We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Basic but good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was part of our Trafalgar tour. The rooms are small and the bathroom was extremely simple. Usually most hotels supply shampoo, conditioner, body wash and a body lotion. Not here! Only hand soap and a sachet of generic liquid detergent to wash body and hair. No conditioner!
No internet unless you want to pay for it.
Otherwise, it is ideally situated near the touristy part of town, the Old Bridge, the lake and the Butcherer watch shop( 5 floors of watches and clocks)
The buffet breakfast is quite basic and really not worth waking up for.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
37
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is just an average city hotel. We arrived in a tour bus and found that there is only one small elevator to bring the heavy luggage up to the lobby which is on the 1st floor. It took a long time for a group of 26 people to bring their luggage up! Only small hand carried luggage is allowed to use the escalator. The rooms are small. The bathroom is clean but they only supply 2 shower gel and shampoo. No coffee making facilities were provided. Free wifi is available throughout. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Agil N

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay.

Our first concern is the satisfaction of our guests and we spare no effort to improve and optimize our service constantly. Therefore, we take your valuable feedback very seriously.

Unfortunately, the given structure of the building currently does not allow an immediate change.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just stayed for the second time at the Astoria and both stays have been very good. The rooms are small but well appointed and comfortable. The bathrooms aren't spacious but they are bigger than average for a European hotel. The staff is consistently friendly and efficient. The food is good at the hotel restaurants, but there are better options outside the hotel. Location is excellent and you can walk easily to the train terminal or the lake. One nice touch is there is a very good selection of English channels on the TV, several BBC and ITV channels, not just CNN.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear marty99x

We would like to thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and for your great feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our quality and service. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Astoria Luzern.

Kind regards,

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Astoria hotel is conveniently located . About3- 5
min walk to the main train station ( which brings you to Zurich, Interlaken, Geneva etc). This also makes it easy if you decide to join any of the day trips booked through the Tourist Office ( just next to the train station ). There are many shops in the basement of the train station . Also a supermarket Co-Op Abt 300 m from the hotel ( closes at 6 pm and closed on Sunday)
A small convenience store in the hotel makes it easy to buy water, soda ,candy bars, sandwiches, German mags and the like .
The hotel has a smart looking reception and several good restaurants .The Royal Thai restaurant is a fine dining venue and a classy act .The Mekong restaurant is elegantly decorated. Penthouse club on the 7th floor seems to attract a cool crowd. Which raises expectations for the quality of accommodation .
Taking into account that the Astoria is a base for Trafalgar tours, it is well positioned as a tourist hotel . But there are a few tiny details that could make this hotel more popular .
The shower curtains for the tub are not standard length - you have to be careful or the bathroom floor could get wet during a shower.
There are no hooks where you can hang your clothes ; towels cannot be reached in the tub . Quality of pillows and toiletries are of 3 star hotel standard.
I have thought that coffee/ tea making facilities are almost a standard fare these days ( at least at this hotel rate). . There was no kettle available even if you ask .( you have to go to the coffe shop And ask them for it if you really need it .And bring your own receptacle !) This means that if you are travelling with young kids and need hot water to make milk or warm up food - skip this hotel .
Also for those who like to have a hot drink before they sleep - the inconvenience is frustrating .
If you are not a demanding traveller - this is not a bad hotel . It is after all walking distance to most key sights in Lucerne . At least wifi access is good!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear twinklemelody

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. Even more we regret that we could not meet your full expectations.

Our first concern is the satisfaction of our guests and we spare no effort to improve and optimize our service constantly. Therefore, we take your valuable feedback very seriously. Thank you for your helpful notices which we will forward internally.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a lot of restaurants and night pub. It may good for people that look for night life. But we were not. We prefer nice and comfortable room.
Don't like the bed which is combine from 2 beds rather than 1 double bed.
Don't like the shower as the water rum out very slow. It's like soaking your legs while having a shower.
Will not take this hotel again, not recommended.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Evonne T

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Our first concern is the satisfaction of our guests and we spare no effort to improve and optimize our service constantly. Therefore, we take your valuable feedback very seriously.

It is a big challenge for us to balance the needs of our lodging guests with the requests of our restaurant and bar customers. Unfortunately, the given structure of the building currently does not allow an immediate change. Whenever possible, we consider this fact when allocating the rooms. However, these points are noted for future rebuild projects.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and apologize once more. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance to welcome you in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is relatively good - about 5 to 8 minutes walk to Lucerne train station and the Lucerne Chapel Bridge. Another plus for this hotel is that they provide free WIFI and it's relatively fast. The rooms that my friends and I stayed in were all clean but very basic. No kettle was provided during our stay there - so whenever we need hot water for consumption, we had to go to their restaurant downstairs to get it (which was not very convenient to us as we were travelling with a baby). As mentioned by the other reviewers here, the pillows provided were too flat for any decent support. The hotel has a rooftop bar / club - some of my friends who slept with the windows opened complained that it was quite noisy. I slept with my windows closed, so it was ok for me.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear minnieme323

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. Even more we regret that the room location has not permitted you.

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Just came back from Europe....staying one night at the Astoria. Thank goodness it was only one night. The photos look so nice - but what a difference in person. The room was very basic. No extra pillows in the room - no clock radio - no CLOSET to hang your clothes. The shower was so small you could hardly turn around in it. ....and I'm only 5 feet tall. Also - the walls are very thin. I could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. I would never stay there again - it was a big disappointment. The photos I see posted - did not look anything like the room I stayed in .

Room Tip: Some of the photos of the rooms - look like much nicer rooms than I had. Maybe it's best to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear sunshine

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

It is a big challenge for us to balance the needs of our lodging guests with the requests of our restaurant and bar customers. Unfortunately, the given structure of the building currently does not allow an immediate change. Whenever possible, we consider this fact when allocating the rooms. However, these points for future rebuild projects are noted.

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Sheila Brogli
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.