We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here - Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It was at the top of out budget - but I am so glad we did. The room was lovely with a large bathroom. After all our tiny room where we can hardly move - this one was fabulous - we had no issues with noise - just a few voices sometimes from was below. The room looked out into the middle of the block - so there was no street noise. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ryan and Peg

Many thanks for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne as well as for your nice review.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    213
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
115
297
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Lucern after long trip. Our room -410 - was waiting. Great view, comfortable bed, spacious, modern facilities with walk-in shower. Friendly, efficient staff checked us in right away and helped us with all our questions. Great breakfast. Easy walk from train station with our luggage. Really, could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guests

Many thanks for staying with us at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our property and staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Like always it was a wonderful experience staying at this Marriott property. Having stayed at Marriott hotels in several locations it was our obvious choice to explore this hotel. The hotel has been done very well and delivers all services and amenities for a comfortable stay. The hotel has the charm of a European property but the interior etc are very modern. Free WIFI was a big plus. The room are very nice and neat. The hotels has restaurant / bar as well. The hotel is in a great location and a mere 5-10 min walk to most tourist attractions in the city. Most importantly the staff is extremely polite, helpful, friendly and always available for any assistance. Marriott hotels in my opinion offer one of the highest level of customer experience and our stay here was nothing short of that. Highly recommend this facility for people looking to spend some time in Lucerne !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Varun

Warm greetings to New Delhi. We thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne as well as for your nice review and recommenation to other travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is just a few easy blocks from the central train station, easy walking to the water and all of the main attractions of the city of Lucerne. Very nice rooms. Helpful staff. The hotel has a popular restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lucerne discoverers

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for your nice review.

Happy to learn that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay in Lucerne.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our European travel as a easy staging spot for the train to the Zurich airport in the morning. Rather than being an "end of vacation" stop, Lucerne turned into one of our favorite place to visit. A beautiful vibrant city with a great old town, a very central rail station and stunning setting by the lake and mountains. The Renaissance Lucerne, while at the high end our usual B&B budget (CHF295 through Bookings.com), was perfectly located (five minutes from the train station and just a few more to the Old City and the towers). We were warmly greeted, our bags were held (we arrived early) and when we returned we had been upgraded from a standard king to a junior suite. The room and bath was a corner room on the first floor with windows two walls over looking the city and was spacious and well appointed with a great bed and pillows. Far above our expectations after reading TA reviews and looking a posted room photos. Unlike a previous reviewer, although we were on the first floor, the room was perfectly quiet and comfortable when the windows and curtains were closed and sunny and elegant with them open. If offered an upgrade, I would suggest taking it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guests

Many thanks for choosing our property for your Lucerne visit as well as for your review.

Great to learn that Lucerne emerged to a highlight at the end of your vacation and that you liked our location and the hotel.

We hope to see you soon again!
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

DECEIT & DECEPTION is what I felt at the Renaissance Lucerne!

Summary: Say NO if a staff offers you "free upgrade" to the first floor suites. Its a trap. The loud discotheque below will make your life miserable and offer you no rest or peace. Chances are you've already paid a high price for a regular room, so insist on your regular room or clarify with the staff if any upgrades are offered.

The entire story:

When my husband and I first checked in, we were so impressed with the hospitality of the staff that we we probably thought it was one of the best customer service we had received on our 3 week long Europe trip (even before they offered us the free upgrade). ALAS! it did not turn out that way. We were told that we were being given a "free upgrade" to one of their suites. We were naive to believe that the staff actually liked us to give us a free upgrade.

When we came back from dinner that night, the whole room was vibrating incessantly due to the discotheque right beneath our room. The music was LOUD! AND YOU COULD FEEL THE BASS BOOMING IN THE ROOM. It was INTOLERABLE!!! THERE IS A DISCOTHEQUE BELOW THE FIRST FLOOR! SO PLEASE BEWARE! THE HOTEL WILL NOT TELL YOU ABOUT THIS (one of the staff told us that the hotel policy did not allow them)! Which I think is absolutely ridiculous for such a well reputed chain.When my husband came down to talk to the staff about it, they played a CHEAP SHOT by offering him 2 free drink tickets to go join the disco, since all the hotel rooms were full. RIDICULOUS AND INSULTING! That means our original room was given to someone else and they thought we were young (we are in our early thirties) and stupid enough to take the noisy room with the 'free upgrade to suite' tag with it. That was the deceptive part. Its this part that pissed us the most, they pretended to make us feel super special only we realized later that they thought we looked like people who would put up with their clever nonsense.

After deliberation we were moved to their sister hotel which is close by. To be fair, we appreciate this gesture, but the the five star hotel with "another free upgrade" turned out to be a disaster for us as well. It was a 'boutique hotel'- dark black rooms, full blown inappropriate pictures of almost-naked ladies on the ceiling and no temperature control and super hot room in the mornings! (the hotel had switched off their central AC).

Our overall Switzerland trip was like a dream and unfortunately the Renaissance experience managed to put a big dent on it!

Room Tip: Say NO to FIRST FLOOR SUITES! They might pass them on to you as 'free upgrades'. They are ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne as well as for taking the time to write this review.

We sincerely apologize for the invonveniences caused by the noise from our Pacifico Restaurant and Bar. Please be assured that there was no intention to trick you by offering you the free upgrade. We sometimes upgrade guests when the hotel is fully booked and I truly regret that we failed in our endeavour to do something good.

We take your comment very seriously and I would like to discuss this issue with you directly.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at jana.jeschek@renaissancehotels.com.
Best regards
Jana Jeschek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location, just a couple minutes walk to the main attractions of the city. The rooms are big (much like an american hotel) and the service is great! The women at the front dest all spoke good english and had very helpful information (especially Jasmine and Nora). The only bad things are the hotel address is wrong, so it was hard to find; parking was expensive; and the bathroom walls were a bit dirty. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for your stay with us as well as for sharing your review.

We are glad to learn that you liked our rooms and happy to share your compliment with Jasmine and Nora at the front desk.

We apologize for the misleading address informationon on the GPS caused by the fact that the hotel entrance is from a side street. Also, regarding the wall in your bathroom, we are currently running an extensive maintenance in order to keep our rooms "spick and span".

Hope to welcome you soon again!
Best regards
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.