucerne from your balcony.

For sure you also observed the unique steamboats, which celebrated "175 years of steamboat navigation" on the lake Lucerne in 2012. In total 5 steamboats belong to the steamboat fleet.

We hope to welcoe you again soon at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    80
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
85
196
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Palace Hotel from 27th May to 3rd June and had a wonderful time. Balcony and Lake view room was well worth the additional cost, giving us fantastic views across the lake to the snow capped peaks of the Alps. We had a lovely room with a great big bathroom .
The staff were excellent and very helpful referring to us by name even though the Hotel was busy.In fact we were made to feel very special and the Head Concierge Daniel Frederick and Mike Jackson were especially helpful . Indeed all staff were faultless.
Lucerne is a lovely place well worth a visit . It is very easy to travel from the UK via Zurich airport and the excellent Swiss trains.

Room Tip: Lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Traveller2UK

Many thanks for your positive review about your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. It is our goal that our guests feel at home, although sometimes they are very far away from home.

Did you know that nowhere else in the world the public transport system offers such a compacted coverage as there is here in Switzerland? Over 400 public transport companies and 91'000 employees ensure the transport network.

We hope to welcome you back at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Daniel Friedrich
Teamleader Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Luxury hotel on the lakeside with fantastic lake and mountain views.. The bedroom was large and comfortable. eating was an excellent experience. They coped with our group of 130 people, which is a feet in itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Host Restaurant Jasper at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear David S

Thank you for your feedback on the rooms as well as on the restaurant. It always makes us very happy to hear that our guests like their room with the magnificent view over the lake.
When we have big groups like yours we are always challenged to serve them in an appropriate time frame. We are very glad that you appreciated it and we do hope that you keep your fond memories of the excellent food for a long time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Anja Friedrich
Host Restaurant Jasper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Palace Lucern is a lovely, historic hotel in Lucerne, Switzerland. We stayed at the hotel 3 days in May, 2013. Our room was a Junior Suite facing Lake Lucerne. The views were gorgeous of the lake and mountains. We enjoyed walking the length of the beautiful walkway behind the hotel which led all the way into town. The town is very quaint and we enjoyed all the watch stores in Lucerne. There is a casino next store to our hotel, but we did not visit the casino. The staff was very welcoming. I would hope that the furniture gets upgraded as we did feel that was the only negative to our room. Sort of cheap furnishings for a fine hotel.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a Junior Suite allows you to open the windows facing Lake Lucerne to get all the cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear PAULADAVIS1

We thank you very much for your feedback. The 10-minute stroll along the lake is indeed beautiful, especially when the sun is shining like today and the water of the lake shows its deepest blue, and the mountain range in the background still shows its snowpeaks.

We hope to welcome you back to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best wishes,
Daniel Friedrich
Teamleader Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stay at the " leading hotels" as well as B&Bs and lower cost quarters. So we ask and expect to receive what we pay for.

Stayed here late May.


The good. Room with lake view was nice. Check in was also fast and nice. Parking close by . Breakfast was ok. However at $35 for bunch type eating , eggs to order would have been great.

Dinner was outstanding. One of our best doing a 20 day visit to five countries. The dinning room was quiet and not busy due to a large convention eating as a group in the hotel.

The BAD. We enjoy a gin drink at happy hour. Bar not busy at this time. We sit and talk etc. The women server looks at us as she passes by. The next time she passes by I had eye contact with her. She just looked at us and the empty table. Ten minutes pass. We started to talk about the event happening.

Since we wanted a drink I did the next best thing. I asked her for one. Nicely.

We noticed that other people had nuts etc. Same lack of attention. I did the next best thing again and asked if we could at least buy the nibble food. We got some.

A week later this happy hour experience does not still well.

At the end of happy hour the bar was very busy due to a conference at the hotel. We were in the bar 40 minutes before the large number of people arrived. There is no reason for not making your customer feel not wanted . GO home if you don't like your job. There are many people wanting your job.

I'm taking this time to say that something simple like basic service can pull a hotel experience down. I would fire both of these girls on the spot if I happened to be part of management and got their look and no respect.

The next stop was in the Italy lakes area, a " leading hotel" and they made us feel really wanted and welcomed.

Room Tip: Get a lake view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear bostonjames

We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are sorry about the behavior of our two staff members who worked at the PALACE Bar this late afternoon. There is no excuse about the way you have been treated and this does not meet our high service standards.

With the point of view from our guest we can always learn from them and improve our service accordingly every day. We have instructed and trained our staff again in order to maintain our high quality goals.

However we are delighted to hear that your dinner at our restaurant Jasper was outstanding and one of your best during your 20 day travel to five countries. Our Chef, Markus Weiss, buys the vegetables and the meat/fish from regional producers every day to create masterpieces on the plates.

We do hope that you will come back to the PALACE LUZERN and give us a second chance for our first impression.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

P.S. We hope you liked the personally delivered chocolates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was at the Palace Hotel in late January. The location was amazing right on the lake but the Hotel quality was 4 star at best. What made my experience average was that on the first night I was given a very small room that was the smallest room I was ever in at a hotel. It was quite disappointing. After complaining they put me in a better room but charged me more. Lucerne itself was five star but the hotel was 3 star at best. Find another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear magicdisplay

We thank you very much for your feedback and we would like to apologize for your experience at the PALACE LUZERN. Unfortunately you visited us during a busy week at the end of January, therefore we couldn’t offer you as many options regarding to your room change as we would have wished to.

We would like to inform you that we fulfil all necessary standards set by Leading Hotels of the World regarding the size of our rooms and even exceed them. All these standards are carefully and regularly checked. Our rooms are between 25 and 150 m2, depending on the category and the price. We are sure you are happy to hear that we have recently refurbished a total of 42 rooms which reopened in March 2013.

We hope that you will give us another chance and revisit the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed the gorgeous lake views from our hotel patio and the peacefulness of the place. The lounging chairs and room were comfortable. However, we didn't find anything that we wouldn't expect from a 5*...in fact, the rooms could be rated 4* for their rather small size. There was no bidet in the bathroom; the 400+ CHF nightly rate does not include breakfast (which costs an extra 80 CHF for 2 people) and while the 10-15mn walk to the city center is a pleasant one along the lake, we found the hotel a bit far from the pedestrian center of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear heiranig

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our wonderful lake view from the room. We understand that the 10 Minute foot walk to the city centre may seem long, but on the other side, our lake view rooms are located directly on the lake, without any disturbing cars in front of the wonderful view. In 1906, when the hotel was built, the owner decided to buy this land out of the reason, to build a hotel away from the busy places, but still in the heart of the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Silva Reuther, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.