We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with outdated feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopol Luzern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopol Luzern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monopol Luzern
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 64 hotels in Lucerne
Confignon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location with outdated feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were undecided whether to give this hotel 3 or 4 stars. The location is great, and our triple room was large and clean. But the rooms have a very dated feel, with sombre decor. Also, the windows are not very soundproof, so it is quite noisy at night. The greatest shame of this hotel is that they have no lobby to speak of. It feels like entering a food court. The staff are friendly, and the breakfast was fine (but nothing special). We enjoyed our stay, but in terms of value for money, one could probably do better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear the4newmans,

We thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel rooms were renovated 10 years ago and these can not yet be out of date. The art of room furnishing is a matter of taste. However, it was seen in the rooms refurbishment that they are classically elegant. Perlmuth-colored light-colored walls, brown-gray furniture with gold border, beige-brown desk chairs, beige fauteuills and sofas, shiny mirrors behind wall lights, white bedding linen, white-bright day curtains, red carpets, light gray table tops, all in all not really too dark.

The windows are soundproof and heat isolating. When the windows are closed, it's quiet even at our central location. With the windows open, it is in the center of course not very quiet. But we have quiet courtyard rooms.

In two places, we have a lobby in our hotel. At the entrance to the right side, followed by the reception, and after the reception, it has a second lobby. By the entrance there is on the left hand side the Starbucks Coffee restaurant, which highly value our international guests.

Thanks for the good feedback that the staff was friendly and helpful. I am happy to inform them about your feedback.

The price-performance range corresponds Lucerne values. That the room in the world famous city of Lucerne can not compare with a mountain village, was founded with the very expensive land prices in Lucerne.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel Monopol in Lucerne.

Very, very best wishes

Brigitte Heller
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    128
    58
    12
    20
See reviews for
64
130
55
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had read the reviews prior to booking, and hesitated to book, but I wanted something really close to the train station and this hotel fit the bill. The check in staff was very welcoming and everything went well with my check-in. We had a quiet room on the 6th floor, but our view was an interior view of the rooms on the other side of the hotel. It was a little loud from the rooftop lounge, but not too bad.

The room and bathroom were very generous in size. However, the decor is very dated. The room could definitely use some updating. There is a flat screen T.V. and a few English speaking stations. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries were adequate. There is a hair dryer, but you had to hold down the power button the whole time you used it which was annoying.

The breakfast was very average and if it wasn't included I wouldn't pay for it. There is no free wi-fi, but there is a Starbucks on the main floor and it was easy to access the internet from there.

The location was excellent. We were able to walk all over Lucerne and catch our excursion at the Travel Bureau at the train station. Staying here enable us to avoid taxi charges to/from the train station as it was right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felice Circeo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 5 nights in this four star hotel, the rooms were generously sized and included a Bath in the bathroom. This hotel was clearly aimed at Business use and for this it was excellent, the location nest to the station and very close to the KKL was great. Breakfast was pretty average, and the atmostphere was not great. It suited my needs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a View - far too noisey at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Monopol the second week of September and were amazed at the size of our room. It was clean with a huge bathroom that had two sinks which we really appreciated. The room also had a nice sitting area. It is next to the train station and easy to find. We enjoyed the free Wifi that Starbucks offered which is located in the hotel. My only complaint was that the staff was not very friendly. They just starred at us when we arrived and did not greet us. An employee was standing in the aisle and did not attempt to move as I tried to pass her with my suitcase. I accidently brushed her foot and she gave me a disgusted look. I excused myself and got no response back from her. Definitely rude staff. The hotel also was a bit noisey. I could hear people talking long after we went to bed. This is a nice hotel if you are only staying 1-2 nites. Very big and very impersonal. McDonalds is also in this hotel and a Burger King is near if you must have american food. The breakfast was included with our hotel stay and it was very good.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow and small so if your in a hurry dont stay on the upper floors. Taking the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Burbs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is right across from the train station! Pretty key if you don't have a car. It is a beautiful old building, but with modern conveniences such as Starbucks and McDonalds downstairs.

The hotel rooms are spacious and bright. Plenty of room to stretch your legs out and relax. Comfy beds, spacious bathroom, ICE MACHINE (unheard of in Switzerland!) and some English channels on the TV other than CNN Europe and BBC.

The staff was super friendly and helpful.

The only cons are no wifi in rooms, and no air conditioning. They do provide a fan in room, but a summer stay here would be a challenge.

Also, if you are here on a weekend night and leave your windows open for fresh air, expect to hear bar hoppers on the street below until at least 4:30 am. And then the street sweeping begins at 5:30 am.

Overall though, a great hotel with an old world feel. You are steps away from the train station to grab a snack when everything else is closed, and a short walk from the river to cross to the other amazing shopping that Lucerne has. I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to others. Enjoy your stay! Oh, and the breakfast was pretty good too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

**good loction,Varied breakfast , Friendly Staff
**Staff uncooperative,does not have parking,Bad smell in the lobby and entrance,None Services (tea, coffee, water heater) in the room ,There is no Internet in room ,Does not have air conditioning in the room ,At the entrance there is Starbucks and cause congestion at the entrance and the only way to use Wi-Fi by Starbucks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monopol Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol Luzern

Address: Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol Luzern 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CORDIAL WELCOME to the Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne, directly at the railway station and the KKL Culture and Convention Centre, in the middle of the center, by the lake and the world famous Chapel Bridge, the tourist sites and in the old town. 73 greatness rooms with bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, telephone, minibar, safe, Sat-TV and radio. Enjoy the gastronomic experience pure in and around the Hotel MONOPOL. On the top of the hotel, there is the elegant lounge bar SUITE, with most beautiful panorama of the whole city Lucerne. It offers you a view of the lake, the mountains Pilatus, Rigi and Titlis. The special architecturally fascinating Hotel **** MONOPOL is the most historic fascinating hotel from the city. The baroque façade with rococo elements, stocked with the Savonnière stone in 1899 and the columns, the capitals of glided iron, the balcony railing and the beautiful copper dome, give to the hotel a inestimable majestic splendour and looks like a Parisian or Viennese palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monopol Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Swiss q Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopol Luzern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.