We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Continental Park Hotel to your Saves list
Continental Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Murbacherstrasse 4, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CHF5 off room rate
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Bolton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This is an excellent modern hotel and people should not be put off by it's business like appearance.

I travelled in my family of five people and we had a brilliant stay. Had three non-smoking rooms which were clean and fresh and just what we wanted. The service was very good.

It's location is not fancy and it has no views but it is very close to the old town, a five min walk to the railway station and less than 10 to the boat terminal, which if you're sightseeing is quite frankly brilliant.

Be aware of the church bell - it is very loud but it at no time disturbed our sleep and we were on the side nearest it. only downer is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities, so remember to bring your travel kettle! All in all an excellent hotel espescially if going half-board.

  • Liked — location!
  • Disliked — no kettle.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    99
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
64
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

We had booked for our short holiday in Continental Park after reading the good reviews in Trip Advisor. Our booking was done direct with the hotel since we were a family of 4 including 2 kids and we wanted a triple room with an additional bed. The websites I tried to book in did not offer this option. When contacted directly, the hotel gave us this combination. The rate, though not cheap, was worth it, I can say after our experience.
The hotel is extremly well positioned, just a hop, skip and jump away from the Main Railway station of Lucerne. Even though it is so close, since it is situated on a side street, you do not suffer the noise. We were in the 5th floor and from the route we took from the Elevator, I think this part of the hotel has been added later on. We had to go through several corridors to reach our room.
Our room was in a corner affording us a view of Mt. Pilatus and with a huge Bell Tower looming close by. Thankfully the room is well insulated and this protected us from the hourly, loud gongs.
The check-in process was very smooth and the room was reasonably large and well furnished. The colour schemes were pleasant and trendy.
However the modern, well appointed toilet did not have lock from the inside !!! We got over this issue by hanging the "Do Not Disturb" card on the door handle whenever it was occupied. ;-)
Continental Park offered Free Broadband Internet with the room. There were instructions on accessing the Internet connection. However it was only for Windows Users and there was no clue on how I could connect using my Mac. But Mr. Ceasar of the Front Office came to our resuce, visited our room and configured my laptop. But that resulted in changing my computer's settings. After my stay in Citadines Paris, where the connection is made automatically without changing any of the settings, this came as a drawback.
Breakfast was in Bellini, their mediterranean cuisine restaurant. They had a decent selection of Fruit Juice, Bread, Croissant, Cakes, pastries, Preservatives, Honey, Cheese, Yoghurt, Fresh Fruits, Cereals & an Expresso Machine + Tea and Hot Chocolate. There were eggs and more non-veg. dishes, which were not of interest to us, though.
Several eateries are nearby, including a good food court in the basement of the Main Railway Station.
The staff were efficient, cordial and friendly and spoke good English.
The check-out was equally smooth and fast.
Continental Park offers terrific location, good service, comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast.
I wouldn't hesitatet recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Liked — Great Location, Clean Safe place, Good Service
  • Disliked — Just a trifle - No lock inside the toilet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

This hotel is conveniently located across the street from Lucerne railway station and in the heart of the city. It is immaculately clean and modern inside and has a lovely little restaurant called Bellinis inside that stays open quite late. The only downside is that the rooms and showers are quite small, so it is probaby better for business travel or short breaks than for a long holiday or romantic break. The hotel has air conditioning and also appears to have been refurbished very recently. The price is excellent value for what is a very clean, modern, and charming hotel in an excellent location.

  • Liked — very clean and neat
  • Disliked — rooms and showers were quite small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

This hotel must be one of the most convenient in lucerne; right in the town centre(adjacent to railway station)-yet very quiet being on a side street.

Modern style & very comfortable, well endowed rooms(inc. complementary brolly). Excellent buffet breakfast-not massively extensive in choice but more than adequate-freshly squeezed juices a must.

Staff exceptionally courteous-& it was the height of the tourist season!! Useful information-like computerised weather updates &live video shots of nearby mountain tops helpful in planning the day. I wouldn't hesitate coming back or recommending.

  • Liked — convenience & ambience
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. Very nice hotel. The location is great. Come out the back of the station at platform 3 and cross the road. Despite the proximity of the station the room was quiet.
Room was clean comfortable and a good size. Safe in wardrobe. Even an umbrella was provided for use while staying there.
Bathroom was large and had a retractable washing line over the bath also a pair of slippers were provided. Our only complaint was that one day the shower gel didn't get filled up.
A good buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant.
Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Good location - next to the train station ! But it is not a noisy area as the hotel is located in a quiet street .. it is also close to the Lake and the oldtown .. 5 minutes walk to the lake

Room - modern, spacious, air-conditioned

Service - good !

  • Liked — Location, quiet surroundings, service, cleanliness, modern look
  • Disliked — A bit pricey :)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

this hotel is absolutely fine for someone wanting to get out and about. The room I was in was smallish but fine - it did have a HUGE walk in wardrobe though (found myself wishing I had one at home!) The only odd thing was that shower toilet area was walled of by glass panels. Fine for me because I was on my own but a nightmare if there were two of you in the room because with the light on the whole room was lit up!
The breakfasts were fine, not a lot of fresh fruit options and no cooked breakfast.
The BEST point for this hotel is its location - two minutes from the Train station.

My 'TOP TIP' for anyone going to Switzerland is to buy a SwissTravel Pass from myswiterland.com. they will save you a huge amount of money and swiss travel is SO easy, you get around and see loads!
Enjoy!!

  • Liked — superb location in the very centre of town
  • Disliked — the big clock outside my room which struck every hour!! (ask for a room in the inside of the hotel - you'll lose the views but gain some sleep!)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Park Hotel

Address: Murbacherstrasse 4, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The individual and seminar hotel Continental-Park is a modern and stylish establishment, family-owned, characterized by personal commitment and human warmth. Free W-Lan/WiFi with unlimited broadband throughout the hotel. Private garage. Excellent location opposite station and city park, 2 to 3 min. walk to KKL and lake. 92 bright, elegant and quiet rooms with air condition provide a feeling of wellbeing. The furnishing is impressive and deliberately adapted to the guests requirements. The well thought-out seminar and conference facilities impress with generous rooms, with a total of 460 sqm, without pillars, with flexible walls, daylight, expert advice and professional care. We are always on the ball when it comes to helping with the accompanying programme.In the “bellini Ristorante Ticinese” we take our guests to present-day Ticino. Here, you can enjoy original dishes and fine wines in a dignified atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Continental Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Park Lucerne
Hotel Continental Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.