We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great location - only moments from the train. However, the room is very small by Renaissance standard. We are Marriott members but didn't get any recognition or upgrade. There was very little space to walk at the end of the bed (certainly not enough for two people to pass), and no space at all when the chair is pulled out. The sliding door of the bathroom doesn't close properly and leaves a gap.

Our room was on the 4th floor above the restaurant / bar and it got very noisy at night.

Staff was generally helpful. Although having read one of the previous reviews, we asked for some plates and cutlery on our first night for some precooked Migros chicken. When we asked again the second night however, we were told that they would need to charge us CHF5 for them - this was certainly unexpected.

On the whole though, for its convenience to the train and bus stations, and tourist spots, it's still a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear LLNemo

Thank for your stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Lucerne.

Our property is very well situated in the center of Lucerne. Every hot spot in town is reachable by walk. We always appreciate our Marriot Rewards member and try our best to do their stay to their satisfaction. Unfortunately during high season we are not able to guarantee a free upgrade for them.
Our terms and conditions for room service deliveries are mentioned in the booklet in every room.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    213
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
297
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great location only 5 minutes walk from Train Station. All attractions within easy walking distance Only a short stroll to the lake, Chapel Bridge and The Lion of Lucerne. Rooms were large and bathroom a good size with separate shower but no bath. Shower was very slippy when wet. We did advise staff. Room overly warm with no separate air conditioning adjustments. We unfortunately arrived over the Easter weekend so most shops and many restaurants were closed. We did eat in the hotel a couple of times because of this and found the meals very expensive by Australian standards. Particularly for a Mexican restaurant. Overall though an enjoyable stay and loved the romantic package with rose petal turn down, sparkling wine and chocolates. Staff friendly and welcoming. Day trip to Stanserhorn via train and cabrio cablecar was amazing and the highlight of a 5 week European holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Jane-Bruc

Thank you for you feedback about your stay and the beautiful region around Lake Lucerne. Regrettably in spring time our air-condition for the complete building is turn off because the weather can always change into a cold period.

On the ground floor you will find the Mexican Cantina & Bar Pacifico. Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a stunning ambience. The Pacifico's celebrated cocktails and margaritas are highly recommended before and after a meal and the price for the offer at the restaurant is in normal Swiss range.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently spent 4 wonderful nights at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel as part of a two week long anniversary trip for my husband and I. We arrived by train from Zurich and found that the hotel is an easy, flat, short walk with bags from the train station. As Marriott Platinum members, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite, with free breakfast, and complimentary wi-fi(which was very fast). Also, had the pleasure of walking into the room to champagne chilling with crystal glasses, a nice note from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary and rose petals on the bed-nice touches! The room was very spacious with a king bed, sofa, two chairs and coffee table. The amount of storage in this room was amazing and also had a large desk with chair, a Nespresso machine and mini bar. Lots of windows that opened covered two walls with a small balcony on one side and a lovely street view on all sides. There was ample lighting in the room and many plugs to charge electronics(desk has adapters if needed).

The bathroom was on the small side but was not a problem for the two of us and was very clean and beautiful. Only issue, as others have stated, was the strange shower design. No way to keep the bathroom floor from getting all wet. We felt bad every day for the housekeeping staff! The shower did have great water pressure, towels were nice, no fan, lighted makeup mirror and provided shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotion were nice. Also, a full length mirror outside the bathroom made it easier for the two of us to get ready at the same time.

The breakfast was great with lots of choices and very good service.

The front desk personnel were exceptional-always smiling, friendly and offering help with directions, umbrellas to borrow, and even recommending a good chocolate shop. They were all professional and great representatives of the Marriott brand!

Before I forget, the bed was probably the best hotel bed we have ever slept in/on(and there have been MANY)-wish I had that mattress and the sheets in my home! Best four nights of sleep for our whole trip!

We had a really wonderful experience at the hotel(and in Lucerne) and it got our trip off to a perfect start-thank you! Hopefully, we will be back to Lucerne and the Renaissance for a longer stay someday.

Room Tip: Junior suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear stinkytoe

Thank your for choosing the Renaissance hotel Lucerne. To reach our property from the main station you need only turn left and follow the Pilatusstrasse for a 5 minutes walk.

Our full breakfast buffet will always adapted with seasonal and regional specialties.

Of course the hotel provides free Wireless lan access for the hole stay.

