We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and rude service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Leone

Mamma Leone
Muhlenplatz 12 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 17 91
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 278 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $10 - $51
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
1 review
“Terrible and rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very rude service!!! We pick this restaurant after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor. The waiter was very rude and spoke like he was doing us a huge favor by serving us. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing evening. Don't step in here...Worst restaurant in switzerland !!!!
If you are a tourist, don't waste a great evening in Mama terrible Leone!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    6
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“have u heard of food not being served ??? beat this they throw u out!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

so three young girls go with their father. the waiter casually comes in and says 2 franks for tap water. which is fine..

As a normal customer is expected and is entitled to do .. one of us happen to ask... isnt water free??? the waiter throws a fit and very briskly dismisses the question and is arrogant and rude. We decide that we dont want to be treated indifferentlty and definetly not rudely. so we cancel the order and leave. the owner walks towards us (most people would now assume hes gonna try and solve or ease the situation ) but thats where ur wrong.. he pushes the man out of the restaurant and screams at the girls..

if you dont want to spoil your evening and if u dont want to be part of an experience that may spoil your picture perfect hioilday avoid mama leon!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian restaurant in Lucerne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Having to stay a few months in Lucerne, I have tried out numerous restaurants and have found an excellent "Ristorante Italiano". Being Italian and having a "Mamma" that has her own restaurant, my expectations are quite high when going out for an Italian dinner. I am happy to have found Mamma Leone.
The chefs are from Tuscany and bring out daily specials with home-made pasta and other “primi e secondi piatti”, Spaghetti alla Chitarra being one of my favourites.
Prices are standard for a restaurant in Lucerne. Service can be slow, but then it takes time to make good food and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best pasta in Luzern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I've had the pleasure of eating in this restaurant a number of time whilst in Luzern on a long business trip, and have yet to be disappointed.

The food is always excellent. The daily special pasta dishes are made with home-made pasta. The service is second to none as well. Prices are average for Luzern.

Will try to eat at this restaurant as much as possible in my last few weeks in Luzern...it is by far the best of some decent Italian restaurants.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Leone also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mamma Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Leone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.