We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive but a good option for stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baslertor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baslertor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baslertor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pfistergasse 17, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Noida, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but a good option for stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good Location. Just a close walk from the train station, Lake Lucerne and famous Chapel bridge.
Room was clean and spacious and Bathrooms were clean!
WiFi didn’t work in our room. Sad part is they didn’t do anything about this!
But they had a business centre with 1 computer and net connection.
Breakfast not included in room price. Staff was friendly but not hospitable.
We booked this hotel with the last minute deal so for us it was worth the price for Swiss standards ;)

Overall, a bit expenise but a good place to stay in Lucerne!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    34
    26
    15
    21
See reviews for
31
29
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a family vacation and I can easily say that it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. First off the the desk clerk/owner was unbelievably rude, when my father attempted to check our family in, the clerk took the paper he filled out and through it in his face declaring "Das ist die Schweiz!" (this is Switzerland) and would not check us in until our entire party arrived at the hotel (this was in addition to a slew of other unsavory behavior towards us). The room I was in was filthy and uncomfortable, the sheets had some form of sediment in them, the bathroom had dead bugs and mildew on the floor and the hotel room smelled like something had died and been shoved under the floor boards. That smell was bad, but it was even worse with the air freshener in that was in the room. The only redeeming factor of this hotel was that Luzern is a beautiful city and that the waitstaff at breakfast was nice. Don't stay at this hotel there are plenty of nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I have read some unfavourable reviews and I'm happy to say we had a much happier stay at Baslertor Hotel, We had originally booked the Rosli Guesthouse but were "upgraded". We had 2 nights here and everything was fine. The room had squeaky floorboards but we had no one above. It was small but clean. We paid to have breakfast one morning in the lovely breakfast area. Our weather wasn't warm so we didn't get to sit on the terrace or swim in the pool. The hotel is in a very convenient location to the station and shops and sights. Lucerne is somewhere we would enjoy spending more time and would stay at Basletor again.

Room Tip: Just ask for what is important and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were booked here by a biking tour group so we had no choice of where to stay. The rooms were dirty. I felt like I couldn't take my shoes off and needed to wear flip flops in the shower. The bed sheets were so worn that there were tears in them. Our shower was actually outside the bathroom, just behind the room door. There was mold in the shower and hairs on the bathroom floor and spider webs in the windows. To top it all off, the desk clerk (whom we later found out was the owner) was very rude and surly. We are encouraging the company who booked us to never use this place again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

This hotel screws you any way possible. The guy runs such a tight shop that they use cheap soap dispensers to provide the rooms. The bathrooms smell like urine, the toilet laced with dried urine stank! The walls of the bathroom tile have mildew growing. Loud noises up above. We were pressured into purchasing the very last room available. Breakfast is not included either. So very disappointed for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We are about to check out of this hotel after a 1 night stay.

The location of the hotel is in the old town about 5 minute walk from the station. It is close to many restaurants, both on and off the water.

The man who checked us in was extremely helpful and gave us maps and information about the town. We had originally booked hotel rosli but we were informed that we had been upgraded to baselator.

Our room was an ok size but very dated and basic. This is all we wanted as we planned to be out most of the time.

Otherwise, the positives are the location, the rooms are clean and have the necessities, there is a pool which is very nice and clean. There is also a bar that is open until midnight and a terrace overlooking the pool. There is also a vending machine selling snacks, drinks and beer.

There was no air conditioning but our room had a fan, so the combination of this with the window open was enough to keep us cool.

All in all, it was good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akko, israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

in 2009 we were in the baslertor hotel for 3 nights it was a very nice and relax staying... all the personal in the hotel were welcaming and nice and worm... the room was very plesant.. the brakfast was rich... and it felt like home... we loved it.... and now we are going back for a whole week in August 1st....and we're looking forward.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baslertor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baslertor Hotel

Address: Pfistergasse 17, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baslertor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Baslertor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baslertor Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baslertor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.