We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with amazingly friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Luzern to your Saves list
Palace Luzern
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with amazingly friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked a family Easter week-end package at this hotel and was amazed from beginning to end by the friendliness of the staff working there. The lady who took my booking by phone was most polite and helpful, the staff on arrival were extremely friendly and the hotel even organised a one-hour egg hunt for the children, led by two super child friendly members of staff.
Our rooms looked a little bit dated in terms of deco and could be a bit modernized/freshened up but the view on the lake was great.
The breakfast buffet was very nice as well and the lady who took care of our table did a very good job too. In a country where we often find it difficult to find good service and friendly staff, the people working at this hotel make it a unique place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lakeside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for choosing the PALACE for your Easter celebrations. It was our pleasure to entertain your children with our egg-hunt. We hope they had a fun time!
We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It's our goal to make our guests feel at home away from home and we would love to welcome you again soon - what about Christmas in this Lucerne?

We all wish you a wonderful summer!

Warmest regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    70
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
185
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel in an idilic location by the lake with a fantastic view of the alps.
Within walking distance of city center.
Large and very comfortable junior suites with all amenities you may want.
Top level service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you for choosing the PALACE Luzern for your stay and for taking your time for
this great feedback. Our team is thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel and service. It's our goal
to make you feel home away from home!

We hope to welcome you soon again at the PALACE and wish you a wonderful summer.

Warmest regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I booked a single night for a two day trip to Luzern. The casino parking next door is normal Swiss prices, 28chfs for 24 hours - right next to the hotel so convenient to arrive. The hotel is right on the lake, with the main promenade just in front of the hotel. The location is directly between the kapel bridge and the transport museum, so easy to walk every where. The hotel itself is very beautiful, clean and very quiet. We had a basic room, on the "mountain" side so no view of the lake, but still a nice room. Relatively small, and a slightly awkward slant to the roof on the 6th floor, but OK for our height. Any taller it would be a pain. The spa was nice, but we had planned to spend our time together, but during the week the spa is split for men and women. Seems that only on weekends they have a unisex section of the spa open. The rooms were quiet, clean and very comfortable for sleeping. The bathroom spacious and nice. Overall not a huge room, but we did take the cheapest room option. We did not try the hotel restaurant, as it looked quiet expensive, although a very appetising looking menu. We ate just along at the next big hotel at the Thai Lotus for dinner, and the Italian restaurant in that same hotel for lunch. Also had a coffee and strudel at the café in the same hotel, all very nice food. Overall would recommend for a nice hotel, average price/value ratio and a very good location to access all main sites in town by foot. It's a bit far to walk from the train, but it seems that they have a car available that could pick you up - we did not use this service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to write your review. it is great to read you enjoyed your stay at the PALACE as well as in the city itself. Our SPA is indeed split into separate sections for men and women. On weekends the men's sections turns into a mixed section. Maybe you get to enjoy a stay in our Private SPA on your next stay at the PALACE - it's a marvelous experience.

We all wish you fantastic summer and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you're looking for sanctuary among the alps, this is the place. Looking out each morning over that lake to those snow covered mountains and enjoying the fine breakfast each day by the lake, I knew I'd made the right choice. Put this one in the category of "how to have a good holiday ( US 'vacation')." Staff could hardly have been more helpful and genuinely enthusiastic. My dad and I felt as if we were in our family home after the first few hours and the greetings of welcome on our every return only strengthened this. There were glitches, but who cares when these only show the lengths to which the staff will go to convince you of their commitment to you enjoyment of the stay. Jasper restaurant was fabulous and young maitre d'hotel (a Berliner) was superb. Memorable meal (and I live in Paris!), but typically Swiss (i.e. on the pricey side).

To the team: You convinced us! I'll be back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Do not countenance anything but a full lake view if you have the choice. You will find Bliss on Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for choosing the PALACE Luzern and for taking your time to write this great review. The entire PALACE team is thrilled to know you enjoyed every single day during your stay with us. We are all looking forward to welcoming you again. There is still so much to see and experience in this beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you plan to come back, we would love to be of assistance.

Warmest regards from Lucerne

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as our business meeting in Zurich was cancelled so asked American Express for recommendations for a SPA hotel. The hotel is beautiful, set directly on the lake with views of the alps. Service was friendly and helpful. Room was wonderfully large with a small balcony overlooking the lake. the room had wardrobe area and very large room divided into a sitting area with armchairs, sofa and writing desk, then the bed area. I liked it all being open as it made the room so large.Bed comfortable with great linens. Decor spot-on! Free WiFi.

SPA treatment was good, we booked the couples room where you get your own private pool, Saunas etc.

I cannot find a fault with hotel and also with the city of Luzern, it is a beautiful, friendly and interesting place that we will definitely return to. Cannot recommend higher.

Room Tip: Book with Amex to get free upgrade and gift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear BelGal

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comment. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. It is great to hear that you loved our hotel and our service. And we all agree with you, Lucerne is a beautiful place to visit.
Please let us know, if you plan to come back. There are many more things to do and to see in Lucerne. The Palace Team will be of assistance if you have any questions.

With best regards from Switzerland to the Olympic city of 2012

Malte Budde
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I was at the Palace Hotel in Luzern Switzerland between X-mass and new years. I was a little nervous traveling by myself but as soon as I got to the Palace I knew I was home. The food was excellent. If it was not on the menu they would make it for you. Kind, considerate, outgoing friendly, attentive staff. Spa was terrific. Great list of services. I went 4 x in 7 days. Looking forward to it again. The staff took FANTASTIC care of me and made sure that I had everything I needed and more. I was well attended to, looked after, I never knew they were there. I think of them as guardian angels or magical fairies that just attended to everything while not disturbing you. I had a bad cold the first few days and the staff checked on me and made me very comfortable. The Palace is the center for all activity. I plan on spending 10 days there this summer. Can't wait to get back!!! If you plan on going to Switzerland you should go to Luzern and stay at the Palace. You will kick yourself if you do not.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view or partial lake view. You can't stop looking at the lake, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear valued guest

What a great review! Thank you very much for staying with us during x-mas and New Year. It is a pleasure to hear that you loved our service. We will inform all our staff about your comment and the whole Palace Team is looking forward to welcoming you again in Lucerne. Please contact my team or me at any time, if we can be of assistance.

It is our goal to create a "Home away from Home" and it is great to hear that you felt at home in the Palace.

All the best

Malte Budde
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Staying overnigth while traveling to our wintersports vacation we experienced the most warm welcome in The Palace Hotel in Luzern.
Great rooms, excelent staff and great food made this stop over a feast, and we did not want to leave the next morning.
If travelling through Switzerland, this hotel is a must.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Take a room with lake view, costs more but worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne CH-6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront Hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.