We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have appreciated the staff's help when needed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Lucerne
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Would have appreciated the staff's help when needed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after driving for 13 hours as Luzern was our stop of our road trip to Greece last summer. We were all tired and hungry wanting to relax have some room service and clean ourselves. When we arrived at night it was raining heavily and we had to take the children in side in a hurry so that they don't get wet. First surprise was that there is no valet service, noone to greet us or help us take the bags out of the car and into the hotel. My poor husband had to park outside the hotel while the receptionist warned him that he has to move the car asap otherwise he will get a ticket... So my husband was rushing in and out trying to unload the car and once that was done he had to find a place to park the car (it took him ages and he got lost a couple of times). The staff never offered to help him. The room was clean, it had a stale smell so I had to keep the windows open, the room service was limited and average. The breakfast buffet was ok and the ladies at the restaurant very sweet and helpful. For a short stay it was ok for a longer stay I would definitely prefer to stay in one of the hotels on the lake they must have incredible views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Elian,

Thank you very much for taking your time to point out the issues you experienced during your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you had upon your arrival at the hotel. This is totally inconsistent with what our staff has been trained to do and in fact always do with zest and dedication. We can assure you that this was a one time lapse.

I have spoken to each department concerned and the necessary steps have been implemented in order to avoid these shortcomings in the future.

I apologize once again and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    198
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
105
285
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for one night as we were seeing a band at Sudpol. The hotel is lovely, great location - close to the main station and walking distance to the old town. We even walked to the transport museum, it took about 30mins and if you're not in a hurry it's worth the walk, LOTS of beautiful scenery to photograph.
We had a standard room, which was comfortable, clean, the bed was nearly as comfortable as the Pullman Cologne but not quite. I've yet to find a bed more comfortable than the Pullman Cologne so second place is not to be sniffed at!
Breakfast was fairly small but a good selection and delicious! The hot food was replaced/filled regularly so you weren't eating eggs that have been sat out for hours.
Luzern is a beautiful city and the Renaissane hotel is a beautiful place to stay. Based on this experience I would stay in another Renaissance hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Stephen J,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our proximity to the main attractions of Lucerne is very convenient. Just a few steps separate the hotel from the famous Chapel Bridge, the old city centre and the main station.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family stayed at Renaissance Luzern Hotel on 11/23/12. The hotel staff Anne and Carlos were extremely helpful, friendly, and accomodating. The hotel on has street parking, which was very difficult to find. However, the staff offered to park our car, which made parking stress-free. At the check-in counter, they even gave a toy to our son. During our stay, they gave us recommendations on restaurants and how to get around the city.

The Junior Suite was clean, nice, and spacious, and it is tastefully decorated. Our room was facing the street, which means there was no view, but it was not noisy either.

The hotel is in a good location, and it is within walking distance to the attractions. You don't need a car at all.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Parking is only available on the street. The staff will be happy to park your car if you cannot find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Cindelala,

Thank you for taking your time to review the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments have been already forwarded to Anne and Carlos. With our central location and proximity to the city's main attactions, it is easier to discover Lucerne's most hidden gems.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again at the City of Lights.

Best greetings,

Lara Rada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Marriott Renaissance. The location is outstanding just three minute walknfrom the train station. Close to the old town and shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and modern, the front desk staff very hospitable. The breakfast was fresh...we also appreciated the nespresso machine in our room.

Excellent value!

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear 4639UAL,

Thank you for your great review.

We appreciate very much your comments. This feedback motivates us to maintain and improve the services and quality our hotel has to offer.

Hoping to welcome you back to the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good value by Lucerne standards and very conveniently located at Pilatusstrasse. Just 5 minutes walk from train station and very near the old town. Was upgraded to the Deluxe Double on the 6th floor. Although the floor plan of the room was rather strange, the size of the room was ok by Swiss standards. Breakfast buffet was good value too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Myel76,

Thank you for positive feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Renaissance Lucerne Hotel is a century-old City Palais that has been masterfully restored last year. The stylish ambience and personal attention we offer together with Lucerne's tourist attractions at our doorstep make a convenient place to stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon here in Lucerne.

Best regards,

Lara Rada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Front desk was very warm and welcoming upon arrival. Almost everyone speaks English so it is helpful for us non German speaking travelers. Location from the train station is only a few minutes walk and is just down the Pilatusstrasse. Hallways are narrow (adds charm) and my room was not big, but was adequate and comfortable. My criteria for a hotel is that the accommodations are clean, fresh (not worn), and modern (decor and tech-wise). This hotel did not disappoint in respect to these points. I did want to note that I could smell cigarette smoke periodically. It was light and infrequent, but I have a sensitivity to it and could smell it.

Other nearby conveniences include the train station shopping area, which is open on Sundays and late into the evening, so if you want a baked item or drink, it's just a few minutes walk. There is also a McDonalds, BurgerKing, and Starbucks around the corner, so if you are needing a bit of home - it's just a moment away.

Overall, I would recommend staying here and would do so again should I return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear kearz10,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that our staff and hotel made your stay with us enjoyable. Outstanding service, well maintained and modern rooms, as well as an ideal location is what we are proud of offering our guests.

We hope to welcome you soon again at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Kevin Salt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If ever you stay in Lucern, make sure you check in to the Renaissance Lucern.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is just amazingly friendly and accomodating. Their General Manager, Kevin Salt, makes it a point to be present and accessible to all guests.
This hotel is very well run, the breakfast is simply delicious, fresh and leaves you with a great experience.
Also, the location is great! Right in downtown Lucern, only steps from the train station, the KKL and the main shopping district it is very conveniently located.
The rooms are modern and supply everything you expect. Nice TV, Wifi access, plenty of bath amenities and everything is as clean as it can be.
Next time I am in Lucern I make sure to stop by at the Renaissance Lucern again!

Mahalo nui loa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear TebboTravel,

Thank you for your overwhelming feedback!

We are pleased that you fully enjoyed our services and the hotel. It is our aim to provide our guests an unforgettable stay in the heart of Lucerne. Free wireless internet, modern room accessories and an outstanding service are attributes we are proud of offering our discoverers.

I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Kevin Salt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.