Our Navigators at the front desk works and life already a while in Lucerne and at the Renaissance and they have always the pleasure to recommend the sights from their city.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
655 reviews 655 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Well positioned just a short walk from the historic sights including Chapel Bridge, an iconic sight. We arrived in Lucerne around 16:00 on the first sunny day for some time and the traffic was extremely heavy and there were very many people milling around the tourist areas. It took us almost an hour to reach the hotel in the heavy traffic and on arrival we were told that the few parking spaces the hotel has were all taken - we were advised to use a car park next to a bank across the road from the hotel - the problem was that we had to cross the heavy traffic during the rush hour and it took 45 mins from first arriving at the hotel until we had parked the car. When we finally checked in to the hotel we were told that the hotel had discounted street parking in the area immediately around the hotel - whilst there were no spaces at the time we first arrived had we known this we would have waited for a space to be vacated rather than venture back onto the heavy traffic. I am sure that the front desk was trying to be helpful but did not take account of the traffic conditions and the fact that we were strangers to the city.
When we eventually checked in we were given an upgrade to a Junior Suite - we gratefully accepted this as we had a large room with seating area, a large bathroom with double shower and as an added piece a luxury a Nespresso coffee machine. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and, parking issues aside, provided good, useful information.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Please excuse my ramt on the parking issue but we wasted almost 2 hours of a beautiful, sunny day checking into the hotel and parking the car - I do feel strongly about this waste of my valuable holiday time.

Room Tip: Make sure you question staff fully about parking options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear manswa

Thank you for your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel. Our property is placed in the middle of Lucerne. Unfortunately our hotel owns only two parking places which can be reserved up on availability in advanced. Our front desk team always assisting our guest`s to find as fast as possible a parking space. They also sell parking tickets for 24h or only for the overnight from 6pm until 11am.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

wen i came in i was exhauseted from a early morning rush from jfk with bags...the receptionist recognized that and immediately allowed us to checkin early...they let us grab breakfast from the lounge which is par excellent...

they say they r smallest renaissance in world but i feel they r easily one of the best....coming from a platinum elite member of marriott hotels who has stayed in many renaissance, this is an honest comploiment

the rooms were clean....staff was v helpfull with reomcmendations on where to eat and sightsee...the breakfast was awesome..the staff at breakfast went out of theur way to make us feel comfy

v walkable from luvcerne station

.

Room Tip: ask how to operate the heater/radiator and cooler operates...2 seaparate switches ....not easy for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear nevil p

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the city of Lucerne and our property. We are proud to learn that from frequent Marriott guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is in a very good position in Lucerne, only 5 minutes walk from the train station and the old town. We had booked a standard room with king size bed, but when we were taken up to the room I was shocked at how small it was. The bed took up the whole of the room and the sliding door to the toilet and bathroom practically touched the side of the bed. This room was on the sixth floor and so had dormer style windows with sloping sides which made things even worse. As we had to endure this room for three days I called reception and asked for another room and thankfully they moved us to the second floor. This room was better but still on the small side. The hotel reception is very small and the only place to sit anywhere is on the first floor where a small area with a TV and free coffee machine is available. Breakfast is served in a restaurant attached to the hotel called the "Pacifico" which was passable. In the evening you can use this for a meal but it is transformed into a Mexican style restaurant serving Mexican style food together with blaring music, so if this is not your style you are forced to go elsewhere. All a bit weird! I wouldn't really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 6th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Barry

Many thanks for choosing the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel for your stay in Lucerne.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Switzerland and had a good journey back home.

Regarding our rooms, we would like to mention that we have many different room categories, from Standard room up to Junior Suite (20 to 37 sqm).

During the summer we serve the breakfast in our house restaurant, which offers a huge variety of warm and cold options - all you can eat. For pastries is Bachmann a very good choice, it is one of our best bakeries in town.

Despite this unfortunate issue we would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
Isabella Doering, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our group of 6 stayed here upon arriving by train. Once you get off the train, walk out the left door and keep walking for about 10 minutes. Easy to do with luggage. Centrally located to walk to all the tourist locations. Our room, 209, was on the second floor on the main street but didn't have any noise issues. The other 2 rooms could hear the nightclub music all night and their rooms were on the wall that the hotel shares with the bar. The staff did change the room of one friend when they requested it. The room was clean and large. The front desk girls were very friendly and helpful when we asked for recommendations on food and things to do. The breakfast was very expensive for what they provided-Danish, yogurt, fruit, deli meat, eggs, etc. It really should have been half the price, I don't care that it was Switzerland. The only reason we ate there was that we didn't feel like searching for food early in the morning. I would stay here again but I will skip the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street for quiet nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear KisaMesue

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel. The property is situated in the heart of the city 300 meters from the main station and 600 meters from the old town and Kappel Bridge. Our hotel has 86 rooms with different categories and we try to fulfill our guest’s wishes. Our fresh and rich breakfast buffet is balanced to our client’s requests, but we stay tuned to upgrading our service and we are allocated to our guest`s hints.

It is great to learn that you will coming back to our property and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.